Beat logo

My Top 6 Songs for a Sad Heart

Heartbreak Catharsis

By Faith JoPublished 5 years ago 2 min read
1

There comes a time when you gotta just give in and listen to those depressing songs. There’s something to be said for maintaining a positive outlook, but catharsis is often necessary. Here are the six songs that have been hitting me right in the feels recently.

The main thing I sense from this song is a lot of doubt and regret. Relatable.

“She’s so pretty, you two look so great... It was probably just a silly crush anyway.”

Mendes’ style of heart-brokenness is quite capable of bringing me to tears if I’m in the right mood. The way he delivers the song allows you to hear the pain through his voice.

“I'm looking through my phone again, feeling anxious, afraid to be alone again, I hate this, I'm trying to find a way to chill, can't breathe, oh, is there somebody who could help me...”

This song taps into the part of me that is curling up in the corner and cringing away from painful memories.

“Unkiss me, untouch me, untake this heart... can’t erase this, can’t delete this, I don’t need this, I can’t handle this...”

The background of this song has a laid-back vibe that reminds me of being resigned to something... like being better off without someone.

“I’m better off without him... I’m better off not being around ya.”

This is a perfect summary of how high I can go emotionally, how low I can go after it’s over, and the attitude after it’s over...

“But in your life you’ll do things greater than dating the boy on the football team.. Don’t forget to look before you fall...”

This song is more about how I’m still falling for that person. It’s my entire mood right now.

“You’re the shining distraction that makes me fly home . . . but I’m not done yet, falling for you... But I don’t regret falling for you...”

If you’re interested in the playlist, here it is on Spotify!

playlist
1

About the Creator

Faith Jo

Musician, apprentice, explorer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.