Beat logo

New Album Out! Chrono Eternity - Chrono Trigger & Chrono Cross, New EP LotR & New Chat!

Chrono Trigger, Chrono Cross, Lord of the Rings Video Game Songs and New Chronamut Fan Chat!

By Shawn DallPublished 4 years ago 9 min read
Like
Chrono Eternity Album: https://open.spotify.com/playlist/66LHJl2amj0f14DG0wKY7r?si=xuKMLmZCQuegxao1nXiImA

Hey Guys, Just wanted to let you know I have a new album out! Probably one of the best albums I ever remixed and covered from a video game in terms of mastering, and probably the longest, at 22 songs on the album, since my other album "The Final Fantasy" that had 21 songs on it.

I have been making music since 2003, and many of the songs on it are actually from the 2004 era - the era I made the most amt of music in. There were many songs that unfortunately did not make the cut as their quality I could not fix as they contained artifacts in them I couldn't remaster out, which is regrettable.

I also have a new fan chat out! A discord server chat called "Chronopolis - Fans of Chronamut" Which will always list my current past and future works, which you can follow me at, chat with me and ask me questions!

Now on to the album..

Chrono Eternity Album

1. The Sea of Eden (Chrono Cross)

Ahh the sea of Eden, a great song from chrono cross, that plays during holy parts of the game and also on the main select page of the game. The song is pretty beautiful on its own, but I wanted to make it sound even more otherworldly. This is also the only song on the album that was made in 2019, and thus had all my current standards in it.

You can see the original in the game below:

And hear the full original below:

2. Yearnings of the Wind (Chrono Trigger)

Yearnings of the wind, also known as the world map theme, is the music that plays while you are wandering around in chrono trigger. I had originally made this early 2004 and it was horrible - just bad mastering and samples and everything. So I went back in late 2004 and redid it with better mastering, for the time at least, and better samples.

Then I went back in 2020 and remastered it yet again. It was very difficult to remaster, and some volume had to be sacrificed, and it had to be made a bit tinnier than I might have liked in order for the overall sound of the song to not be too muted. It was a compromise - so enjoy what I was able to do to it to make it sound more like it should have back then :)

You can see and hear the original in the game below:

3. Dream of the Ages (Chrono Cross)

Dream of the Ages, Also known as Time of the Dreamwatch, is a pretty intense Chrono Cross song. It plays during uplifting parts of the game, and it's one of the few songs I did in 2004 that actually sounded ok for the time.

You can see and hear the original in the game below:

4. Courage and Pride (Chrono Trigger)

Courage and Pride, aka Guardia Castle Theme. I loved this theme in the game and really wanted to do it justice back in 2004, so I added crowd ambiance, made the whole thing sound like it was inside a castle, and added marching feet by using door slam sounds. It came out pretty good except for some slight distortion at the end of the flute hits which I was not able to remove unfortunately. Still, enjoy! You can see and hear the original in the game below:

5. Missing Piece (Chrono Cross)

Missing piece, aka Lost Fragments, was a melancholy song from chrono cross. I combined 2 programs to make my version - fl studio and propellorhead Reason, and worked really hard to get it sounding as realistic as I could. Enjoy! Hear the original below:

6. Frog's Theme (Chrono Trigger)

Frog's Theme - probably the most epic of the songs in the entire game. I really lucked out in this in that it barely needed any remastering for a 2004 song - I am quite proud of it! It's quiteimpactful for many due to the fact the main character, a knight, was turned into a froglike being and thus represents his noble mission.

Hear and see the song in the game below:

7. The Girl Who Stole the Stars (Chrono Cross)

Also Known as "Star Stealing Girl" - this was one of my favourite songs in the game. I was melancholy but so beautiful. It was the first song I fully used Reason to make, and I used the ancient andean flute and tripled and delayed it and I thought it sounded really beautiful. Also combined a pad with a piano for the background and then soloed it at the end.

8. Corridors of Time (Chrono Trigger)

Ahh corridors of time, Zeals theme. Probably the most memorable song in the entire game. There is a lot twisted up in this - the magical zeal beings who live high in the sky with their magic while the have-nots live in an ice age below, and their eventual tragic obliteration. It is a song that can only be truly appreciated by playing the game.

I took cues from the itchy hip hop corridor remix of chrono trigger and also soloed the bell melody at one point to drive it home. My fave song in the game for sure. I did it in mid 2004 and remastered it in 2019.

