Beat logo

My Personal Archives: Music Journalism

Devildriver's Beast album review

By Alexis M. CollazoPublished 2 months ago 3 min read
Like

Once upon a time, long ago, I thought I wanted to be a music journalist. I was very passionate about music and as a native New Yorker was quite entrenched in the local metal scene. It seemed like a no brainer. Why not combine my interest in music, social connections and enthusiasm for writing towards a career I might actually enjoy. I admit to being a bit naive about the whole thing, I thought it would be fun and exciting. And it was, until it wasn't.

I'm still deciding whether it's good or bad that most of the reviews I did are no longer online. I was really excited by the idea of republishing some of them here, then I started reading through my old files. Proud as I am of my efforts, I'm also more than a little embarrassed by the amateurish writing. Still, there are some like the following album review for Devildriver's 2011 album Beast, that I think are share worthy.

Beast Review - March 1, 2011*

I have been a longtime fan of Devildriver, so naturally I have been highly anticipating their new album. Their music is full of bone-crushingly fast beats, and great guitar riffs while Dez’s amazing screams and growls menace you with his powerful lyrics. To quote my mother “they sound like they should be rising out of hell.” However, even with all the speed they still have a heavy groove and some memorable chorus’s that stay with you long after the music is done. After hearing the first single “Dead to Rights” I knew I would not be disappointed by Beast. Also the first track of the album, it opens with a simple ominous beating. It draws you in then erupts into a full out musical assault. It’s the perfect song to begin the album and as a first single. It grabs your attention, prepares you for the rest of the album and leaves you wanting more.

The onslaught is continued with songs like “Bring the fight (to the floor)” and “Hardened”. Listening to them it’s hard not to picture the crazy scene that will transpire in venues once played live. By the time you get halfway through the album, it takes control to not just start pushing random people around like you’re in the pit, wherever you may be. As usual Dez delivers his hate inspiring lyrics with beauty, grace and immense passion. He may have just let some of the beast inside of him out with this album. Many of the songs sound like personal messages to all the backstabbers and shady people he has encountered. The song titled Shitlist” speaks for itself. On “Blur”, he screams “I don’t know you but I fucking hate you.” However, I think my favorite song on the album has to be “Black Soul Choir” which is where the album slows some and I think Dez show’s some of his best vocals.

I would write more about individual songs but it’s hard to pick and choose because they are all great. It may not be as fast as previous albums but it’s still just as heavy. At this point, I’m already expecting Beast to be one of my favorites for this year. The album does exactly what an album, especially in metal, should do. It makes you want to go see them play life. No recording can ever really capture the experience of being at a Devildriver show. Listening to this album will just not do, it needs to be felt as well. I look forward to seeing them play these songs live and trying to survive the massive pits they always command from their audiences.

***************************************************

I hope you enjoyed this look back into my personal archives as much as I did. I look forward to dipping back into my earlier writing and occasionally sharing the least embarrassing pieces.

*Original date of publication on www.misformusic.com, now defunct site.

metal
Like

About the Creator

Alexis M. Collazo

Born and raised in Brooklyn, New York. An avid reader, writer and multimedia creator. Relocated to Pennsylvania where she is currently focused on writing, crafting and leading workshops online. Visit www.alexismcollazo.com for more info.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.