Beat logo

My Favourite Album From Each Year (1990-1999)

Golden 90s

By Chloe GilholyPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
1

My favourite albums from the 80s was quite a simple list to make. Those who have seen it can tell that I’m a big fan of Kate Bush and Depeche Mode. My list for the 90s is a lot more varied featuring some more genres and artists. This was also quite a hard list to make and I had to edit it several times as I got some of the years wrong. There’s been loads of good albums released in the 90s that I’m fond off. I love the atmosphere and the nostalgia towards them helps as well since I was born and bred in the 90s.

I think the 1990s was a good decade for all music genres. A lot of bands I like either started out in the 1990’s or released some of my favourite album of theirs in the 1990s. I really like Black Eyed Pea’s album Behind The Front. Within Temptation started out with Enter which was a great album in my opinion and I love that they do a different style with each album. Bjork did some amazing albums like Debut and Post. Placebo did some fantastic stuff too. Those are just some of my special mentions because I really wanted to include them all.

1990: Violator – Depeche Mode

Favourite song: Sweetest Perfection

In one of my previous articles, Depeche Mode’s early albums dominated the 80’s list. This and another two albums that will be mentioned on this list are amongst my favourite that the band ever released. Violator is a perfect record for me. I love the cover, dark, simple and mysterious. The production feels perfect and ambient. Personal Jesus and Enjoy the Silence are classics. I’ve put Sweetest Perfection as my favourite song for its gorgeous melodies and raw lyrics.

1991: Ten – Pearl Jam

Favourite song: Once

Ten is a fantastic debut album full of bangers. It’s brilliant from beginning to end and all the tracks complement each other. Once is a banger and Even Flow and Black are beautiful tracks. I can really hear the bond the band members shared at the time.

1992: Hormonally Yours – Shakespears Sister

Favourite song: Stay

I mainly love this album for Stay. Siobhan used to scare me in the music video when I was a kid, but I was always captivated by the song. It is easily the best song of the album for me. I love the power and the mixture of songs in this, even when the styles are different the vocals are still distinctive. Other favourites of mine includes Moonchild and Cat woman.

1993: Songs of Faith and Devotion – Depeche Mode

Favourite song: Home

My favourite Depeche Mode album. I love the rocky tunes like I Feel You. The emotional messages behind Condemnation and Get Right With Me. The erotic tones of In Your Room and One Caress. It’s everything I was in an album; dark, mystical, sexy and emotional. What makes me appreciate the album more is all the personal issues the band had going on which also meant this album never existed.

1994: Voodoo-U – Lords of Acid

Favourite song: The Crablouse

I remember hearing Lords of Acid’s song on a YouTube video and got really hooked on their song The Crablouse. Voodoo-U is a great album is you’re okay with lyrics with adult themes. The titles themselves and the cover will give you a good idea to what the sound is like. There’s some things that just aren’t meant to be censored and this album is one of them.

1995: Mandylion – The Gathering

Favourite song: Eléanor

I think the 90’s was truly a golden era for the Gothic Metal genre. Tristania, Within Temptation, Lacuna Coil, Theatre of Tragedy and The Sins of Thy Beloved had produced some beautiful gothic metal albums that people still talk about today. The Gathering’s album Mandylion is a shining example of why the genre is so loved for its lustrous vocals and atmospheric music.

1996: Older – George Michael

Favourite song: Fast Love

It was easy for me to get into George Michael. My family were big fans of his music from his Wham days. Older is one of the albums that have really stood out for me the most. I love Fast Love because it’s got amazing vibes and energy to it. Its fun loving a lot like this album. At the same time, it can be serious and meaning like Jesus to a Child. I really feel this album is based on personal experiences and helps me relate to it and like it more.

1997: Ultra – Depeche Mode

Favourite song: Barrell of a Gun

This was their first album without Alan Wilder and it shows. Even though Ultra is a brilliant album and Depeche Mode are still riding high, there’s no denying that Alan Wilder created a sound for them that cannot be replaced. That being said, I love Ultra. Barrell of a Gun is an amazing rock theme and I love the gentle songs like Home.

1998: Oceanborn – Nightwish

Favourite song: The Pharaoh Sails to Orion

Nightwish are one of my favourite bands and this is my favourite album they did with Tarja. It’s beautiful and has timeless ballads like Sleeping Sun and Swanheart. Their version of Walking in the Air is amazing.

1999: Kikoku-Tenshou – Onmyo-Za

Favourite song: Onmyouji

Likely to be the most obscure on the list, but Onmyo-Za is a Japanese band I discovered on Tumblr a few years ago and since then I've been a really big fan of their music especially this album and their track Onmyouji. I love the mixture of traditional folklore and heavy metal.

90s music
1

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.