Beat logo

New Years Eve Mini Mix

Bring in the New Year with my favourite tunes from 2016...

By Samantha BentleyPublished 7 years ago 1 min read

The new year is almost upon us, and thank fuck for that. 2016 has been, in a word: Horrific. Between the turbulent bullshit going on all over the world and the deaths of so many beloved stars (largely Prince and Bowie… those two hit me like a ton of bricks) this year has sped past at an electric rate, dropping hideous stinks as it went. That being said, I have had some amazing moments and thank god for music, which is one of the only things that helps to pull me through dark days and even darker nights.

This year I played my first international shows and I hope that 2017 drags me further from home, on even longer flights, so I can complain via Whatsapp to my boyfriend even more, about my lack of sleep and bad food and how I wish I was at home, all for that one hour on stage where I sweat bullets watching crazy people dance to my selection of songs.

I’ve done you guys a little New Years Eve Mini Mix. As I type this, three days after Christmas, I am sat by a pool in Bali listening to the crickets. My mix is mildly biased toward the sunny feeling I have inside me this week. It’s the kind of mix one might play on a rooftop when the sky is clear. So for all of you bringing in the New Year somewhere warm, this is for you. But it is also for all of you in those cold as fuck countries, much like my own. For everyone back in London, if you’re throwing a party, play this and dance, imagine it’s warm outside.

Don’t forget to kiss the one you love at midnight (or the one you want to drunkenly bone)

Happy New Year. See you on the other side.

artbandscelebritiesplaylistpop cultureconcert

About the Creator

Samantha Bentley

Born and Bred Londoner, Mother to baby Roman and my two pooches, Plant Eater, Yoga and Aerial Teacher + Learner, Music Maker... was once in Game Of Thrones, was once a Penthouse Pet, used to win awards for getting naked.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Samantha BentleyWritten by Samantha Bentley

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.