Beat logo

My Review of "Doja Cat: Hot Pink"

A series of pop titles that are catchy and familiar at the same time.

By Brian AnonymousPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

Doja Cat: Hot Pink is an album that I never thought I would catch myself reviewing. I have been listening to different music lately and this one really caught my ear because of its addicting tunes and familiarity. I'm not too familiar with who Doja Cat is. That's with a lot of new artists, they just come out of nowhere and catch your attention.

At first I have to admit that I thought she sounded similar to Nikki Minaj but little did I know as I continued to listen to the album there was much more to Doja Cat than this. She sings and raps throughout the album but the various inflections and personalities that she adds to her persona reminds me of Nikki Minaj. After a few songs I start to realize that she's actually quite different from Nikki Minaj.

So I wasn't sure what Doja Cat is about so I continued to listen to the different songs on the album. She's a very sexually aware artist. She can be quite vulgar in the descriptions that she makes in her songs but this isn't so different from her contemporary counterparts. We should be moving into a different time when sexually explicit lyrics shouldn't be even a big deal.

She's basically throwing out lyrics as a man would have done if they were female. She talks about her genitals as rappers in the past used to talk about theirs. It's actually quite similar to a lot of the rappers of the past in female form. She wants to be satisfied in many different ways and she goes into it in a few of her songs.

She also talks about her dominance as an alpha female in some of her songs as well. This is basically what rappers do. She does this all with tunes that are kind of reminiscent of backing music that feel like the tunes of today. They're not fast but melodic tunes that kind of need you to be in sort of a mellow mood to really appreciate.

They're catchy too. Play them a few times and it's going to be hard to get these tunes out of your head. True to a good pop tune these songs will make you hum them later on when you're not listening to them.

There's a few feature artists that guest for some of the tracks on this album but she doesn't depend on these guests to keep the album going. They're not even big features that detract from the fact that they are Dojo Cat songs.

By the end of listening to the album I kind of now understand the sound and feel of Dojo Cat. She kind of reminds me of R&B albums back in the early 2000s with some of the new samples that they use today and some from the earlier days as well. I love the fact that some of it feels all too familiar.

This album is more for easy listening for maybe the gym, studying or doing something mundane. It's kind of vibe out and relaxing music that can keep you chilled out. I'm sure some of these songs will be getting some rotation on radio stations.

There will however be nothing cerebral in this album. That's to be expected and I wouldn't expect to have anything like this in this album. Sometimes you just need some mindless fun sometimes and this would be the equivalent to a run of the mill romantic comedy movie.

Overall, I enjoyed listening to this album and will have it on rotation for a bit and them move on to something different. I have to give this album a 7 out of 10. It's enjoyable enough and will probably have a song or two that you'll remember the 2020's with.

album reviews
1

About the Creator

Brian Anonymous

I have tons of opinions that change constantly. I watch a lot of movies and play video games. There are some articles on my struggles with languages and dance as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.