Beat logo

My Favourite Album From Each Year (2010-2019)

The tennies.

By Chloe GilholyPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
2

A lot of people say that music isn't as good as it used to be. It may be true. A lot of my favourite albums are from earlier decades, but that doesn't mean that this millennium hasn't got any decent music. There's been loads of great music still coming out, there are just different ways of finding it. I've found a lot of my favourite music through Youtube, Spotify and other online sites. Again, you can tell some of my favourite bands on this list. Depeche Mode has had a huge presence in my favourite albums from each decade. I've been asked what my favourite albums from the 60s and 70s are. My friend helped me with some 70s album but think I will need to go back and listen to some more albums from the 60s before I can make one with the 60s but I think it will be fun because I will get to discover some more great stuff.

2010: Progress – Take That

Favourite song: Wait

Progress is an important album in Take That's long tenure in the British Charts it marks Robbie Williams brief return to the band and the last album to feature Jason Orange. It's very different to the other Take That albums as it's more electronic and explores some futuristic themes. Take That have made some great pop albums over the years and I would say that their newer albums since their reunion. The Flood was a massive hit for them and I got goosebumps when I heard them sing it live. Wait is really catchy and I'd like to give a special mention to Flowerbed which is a really underrated track with Jason Orange in the lead.

2011: Imaginaerum - Nightwish

Favourite song: Last Ride of The Day

I love nearly all of Nightwish's albums. I would say that this one is one of my favourites. The band took a really creative turn with this and Anette Olzon sounds amazing on this album. I know a lot of people weren't so sure about her during the Dark Passion Play era because Anette was so different from Tarja. Sadly Anette was dismissed from the band but Floor has done an amazing job with the band. I love Scaretale for it's squealing pigs line and I think the one track that puts everything together is Last Ride of The Day.

2012: Electra Heart – Marina & The Diamonds

Favourite song: Teen Idol

I used to listen to this album a lot when I was at college and it really helped me when I was writing my reviews on Dooyoo/Ciao and my fanfics. I love the aesthetics this album has and I love the somberness of Teen Idol and Primadonna girl. I know somebody who's seen her live and loved her. I really need to check out her other albums because I really love this one.

2013: Delta Machine – Depeche Mode

Favourite song: Sooth My Soul

I saw Depeche Mode live during the Delta Machine era and it made me love them even more as a band. They were all on top form. I like how Welcome to My World references to Dave Gahan's former drug habbit with: leave your tranquilizers at home. I love that even after all these years that the band is still going strong.

2014: Babymetal - Babymetal

Favourite song: Megistune

I love Babymetal's fusion of J-Pop and metal music. It's a combination of two things that I love that I never thought would work but when Babymetal do it, it works spectaculary. 'Kawaii metal' is still making the waves but I don't think anyone does it better than Babymetal. And this album dosen't just have J-Pop and metal fused in, there's a whole lot of stuff going on and it's catchy. My favourite song is megistune.

2015: Endless Forms Most Beautiful

Favourite song: Yours is an Empty Hope

Nightwish's first album with Floor. I was looking forward to this because I saw Showtime, Storytime which was their first official release with Floor and it sounded amazing. Floor brought new life into the old songs and I looked forward to hearing new material with her because I also loved her work with ReVamp and After Forever. It meet my expectations and it proved my theory that Floor Jansen is one of those vocalists that sounds better live than on live recordings. Yours is an Empty Hope and Shudder Before The Beautiful really show off Floor's vocal abililties and diversity.

2016: Metal Resistance – Babymetal

Favourite song: The One

I love Metal Resistance much more than Babymetal. I liked the direction they were going in. They were growing up. They still had their playful side with Meta Taro and Karate but they had their serious side with The One and Tales of Destinies. I also love their Japanese exclusive track, Syncopation. Babymetal is another band that I've seen live in Wembley and they were amazing. It's also the last album to feature Yui which is sad. I miss her but Metal Galaxy is still awesome.

2017: Spirit – Depeche Mode

Favourite song: Scum

It dosen't feel like three years since Depeche Mode released Spirit. It feels like it was only yesterday that I went out to get the album. I'm just happy that Depeche Mode are still releasing music because I think they're one of the best bands in the world. I can really relate to Where's The Revolution? Come on people, you're letting me down...

2018: Technology – Don Broco

Favourite song: The Blues

This album will always make me think of my best friend Vee who inspired me to make these music entries. Don Broco is her favourite band at the moment and this is my favourite album from them so far. I think they will go on to make even greater albums. I hope to see Don Broco with Vee one day.

2019: Resist – Within Temptation

Favourite song: The Reckoning

Resist is one of the best albums that Within Temptation have done in ages, but I think they've always put out good albums. The album opens with The Reckoning and I often stop to put it on repeat because it's a banger. Raise Your Banner is also amazing. I love how Within Temptation always open their albums with powerful bangers like this. They show that they still got it. The album makes me feel like I'm in a battle field in another world.

album reviews
2

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.