Beat logo

My Killer Halloween Playlist

If it's too loud, you're too old!

By Robert KegelPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
2
My Killer Halloween Playlist
Photo by Altınay Dinç on Unsplash

One of my favorite times of the year! Halloween is the time to be with the people you love, dress up and act a little crazy. I have a Halloween playlist that I listen to every year and I add songs to it if I hear one that deserves to be on it.

These songs to me have the feel of Halloween either from the lyrics or the music. Some were made for Halloween and some weren’t. This is the top 6 from my list.

6. Falling in Reverse – I'm not a Vampire

This song is about addiction, and not about vampires, but it’s sung in a very dark way that feels very Halloween to me. This is the second version of this song (they re-wrote other songs as well). The older version is more upbeat, it sounds almost happy for such a serious subject. This version sets the tone better and it shows how the band has grown over the years.

5. Dark Sarah – Dancing with the Dragon

I recently found Dark Sarah and this song I think sounds like Halloween. The music and vocals are eerie, the sound between an almost classical singing sound sung by lead singer Luna Heidi and guest singer JP Leppaluoto who has a very creepy and dark sound to his voice. The lyrics are creepy as well. It’s about a woman who’s being held captive and steals the key so she can escape, but the dragon that’s holding her captive finds out what she’s doing and takes the key and won’t let her leave.

4. In This Moment – The In-Between

I love this band, a few of their songs made this list, but I picked this one because it has easter eggs from past songs. Maria Brink has such a unique voice. She can sound sultry and sexy sound sexy and she can sound angry. I think of her as the Lady Gaga of Metal because of how she dresses in her videos. This song is about a woman who’s trapped between her good side and bad side.

3. Monster Mash cover - Leo Moracchioli

The original is a great song, but I picked this version because it’s newer and also has a great sound. Leo has a YouTube channel and he makes a lot of covers. He plays live as well, he’s played at Wakken, the Monsters of Rock cruise and more. He may not write the lyrics to the songs he sings, but he definitely makes the songs his own. This version of Monster Mash is one of them and I think it’s a great version of an iconic Halloween song.

2. Marylin Manson – This is Halloween

Like Monster Mash, this is another iconic Halloween song. I picked this version because Marylin Manson has a voice that fits this song. Its spooky and creepy and just fun to listen to. The original is good, but I think this one tops it. Leo Moracchioli also did a version of this song, which is good, but still not as good as Mansons version (Sorry Leo).

1. Helloween – Halloween

To me this is the ultimate Halloween song. It’s just my favorite. Yes, it’s a long song running at over 13 minutes but it doesn’t feel like it when listening to it. The lyrics, the vocals, the musicianship on this song just make it my favorite song for Halloween. It tells a great story about good and evil, fighting over Halloween. It’s a very underrated song from an underrated (in the US) band.

Bonus:

The reason I didn’t add this to the list is because it’s not a single song, but a full album.

The Silver Scream by Ice Nine Kills is an album I just found out about. I haven’t heard the whole thing yet; I heard a few songs. From what I do know about the album is it’s about a guy who goes to see a shrink because he’s having dreams of murders and the day after, the murder actually happens. The whole thing is each murder is based on a popular murderer from a movie (Freddy Kruger, Jason, Michael Myers...etc) Unfortunately I heard the ending before the rest so I know what happens, but I won’t say anything else in case you want to listen to it. It is a very heavy album, so if you’re not into hard metal music, maybe listen to it in bits and read the lyrics along with the song.

If you like my selection of music, let me know. I know a few of the songs others may have on their lists, but I hope I put some songs on it that you don’t know about it and will enjoy. Happy Halloween!

bands
2

About the Creator

Robert Kegel

I'm a rocker, a gamer, a romantic, a Dom, a hiker and l like camping. I'm a geek, who loves Sci-Fi/Fantasy, and technology. I'll try and write about a variety of topics ranging from relationship, tech and every day rants.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.