Beat logo

My very 1st (album) review

Cleo Sol's "Rose in the Dark"

By Nefarious DarriusPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Random screenshot

I would like to start this venture into personally uncharted territory by expressing extreme gratitude and give a major hat tip to one of my favorite cousins, who is a friendly rival of sorts and unquestionably a dear brother. Without his recommendation and whatnot, I feasibly may have left this path to be pondered only in hindsight.

At any rate, coming up on completing a fourth listen in a row of this album, essentially nonstop, I simply must say that this album by the extremely talented, and equally beautiful, Cleo Sol, is a true gem. To quote the living legend, Ms. Lauryn Hill (MLH), "I felt [she] found my letters, then read each one out loud."

Of course, that would be completely impossible, seeing as how at least a few of them were penned after the official 24th of March (Sol's birthday) release of her project (according to Tidal and Google). While the album is at a relatively concise runtime of just under 39 min, there's hardly anything missing, in my humble opinion (IMHO).

Another random note: I, for some reason unbeknownst even to me, refused to consult the seemingly omniscient resource of Google on advice relating to this current piece of mine. I'm relieved to get that off my chest though.

Back to the review: "Never have I ever" fallen in love with a singer after only a dozen or so tracks! Seriously though, between her remarkably talented vocals, and the ingenious word play, I believe that it's certainly reasonable to feel a high level of respect and attraction to the owner of said voice regardless of sexual orientation.

Also relating to the audio: Between that mean bass-line on "When I'm in Your Arms", and the inspirational lyrics of "Butterfly", I can certainly see how and why Cleo Sol "had to grow the Rose in the Dark", as she sings on the chorus of the eponymous (aka title) track (pictured above). She certainly knows how to "make [us] feel something new; something old"!

As I sat alone in a favorite park of mine earlier tonight, with the lights low and the lake serene as can be, I was reminiscing on the times that "[I] found love", while the seventh track, "Sideways" played at a relatively low volume. I was also simultaneously praying that the federales didn't get tipped off by the random car that saw me turn into the park, after dark, and kick me out for the second time in as many months.

As far as I can guesstimate, I'm wondering if this might not be the first album to feature three consecutive singles smack dab in the middle. At any rate, odd syncretism, like her mentioning reflections, on the final song, immediately as I step in front of one of my mirrors at home, pretty much sums up my evening.

Speaking of which, that jam, "Her Light" almost made me wonder if she weren't my copilot and leaving the park with me, as she sings about departing, in some parallel universe or what have you. In addition, I was compelled to ask myself why I haven't put more energy into retrospection (or introspection rather) as the London based songstress more or less rapped over "Why Don't You".

Track number three, "Young Love", definitely reminds me of her Jamaican roots from her dad, as well as her newest single, "Shine". The latter is formally a member of the reggae genre according to Apple Music.

Tl;dr— After jamming out to her for the past four hours or so, it's safe to say that she is now my spirit animal, along with the factoid that just about any and every audiophile would deeply and utterly appreciate this slightly esoteric "Rose in the Dark". I am enthralled and anxiously anticipating her successful sophomore project, even if I must help her break the so-called "sophomore jinx" singlehandedly, as only a true stan would.

That's it. Review over.

album reviews
1

About the Creator

Nefarious Darrius

I'm a Grunt who’s been stuck in traffic for the past few decades or so. From DC to Seattle & Iraq; to back in "The Swamp". Also, I Love my Progeny more than life. Born Day: 4/20. Lastly, my apparel brand, War 'N' Tees is live! One Love.

***

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.