Beat logo

My Play-Sing-Scream-list!

A 2000s Teen Portuguese Artists Playlist

By Sofia DuartePublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 4 min read
2
I apologize for an endless list full of good music.

Welcome to my world of music!

I have a huge audio library. I am the kind of person that listens to almost anything. That girl lives in a movie and the music plays in the background inside her mind. I love to sing and music is a vehicle for my feelings. I use it when I need to get deep into some story. It runs through my veins!

When I was a teenager we didn’t have the internet at our disposal as today. All I listened to was the radio and some CDs with international artists that a friend gave me – he was my salvation at that time. I needed good music, and he fed my soul into the meaningful rock n’ roll. Play, repeat, play, and repeat. All day, all the time. Sing with the music, cry with the music, feel the music, and be reborn with those notes!

But let’s start the real playlist, shall we? It is not a top 10 or anything because all of these made equal importance in my past life – the hurtful teenage years. The 2000s were rich in music, but some of them were older than those years. But they were my company.

I was thinking to start with Portuguese music and some International, but I’ve changed my mind. For now, just some Portuguese music. Maybe I will make another list with the International part if I have time. My playlist seems like does not have an end, so let’s divide them into genres! I will forget a lot of them since I am remembering more and more bands that I’ve loved. Oh, the list is growing like yeast!

Fado and Folk Music

  • Dulce Pontes

She is a Portuguese songwriter and singer who performs various musical styles. She is a world music artist, you can check the details on Wikipedia. I love her voice, she sings with her soul and that inspires me all the time that I hear her. I dare to say nothing more. She inspired me in my entry for the Fair Winds challenge, and I’ve already shared my favorite music with the poetry, in this story.

  • Mariza

She is a renowned Fado singer who travels all over the world to feed the soul of Portugal to the world. You can read more details here. I cannot say enough about Fado, that is our traditional music that deepens the meaning of “Saudade” that usually It’s said to mean a feeling of longing, melancholy, or nostalgia that is supposedly characteristic of the Portuguese or Brazilian temperament. But is much more than that, and you can feel it in the following music.

  • Madredeus

Madredeus is one of the most successful music groups from Portugal, check here. When I hear them my mind just flies over the world. It's like a storm of inspiration begins to sprout from my veins. Check one of my favorite music below.

Hip-hop and Rap

  • Da Weasel

They are one of the best, check them here. Their music flows so well, and I always end singing with them the lyrics. You can feel very beats with them. What I like most is that they have meaning in each lyric. They were dormant, and I hope to hear more from them soon. I am glad when I hear new music from them. I share with you one of the most iconic music from them.

  • Boss AC

Another iconic rapper, see his biography. I love a lot of music from him. But the perfect music in my heart is a partnership with Mariza – yes, I have already talked about her before. But he is much more. Deep lyrics and a great voice. I could hear him all day!

  • Sam the Kid

Another real rapper. He feels his poetry like real emotion. He only sings in Portuguese and I don’t find the lyrics. But I can share one of his best music here. It's about the lack of poetry and content in the world of rap and music in general, I might add. Where people are looking to sell the music instead of writing it with content. It's a reality that is more and more present, more and more real. You will gain a new vision! All about him on Wikipedia.

Pop-rock Music

  • Rita Redshoes

A woman that inspires with her pop-rock. She takes me always into a new world. I can even imagine just closing my eyes. I love her voice too. Read about her career on Wikipedia. Let's dream with her! Would you join me?

  • David Fonseca

Another top artist that I love to hear and sing with the rhythm. Years past but he can always do a better job inspiring me. How can he be such a perfect artist? You can check more about him here, but just after his music:

Rock n' Roll

  • Moonspell

A gothic metal band from Portugal, more on Wikipedia. They have albums and songs that I can hear for eternity! Actually, I love the Luna music from them. I scream inside with it!

  • Blind Zero

A great rock band that I like a lot, from Porto, my favorite city. My list is infinite, but I could not forget about them! Better just listen to them.

  • Noidz

It's so hard for me to choose. They are a Trance/Metal band. Every band calls for my soul in each music. You can check another great band with the music below!

I don't want to take this playlist to the roof, but I'll leave other bands below. I love them all but are such a huge list that I want to leave you all and hear them over and over again, remembering the pieces that stayed with them.

Other Portuguese songs in english

  • Silence 4 - Not Brave Enough (link)

Other Portuguese songs in Portuguese

  • Xutos & Pontapés - Homem do Leme (link)
  • Jáfomega - Latin'América (link)
  • Táxi - Chiclete (link)
  • Toranja - Carta (link)
  • UHF - Cavalos de Corrida (link)
  • Trovante - 125 Azul (link)
  • Heróis do Mar - Só gosto de ti (link)
  • Anjos - Ficarei (link)

I guess I will try to stop here. But I am in love all over again with this playlist. I hope you all liked this huge playlist. I tried to show a little of my repertoire.

Maybe I'll come back to my teenage years and relive it! :)

I hope you liked this playlist. You can check more poetry or stories on my profile or in the table below.

list
2

About the Creator

Sofia Duarte

Poetry, facts, and fiction. ✏️

A Portuguese writer with an ocean of content.

News @ sofiaduarte.com

Socials @ Instagram + Facebook + Twitter + LinkedIn

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.