Beat logo

My guilty binge pleasure

GLEE - Yes, I said it - GLEE!!

By Lisa LaflammePublished 3 years ago 5 min read
2

So the year 2020 started out well. Everyone around me seemed excited about all the new possibilities until March hit. Most of us thought that the Corona Virus (as it was called at the time), was just another flu, we didn’t really equate it with anything serious. After all, we had been through SARS years earlier and that was contained quickly. I didn’t even realize the impact of SARS until more information came out about this new virus. Anyway, that is not the point, the point is that I was laid off work and was being paid for it, and with most things shut down, there wasn’t really anything to apply for, not that I wanted to be out in public in any case.

We (my husband and I) started with staying in our bubble, which included a handful of friends and we could still play games and have some fun. Then it was no more bubble, we couldn’t see anyone except hubby’s Nana, because she needed someone to check on her and bring groceries etc. We stayed our distance apart and met on her patio until we were sure everyone was safe to visit.

Now, we were already used to binge watching shows, it was made so easy by streaming services such as Netflix and Amazon Prime. We got rid of cable years ago, so we were happy in the new binge-watching era. At this time, my husband was still working so I needed shows to fill up some of my time by myself. I did feel alone sometimes because I was used to at least seeing friends. To be honest, that is really the only thing I miss during this whole pandemic. Sure, we were able to play games over the internet and we could do some video calls, but I am from a generation of in person gatherings.

Anyway, I digress, so I was looking for something to watch, even if it was in on the background while I did other things at home. I was scrolling through Netflix at one point and I noticed there…my old friend Glee. “Oh my god”, I thought. “Should I”? “Can I”? I guess to understand my hesitation, you have to realize that I am not a girly girl and try not to be caught watching Rom Coms and the like. The Hallmark channel will make be puke in my mouth a little. I am pretty outspoken about it too. So, Glee? How did I fall for this cheesy claptrap? Well, I’ll tell you.

Glee is amazing! I love it! It is super cheesy and much of it is unrealistic, but that is the point. You see, I wasn’t popular in high school. I also couldn’t sing but I do love singing. I think that Glee, for me, is a little bit of dream fantasy that I know I will never live but I can enjoy thoroughly from my couch and sing at the top of my lungs and just not care. I will tell you, at first, I did care and now I just don’t care. I will watch this show again and again.

I think another part of the draw of Glee is the cast. These oddballs actually create a cohesive unit that is hard to tear oneself away from. Granted there are a few parts where Rachel Berry is lost in her own self absorbent world and I admit I fast forwarded through some of her unbearable songs. They were well done, don’t get me wrong, but I found them just too much. I love that the bullies somehow ingratiate themselves and you find yourself cheering for them because they aren’t really bullies, they just needed to find something. There is something about the slushie throwers becoming the throwees I guess. And they all become friends and it’s just so…yeah I know, so cheesy but delicious at the same time!

There is also Jane Lynch. I don’t think more needs to be said but I will anyway. Coach Sue Sylvester adds a delightful distaste for all things Glee, mostly Will Scheuster. I love Sue’s journey through marrying herself to having a baby and her constant support of Beccy. Sue is always there, always throwing a wrench in the works and in many ways, the true star of the show. It would not work without her.

Sue leads us to another aspect of Glee. Many of these situations, while sometimes overdramatized and of course fixed quite quickly, are real situations that people deal with on a daily basis. From gay bashing to spousal assault to teen pregnancy, they all have a place in our musical melodrama which gives you those moments to cry as well. I became fully immersed and this was definitely not a background type show. I would grab a drink and some snacks and sit down to some serious Glee viewing. It was pretty serious, and I while I would watch for hours at a time, there were times I would finish an episode and make myself wait for another time, basking in the tension of waiting to find out if Kurt and Blaine were really breaking up or would Mercedes and Sam get together?

Now, all that said, the show is not perfect and there is a point in the seasons after Finn (Cory Monteith) passes away (because of Cory’s death this was extra heart wrenching), where the show tries to take a logical turn into a new group of misfits joining the Glee club. This was a huge mistake, and my guess is that it resulted in almost cancellation of the show. The new batch just didn’t have the charisma of the old group. Luckily, they took a huge U-turn and went back to the heart of the show, being the original cast and although completely unrealistic managed to bring back the old gang in various ways. With many twists and turns in New York and other places for the whole cast, it was still more fun to watch the recent grads than the newcomers.

Another added bonus were the sometimes recurring characters entering the show, like Gwyneth Paltrow as the independent and fun Holly Holiday, Kristen Chenoweth as April, the alcoholic and failed Broadway star. There is so much more I could say about Glee but this isn’t a show review, it’s just about my guilty pleasure. It seems it might be time soon to watch it all again. Did I mention how happy I was that songs by Journey figured so prominently in the show?

Who doesn’t love a happy ending? Ok me, much of the time, but the ending is fitting for a guilty pleasure show that you just spend 6 seasons singing and dancing along with. If you didn’t, you may be dead inside!

tv review
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.