Beat logo

My Review of "Lizzo: Special"

Am I now a fan of Lizzo? Why didn't anyone tell me about her?

By Brian AnonymousPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Lizzo: Special is Lizzo's latest album and it just came out in 2022. I have only heard of Lizzo through mainstream media but I never really heard too many songs. The only one that I've heard of was "Good as Hell". It's a catchy song but I never ventured off to listen to the whole album.

6 years later after that "Good as Hell" song went viral we now have Lizzo's latest album Special. I wasn't too sure what I was getting into when I first started playing this album. What I got was quite a shock and a bit of a revelation.

Lizzo is fun! Her new album is a really great time from start to finish. There's this spark of energy in each and every one of her songs that is not quite describable. It's almost as if you can see bright vibrant colors when you listen to her songs. The bubbly magic of each of the songs will definitely lift your day up.

The lyrics of the songs are pretty fun too. Most of the songs are about her self acceptance of who she is and how much she likes to party with her friends. This song definitely reminded me of women in my life during my early 20's. They were unapologetic for who they were and what they were going to do.

Each of these song feel so authentic and genuine and it's weird that I've never heard these subject matters sung in the tone and demeanor of this album. It feels fresh, new and still somewhat familiar.

I was able to catch a few of the song samples that Lizzo took to make some of these songs. We have some background sample from the Beastie Boys. I loved how she turned some lyrics around from a certain famous Lauren Hill song. Then she's got some clever fun play on words where she'd switch the Drake "Started from the bottom now we're here" to "Started from the bottle now we're here". There's a ton of these clever word plays that had me in hysterics. "It's thick thirty" had me laughing and smiling from ear to ear.

Now I can see what the whole hype was about. She is quite talented and each of the songs are quite catchy. Most of the songs being songs that could be played at clubs and parties. I don't doubt that this album will move up the charts with the amount of bangers on it.

That's not to say this album couldn't use some improvements. I found that the arrangement of the songs could have been a little better. The songs are quite similar in themes so I think they could have been arranged to create more of a story. I think that it could have started off with the break up song of how her and her significant other broke up and then she meets up with her friends. That's when they go out to the party and have fun only for her to reflect on who she is. This acceptance would continue off to the song about her reconciling later on.

Overall, I think this was a great album and kind of a revelation at how talented Lizzo is in the first place. I think I'm now a fan and will probably check out her previous album now. I have to give this special album an 8.5 out of 10 because it really brought my mood up. I think you should listen to it too because there's some pretty great songs in there that will make your day better as well.

album reviews
Like

About the Creator

Brian Anonymous

I have tons of opinions that change constantly. I watch a lot of movies and play video games. There are some articles on my struggles with languages and dance as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.