Beat logo

Not Your Valentine

And so being young and dipped in folly, I fell in love with melancholy ~ Edgar Allan Poe

By Devika PathakPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
3

What is love - Haddaway

This is the song that is the beginning of everything. We want love but we don't want to get hurt as we have always been told that love is pain, love hurts and love is hard. This song is literally the prayer of not getting hurt in love - "Please don't be like everyone who played me".

New Rules - Dua Lipa

Everyone who has that someone that they can't get over or away from but know that they should, must listen to this song. Dua Lipa lists out all the rules for not engaging with toxically addictive people in your life.

Attention - Charlie Puth

That feeling when someone wants you just enough to arouse attention in you but don't want to move forward with you. I mean, what do you want? If you want me, say so. If you don't want me, say so. I am not a mind reader. Tell me what is it that you want? One day you want to give me the world and I become non-existent to you the next. Give me clarity or peace.

We're Good - Dua Lipa

The silence is literally killing me and I can feel the distance so maybe we should say goodbye and do what makes us happy. This song truly portrays that. Plus, it has a hidden story - the lobster's tale set in the Titanic.

Last Christmas - Wham

This song is literally made for anyone who has made the mistake of loving too soon or loving someone who did not reciprocate their feelings. I have learned my lesson, will make sure that it is the right person for me before investing my heart and time again.

Friends - Marshmello & Anne-marie

There are two sides to every coin. The debate of friendzone exists and I think will exist forever. Some say that friendship can lead to true love and some are creeped out by the idea of ever dating their friend. It doesn't matter which side you are on, this song will work for you. My opinion is that if it works for you then you should take a chance and not think about the future. If the other person doesn't feel the same about you then it's your choice to part ways or be their friend. If you choose the latter, then you should do so without any expectations of it turning into something other than friendship.

Love Yourself - Justin Bieber

Honestly, I think this is the best (most polite) breakup song ever made (or maybe the one that I listened to). He explains his anger and frustration in a beautiful way and tells the girl to get on with her life if she can't adjust to anything in his life. This can work for both genders. One thing that I learned from Bieber is that you should believe in yourself then you will become immune to the shade that the world tries to throw at you.

Dark Side - Kelly Clarkson

This song works best for the ones who believe that they are unacceptable by the world and no one will be able to love them. If Morticia and Gomez Addams can find each other, so can you find your other dark half.

“Normal is an illusion. What is normal for the spider is chaos for the fly.” ~ Charles Addams - said by Morticia Addams in The Addams Family.

The Greatest - Sia

This one is for all the lovely single ladies out there who are rocking just by themselves. Being single doesn't mean that I am lonely or suffering or hate on people who are in love. It means I am focusing on my life, indulging in self-love and living The Greatest Grandest version of my life. Don't let negativity pull you down or society pressure you into something that you are not ready for. Do what truly resonates with your soul.

The sun is alone too and still shines ~ Unknown

playlist
3

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.