Beat logo

My Life Long Love of Music

My world of music

By Judith JaschaPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

Music has always been a huge part of my life. Mampau would tell me stories of dancing around with me before I could even walk. I would sit at the piano or with my guitar and try to get some notes out even though I clearly had no idea what I was doing. I would use the fireplace as a stage and the vacuum as a microphone and suddenly, I was a rock star on tour. For my kindergarten talent show, I chose to sing a Roy Orbison song.

I don't remember how my love of music really began. I suppose you could say music is in my blood. My great-great-great uncle was famous thirties country singer Jimmy Rogers. My great-grandma had the ability to sit at a piano and play songs from memory. Unfortunately, I was not born with that ability. Although I could easily pound out When You Wish Upon A Star and Heart and Soul. Eventually, I could play George Harrison´s What is Life. I took piano lessons for a few months, but that quickly became boring when I was made to practice. Not to mention my teacher was an eighty something year old woman who had a tendency to keep her heater on in the summertime.

Like many shy kids, I was encouraged to take music classes to help me come out of my shell. I chose the clarinet as my instrument. These were some of the best memories I have of school. I did learn to open up a bit, as well as make some of the best friends I have ever had. To this day, I attribute my quirky sense of humor to my years in the band. My only regret is that I never learned how to play drums, although that is still on my bucket list.

In high school, I was finally able to take guitar lessons. Until then, I would just pluck guitar strings and hope that I would figure out how to play. I longed to be able to play like George Harrison. Once I heard My Sweet Lord, I knew I had to learn. I'm still not a great guitar player, but I love to try.

I will probably never be known for my musical ability, and that's ok. Music is more then looking good on stage and playing notes, or singing into a microphone. Music is of the soul. I can listen to a good song despite what kind of mood I may be in, and it will bring a smile to my face. I like to put my earbuds into my ear and raise the volume full blast. I break the song apart, giving careful concentration to each musical instrument and what it brings to the piece. Whether you´re happy, sad, angry, scared, or you just want to have a good time, there is a song for the occasion.

I often say I don´t know what I will do if one day, I am no longer able to listen to my favorite music or able to remember what it means to me. However, I believe that my music lives in my heart, and nothing will ever be able to talk that away. I hope that I can continue to pass the love of music on to my children and perhaps even to the world.

You don't have to be an expert, or even good at making it. I'm definitely not. But for those moments I have it playing into my ears and brain, and my heart, I am at peace. A place where the outside world remains outside, and I am left with my dreams and hopes.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Judith Jascha

Mom, sister, teacher, student, writer. I love to touch on all areas as I like to expose myself to new things. My goal is to use my experience to entertain and educate.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.