You can see and hear it in the game below:

9. Marbule - Home World (Chrono Cross)

Marbule - there were 2 versions of it in the game - another world and home world - home world was imo the better one - the other one was kinda sad. I really liked this song and so I worked hard to add seaside ambiance to it, birds and waves, as it was a portside town in the game. I also tried to capture the sunny colourful vibe of the game in it. This was one of very few songs I did in early 2004 that actually turned out almost perfect - I did very little to change the overall sound.

You can listen and see it in the original game below:

10. Schala's Theme (Chrono Trigger)

Schala's theme was a sad one because you are like an observer witnessing what you already know will happen. You know the place is doomed and you feel bad for the children in this part. I couldn't really do much to change this part so I just tried to make it more immersive.

You can listen and see it in the original game below:

11. The Frozen Flame (Chrono Cross)

The frozen flame was a beautiful mournful song from chrono cross and I wanted to capture that feeling so I added rain and choirs to it. I originally did this song in 2003 and I didn't like it years later so I went back and redid it in 2009, and then remastered it in 2019. I also added a tribal version I had done in 2003 as well, but didn't change much in it - just a bonus at the end to see the quality difference. This is the oldest song I did for either game.

You can listen to the original song below:

12. Burn! Bobonga! Burn! (Chrono Trigger)

Also known as Jurassic Rhythm, one of the coolest songs in the game. Very tribal, set in prehistory, animal hide drums and bones and cavemen playing it. I updated it so it sounded like it was really being played and extended it - enjoy!

You can listen and see it in the original game below:

13. Radical Dreams - Le Tresor Interdit (Chrono Cross)

Aka the treasure which cannot be stolen, or unstolen jewel, this is the ending credits song of the game, and is quite beautiful, with japanese lyrics - it shows the happy ending of the imprisoned girl finally being freed and allowed to live in the real world. I have 2 versions - one paired with lyrics another woman did, and my original version. I wouldn't say mine's better, just different. I actually prefer the original over mine. Another 2004 song - enjoy!

You can listen and see it in the original game below:

14. Outskirts of Time (Chrono Trigger)

To faraway times, has to be my most favourite song rendition I did from this game- once again the ancient andean flute was used, and I felt everything jsut came together beautifully - once again Reason was used, and I just felt so much life was breathed into it - it FEELS pretty, and I am glad I was able to do it justice. I used a slowed down shutter speed camera noise for the pendulum swings of the clock bg I believe. I don't recall the year I made this but it was definitely a later year piece. I had made a version in 2004 but I didn't like it as much.

You can listen and see it in the original game below:

15. Radical Dreams - Le Tresor Interdit (Chrono Eternity) (Chrono Cross)

The song the album is named after, this was a special remix I did of this song that was more of a bass laden edm hip-hop type mix, using the frequency sampled of our sun in space as the main lead in the song, and glitching the percussion. This was another version of the above song but without any vocals. The entire song is daisychain sidechained to each other to allow the maximum amt of freq come through the song. One of my best mastered songs done around 2013 era. Not much had to be done to this song. Enjoy!

16. Fragments of a Dream (Chrono Cross)

Aka Dreams Creator - I loved this game at the very end of chrono cross on the ending screen - the original was just a music box with seaside ambiance in the bg - but on the soundtrack it was just the music box - it was also a bit muted - so I made my version crisper, clearer, with the seaside ambiance of my own, and I like it much better - enjoy!

You can listen to the original song below (without waves):

The Rest

The rest on the album are variations - some vocalless, some waveless, some 8-bit with bg ambiance - basically just bonus songs :)

-----

The Lord of the Rings EP

I made this song in 2004 as well. I decided to go back to it and make many variations as far as stereo went a few years back. In 2019 I decided to fix minor stereo issues. The variations mix is on this album as well as the original undoctored version I made.

This album was very difficult to release as far as copyright went and I spent a month battling with the licensing depts to get it on but eventually I prevailed with permission from the original composer.

Variations Mix

Original Mix

So that's about it! Enjoy, and thanks for checking out my stuff!

In addition, you can now stream my music in full version on both my art site:

As well as my online Riddle site: http://chronriddles.com

-shawn-

playlist
Like

About the Creator

Shawn Dall

Shawn AKA Chronamut - Spiritual Teacher, Artist, Musician, Writer

Trying to carve his way in this world and leave something behind,

While helping others in the process. https://spoti.fi/32XpOSW | www.shawndall.com | https://spoti.fi/2KLk8oo

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.