Beat logo

Old is Gold. Gold is Bold. Bold is Something That Will Never Be Old.

Songs nowadays will never be as good as they were in the 2000’s.

By Ceo Of DyingPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
2
A calm lake. Just like these songs.

When I feel like I have nowhere to belong, I will always have a (more than one) simple song.

Although I was not a teenager in the early 2000s, I still listen to “Angsty Teens” music from the early 2000s.

What was early 2000s music even like?

2000s music was filled with garage rock revival and the start of the new indie rock style. In the 2000s, rock, pop, metal, R&B, EDM, indie, hip hop, and country music was also a big hit. These songs are just some of the different music back then.

When you are stressed, you should not listen to some of these songs. But when you are feeling like an angsty teen, I recommend these songs. Do you feel like no one ever listens to you? These are the songs for you. Trust me. They will cheer you up.

Note: Listening to these songs will not get you your iPod Touch back that you got taken from you by your mom in 6th grade.

Here is a quick playlist that I made with all of the songs I will be mentioning.

These songs are for lying down in bed at three o’clock in the morning.

Note: I linked most of the slowed versions of these songs because I think they sound so much more efficient.

Stressed Out ~ Twenty One Pilots

Sometimes a certain smell will

Take me back to when I was young

How come I'm never able to identify

Where it's coming from?

I'd make a candle out of it

I would listen to this song all the time when I was a kid. I would also listen to other songs by Twenty One Pilots. I don’t listen to them as much anymore due to the contraversy the lead singer got into last year. But this was by far my favorite. "Stressed Out" reminds me of how hard life can be. I wish I would have treasured my childhood years. I should have slept during nap time in kindergarten. I should have savored learning three times three in third grade. I know now that I must treasure everything and anything in life before it is all gone. "Stressed Out" wasn't even meant to be a single. As the second song on Twenty One Pilots' album, Blurryface, the track was written to set up the story of the record's eponymous character. "Blurryface is this character that I came up with that represents a certain level of insecurity," says Joseph. The lead singer who was faced with controversy last year.

~-~-~~-~-~~-~-~~-~-~~-~-~~-~-~~-~-~~-~-~~-~-~~-~-~~-~-~~-~-~~-

Counting Stars ~ OneRepublic

Lately, I've been, I've been losing sleep

Dreaming about the things that we could be

But, baby, I've been, I've been praying hard

Said no more counting dollars

We'll be counting stars

Yeah, we'll be counting stars

The song “Counting Stars” describes a person not being able to obtain their life goals. The individual was not able to keep their promises to their loved one. Hence the name “Counting Stars.” It is a reference to life. Praying hard for dreams of wealth and other wishes to come true. I know this song hits home for many people. Especially for me, this song has gotten me through a lot of hard times in my life, and has kept me going. It is such an upbeat song. To know that there is an even deeper meaning makes it even more relatable. If you ever need a comfort song. I recommend listening to this song. I hope it will help you just as much as it has helped me.

~-~-~~-~-~~-~-~~-~-~~-~-~~-~-~~-~-~~-~-~~-~-~~-~-~~-~-~~-~-~~-

Viva la Vida ~ Coldplay

I used to roll the dice

Feel the fear in my enemy's eyes

Listen as the crowd would sing

Now the old King is dead, long live the King

One minute I held the key

Next the walls were closed on me

And I discovered that my castles stand

Upon pillars of salt and pillars of sand

The actual meaning of La Vida is a feminine noun, and the word means (the) life.

"La" is the feminine version of “the” in Spanish. Used in front of certain words in Spanish to describe that they are feminine. An example of the masculine form is: “El maestro está muy feliz hoy.” In English, this means “The teacher is very happy today.” This would use the masculine version of “the” in Spanish and vice versa for feminine words (I learned this in Spanish class when I was six.)

Viva means “live." This is the impersonal imperative of the verb vivir - to live. So the title means “live the life," “live your life,” or “life live.” You cannot interpret word for word sometimes. The lyrics to the song make different historical and Christian references. The track was built on a repeating string section with a percussion background. This song has always held a special place in my heart because it was inspirational to me as a kid.

Even though I did not know what the song meant, I still loved it so much.

I listened to it a lot more because I loved the Minecraft version of the song. I never noticed how similar the two versions were until I listened to the actual song.

Note: If you did not grow up with this version of the song or do not play Minecraft, you may not get the same effect.

~-~-~~-~-~~-~-~~-~-~~-~-~~-~-~~-~-~~-~-~~-~-~~-~-~~-~-~~-~-~~-

Love The Way You Lie ~ Eminem ft. Rihanna

Just gonna stand there and watch me burn

Well that's alright, because I like the way it hurts

Just gonna stand there and hear me cry

Well that's alright, because I love the way you lie

I love the way you lie

I love the way you lie

Love the Way You Lie” is a song that was produced in 2010. The song was recorded by Eminem and Rihanna. The song describes two lovers who refuse to separate themselves. Even though they are in a dangerous love-hate relationship. To me "Love the Way You Lie" basically sums up how life can have highs and lows. But for the most part, life completely blows. But it shows that you have to keep trying your best no matter the circumstance. If you want to be in a relationship, you and your partner have to put in the same amount of energy to make it work.

I added a couple more song that I love to the playlist, I hope you enjoy!

pop culture
2

About the Creator

Ceo Of Dying

Join my Roblox group: https://www.roblox.com/groups/3771416/Dance-Battle-Group#!/store

Subscribe to my YouTube: Ceo Of Dying

Discord Server:

Twitter: Briarisdaddy

Discord: Briar is daddy#1761

Instagram: briarlynnx

Roblox: WsgBriar

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.