Beat logo

My Healing MRI Playlist

Recovering from one surgery after another; the right music is healing.

By Karla Bowen HermanPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
Songs on this playlist were chosen from ones that helped me relax, when getting MRI's.

Recovering from multiple surgeries is stressful—and boring. I've got a couple more surgeries to go, probably... It's hard to relax when you're in pain. The normal Zen meditative playlists do nothing for me! Instrumentals don't work, either; whether they are classical or jazz. I've found I need songs with lyrics in order to distract my mind from the pain. Having to get multiple MRI's, the technician had a playlist that worked for me! Yay! I don't care that these aren't modern songs. All that matters is that I can close my eyes to these songs and let the music take me away. Here are my 12 favorite tunes I discovered while in the MRI machines, which continue to help me to calm down:

1) This song reminds me if I smile through my fears and sorrow, I'll see the sun come shining through... Long before my time, back in 1936, "Smile" was the instrumental theme song for Charlie Chaplin's movie: "Modern Times" (about the Industrial Revolution). Chaplin, who composed the song, said he was inspired by Puccini's Tosca. (Charlie Chaplin, that slapstick comedian, was a more talented genius than I realized!) Later, John Turner and Geoffrey Parsons added the lyrics. In 1954, Nat King Cole recorded it. (Nobody sings a song like Nat King Cole, in my opinion... Nobody!) Enjoy...

2) "I Will Wait For You" makes me thankful for my husband's devotion and understanding... It was nominated for the 'Academy Award for Best Song' at the 38th Academy Awards, held in 1966. It was the theme song for the romantic French musical: "The Umbrellas of Cherbourg". (Later fans might remember this song during the iconic ending of the Futurama episode: "Jurassic Bark”.)

3) I decided to 'think positive' in the mornings, with this 1968 song from 'The Rascals': "It's a Beautiful Morning". When I need my mood uplifted, it reminds me to have an attitude of gratitude.

4) "Black Water" from the Doobie Brothers is my escape song... Even though it's from back in 1974, it is still perhaps my favorite pop song, period. It helps me escape to fond memories of growing up in the Ozarks and playing in the river, when I was a little girl. (Honestly, I could list all the songs from the Doobie Brothers, but this one is my favorite. I grinned beneath my mask in the MRI machine, when "Black Water" started playing.)

5) Larry Graham is so famous for inventing the slap bass technique in fast or funky songs; people may forget he also had some hit slow ballads! He used to be with Sly and the Family Stone, then Graham Central Station. Did you know Larry and his wife are also the ones who studied the Bible with Prince? Lately, I've been trying to increase my spirituality and strengthen my relationship with God, as well.

6) “No need to ask, he’s a smooth operator...” Isn't “Smooth Operator’” a great 1984 song? It's from the English band: ’Sade’. It's one of those songs that I can close my eyes to and just listen and chill, Baby.

7) Sometimes I want to feel sexy again, just for a moment... Don't we all? The 1974: "Midnight at the Oasis" by Maria Maldaur is just what the doctor ordered. She could be so sexy just with her voice—she certainly didn't need a bunch of raunchy dance moves (like some, sadly, rely on nowadays). Here, Maria is performing on "The Midnight Special". Do you remember that show? It was like going to a concert on TV.

8) Linda Ronstadt was my favorite female singer when I was a teen, for good reason—her voice. Did you know she helped the Eagles get their start? Hope you enjoy hearing Linda Ronstadt sing: "Long, Long Time", from 1970. Although it's about someone who's heartbroken over unrequited love; for me, it also fits for being heartbroken over lost health and youth. Sometimes it helps to just belt out your feelings, then try to let it go.

9) This 1978 song from Rita Coolidge is helpful: "We're All Alone”. How?Well, it's comforting hearing the lyrics sing reminders that feel like gentle hugs; such as to "cry no more... close your eyes and dream... let it out... it will be all right..."

10) This 1967 song, by "The Association", never gets old for me... "Never My Love”. It's so reassuring when you worry at times if your spouse will someday have had enough. That day will never come, my love.

11) "There's got to be a morning after..." I am encouraged by "Morning After" for obvious reasons. By Maureen McGovern, "Morning After" was the 1972 theme song for the original movie: "The Poseidon Adventure". You probably know that it was about a rogue wave that flipped a cruise ship over. I still think it was a brilliant story-line how it was the old fat lady, played by Shelley Winters, who ended up being the unlikely one to save the day, with her swimming! I recall back in the day, EVERYBODY was talking about what a hero she was, after watching this movie. This song makes me think of her courageous character, which inspires me. We are sometimes surprised at what each of us can do!

12) Sometimes, I just need to be reminded to count my blessings... There are people who have it SO much worse than me! Have you ever heard this folk song about the homeless? "So how can you tell me you're lonely and say for you that the sun don't shine? Let me take you by the hand and lead you through the streets of London... Show you something to make you change your mind." Counting your blessings—and focusing on helping others, is a great way to endure.

I can't end this without making sure you know my favorite songs and most helpful, healing ones are Kingdom Melodies, because now more than ever, I need the spiritual healing they give my spirit; and their reminders to pray—which helps so much. However, the above songs have helped me to relax when in the MRI machine; and I am so thankful to the technician who plays them for me. Ironically, I have another MRI scheduled for in the morning. I hope I get the same technician—with the same playlist!

playlist
Like

About the Creator

Karla Bowen Herman

I've always wanted to be an author, ever since I was a little girl. Time has a way of flying by when you're raising a family. But, I've discovered you're never too old to start! May something I write someday, lift someone's heart.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.