Beat logo

My Summer of Music

Summer 2018 was a crazy one. I took a break from actively writing articles for Vocal, but I am back in action and ready to review my summer of music.

By Mackenzie CoberleyPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

I spent most of my summer listening to new music and I was able to discover some new bands and artists throughout the break, and I wanted to share that all with you! There are mostly pop punk bands on here, but there a few hip-hop and pop songs on here as well! Check it out!

Real Friends: 'Composure'

Real Friends has been one of my favorite bands since 2014. They went on tour with Mayday Parade in 2015 and that is when I first got the chance to see them live. This summer, while on Vans Warped Tour, they released their new album Composure and I listen to at least one song off the album a day. The album really hit home for me because the lyrics and songs helped me get in touch with my emotions and personal issues with people who were surrounding me in my life. Composure is album based off the whirlwind of emotions that we can through on the daily. The band pushed their limits on this new album and I am so excited to see what the future holds for this band. If you are into the pop rock/ pop punk genre, I highly recommend checking out this album.

Like Pacific: 'In Spite of Me'

Summer 2018 was the summer of pop punk and hard rock bands. Like Pacific is a band that I like to keep in my back pocket. Not too many people know of this band, but really should. They have a little over 166,000 monthly listeners on their Spotify, and I wish that number were higher. They released their newest album In Spite of Me on July 27, so it has only been out for about a month, but when it first came out, I listened to the album three times through. The band is a rock group out of Canada and will be touring with ROAM this fall. If you have a chance to check out this band, make sure to try to see them at one of their stops on tour.

Scotty Sire

Scotty Sire is an artist that I found on Youtube. He is more famously known for being in David Dobrik’s vlogs, but I found his music to be quite catchy this summer. He had a few singles released and they were "Kickback" and "American Love". If you are into singer/songwriter pop music with a little bit of rapping, this is the music for you to check out.

Chase Atlantic

Chase Atlantic was on summer Warped tour as well, and my boyfriend brought them to my attention. Signed to Warner Brothers Studio, Chase Atlantic is starting to take off with an alternative pop rock sound and has produced songs that will have you humming throughout the whole day. Chase Atlantic originates from Australia and formed in 2011. They will be touring this fall and did not take a break after coming off Warped tour.

Trash Boat: 'Crown Shyness'

If you want to listen to a band that will have you head banging to every song, this the band to do so. They released their new full length album this summer, and it has been one of my favorite albums that have come out in 2018. Do not skip this album. As another band on Warped tour, I think Trash Boat has grown tremendously as a group. Some of my favorite songs off the album are Inside Out, Shade, and Crown Shyness.

Billie Ellish: "Ocean Eyes (Blackbear Remix)"

I have never been a huge fan of Billie Ellish’s music, but I have not thoroughly listened to it as well. However, I am a big fan of Blackbear and his music. Once he put out this release, I listened to it at least 20 to 30 times. I love this remix and I love what Blackbear did to the original sound of this song.

bands
Like

About the Creator

Mackenzie Coberley

This is my life! Just trying to write what makes me happy

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.