Beat logo

My Favourite Album From Each Year (2000-2009)

The noughties edition

By Chloe GilholyPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
3

I've been having a lot of fun writing these articles about my favourite albums from the decades. I started with the 80s and made my way up, but after this, I'm going to go back and do the 70s and 80s as well. At first I thought I would be unable to do the 70s and 60s because they were well before my time, but I remembered that Queen is my favourite band from the 70s era so I think I can do it. For now, I will continue through the new millennium and go back and discover some amazing albums.

Music from the 2000-2009 shows some of the albums I loved as a teenager and some I listened to when I was growing up. This last takes me back to the good old days of YouTube and Last.FM. It's also showed how much my music has changed since I was younger. I used to listen to a lot of pop music but now not so much. I'm more into rock, metal, and electronic music nowadays.

2000: One Touch – Sugababes

Favourite song: Run For Cover

Sugababes was and still is one of my favourite bands. I still liked them despite the line up changes. Out of all the albums the Sugababes did, I would say that this one is my favourite. Their discography are my favourite pop albums. I still listen to it a lot and the singles they picked where amazing choices. Overload is a masterpiece. Because of this album I became a part of an awesome community of friends.

2001: Vespertine – Björk

Favourite song: Frosti

I saw Björk last year at the O2 in London with my friend, Sophia in November. We were both going through some hard times and it was great to catch up to Five Guys and Björk. I bought this album from HMV on vinyl months before seeing her and the staff said it was a good choice. I had this album on iTunes before and always listened to it. Pagan Poetry, Hidden Place and Frosti are my favourite songs from the album and I was really excited when Björk actually performed Pagan Poetry when we saw her.

2002: Stripped – Christina Aguilera

Favourite song: Fighter

I've always loved Christina Aguilera for her constant experimenting and breaking the mould. She's inspired a lot of the new generation of singers. Her music also stands up for justice, freedom and for victims of abuse. This album told a story about her and life and that's why it's still one of my favourite albums.

2003: Revolution in Me – Siobhan Donaghy

Favourite song: Dialect

Siobhan Donaghy's best known work would probally be the Sugababes' first album. A lot of people remember her as the ginger one from the Sugababes, but I think she's a lot more than that. Her first solo album is awesome. I like how honest the sound and lyrics are. It's experimental but not pretentious. Even though her second album is better, I would say this is one of the most underrated albums of all time. The ironic thing is, that the first single to this album is called Overrated.

2004: The Silent Force – Within Temptation

Favourite song: Memories

I think this album is their definitive album. This was the first album I got from Within Temptation and it's the one that helped me get into the band. Angels was the first song I heard from them and I was amazed by the music and Sharon's voice is amazing and it still is today. I love how each album from Within Temptation sounds different but is always epic.

2005: Playing The Angel – Depeche Mode

Favourite song: Precious

Depeche Mode were bound to make an appearance on this list eventually. I really love this album for the same reason I love all of Depeche Mode's albums for their amazing sounds and mood. Lilian and Damaged People are also a great track from this album.

2006: The Open Door – Evanescence

Favourite song: Weight of The World

Evanescence's popularity exploded with Bring Me to Life. I think The Open Door is a nice follow up and also a nice different sound. I like Weight of the World because it showed how much of a good vocalist Amy Lee is. I remember being really fond of Snow White Queen and Last Song I'm Wasting on You. Lithium's music video is beautiful as well as the song. I hope Evanescence come back with some more great albums.

2007: Ghosts – Siobhan Donaghy

Favourite song: Medevac

I talk about this album a lot but I think it's a really beautiful album. It's miles away from the Sugababes stuff but it's ambient, pure and atmospheric. Kate Bush and Bjork fans would love this record. I also love how the title track Ghosts makes more sense reversed then it does forward.

2008: The Fame – Lady Gaga

Favourite song: Love Game

This album always makes me think of summer. I used to have this album on repeat on my iPod during the summer holidays. I loved Lady Gaga, I still do even though my taste in music has changed. I love her change of images and bold and daring she is. Over the years she's shown that she's more than just poppy gimmicks. She's gone on to do great things.

2009: April Rain - Delain

Favourite song: April Rain

I love Delain's first album and I think their second album is just as great. I am glad that they did not get effected by the second album curse and have gone on to make more albums. The leader singer, Charlotte also has the same birthday as me. I remember seeing them live the day before my birthday with Vee and it was amazing. I think it started off me and Vee going to lots of gigs together. This album is wonderful because it brings back great memories and it has a great balance of symphonies and metal. It's flow is amazing.

album reviews
3

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.