Beat logo

My Favourite Album From Each Year (1960-1969)

A look back into the sixties.

By Chloe GilholyPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1

I wrote a series of articles listing my favourite albums from each year. Some years were a ot easier than others because there was some years that had a lot of amazing albums, whilst other years I went blank on. There were also a few albums that I got the release date wrong, and I wouldn’t have known without researching the album. 1960s was a hard decade for me, and one I wouldn’t have done if I hadn’t been asked to do so. The early part of the decade I went blank on, whilst other years I had to pick which album I liked the most which was hard.

Through listening to some albums from the 1960s, I’ve noticed more so than ever the changes in albums released today. First of all albums in the past are lot shorter. Some albums tend to have just 8-12 tracks, now a lot of albums can have as many as 20 albums. The way music is being made and played has changed too. In some ways it’s better as music is a lot more assessable, but it’s hard a lot of the rare stuff on streaming sites.

1960 - Joan Baez

Favourite song: House of the Rising Sun

I listen to a lot of intense music, and listening to this album makes a nice change. It’s a lovely folk album and Joan’s voice is lovely. My favourite song from this album is House of the Rising Sun. It made me think of wonderful memories I had in Japan.

1961 - Aretha by Aretha Franklin

Favourite song: Somewhere Over the Rainbow

Almost every vocalist with power house vocals will have Aretha Franklin listed as an influence. It's really interesting and sweet to hear a young Aretha Franklin in this. She sounds so sweet and powerful at the same time. I really love this version of Somewhere Over the Rainbow.

1962 - Meet The Supremes by The Supremes

Favourite song: Buttered Popcorn

I like how these songs captures a more innocent and happier time in a young person's life. I think a lot of the songs on this album are really sweet like Buttered Popcorn, Your Heart Belongs To Me and Baby Don't Go. I also like the eerie intro to I Want A Guy.

1963 - Please Please Me by The Beatles

Favourite song: Twist & Shout

The debut album from The Beatles is a fun record. When it comes to music in the 1960s, The Beatles is the one band that many people will know and love from The Beatles. It's weird to think that this album is over fifty years old. Music has changed a lot since this album has been released but I can see a lot of musical influences and inspiration will eventually link to this album.

1964 - Presenting the Fabolous Ronettes Featuring Veronica by The Ronettes

Favourite song: Be My Baby

The Ronettes only had one studio album, but I think it's a great one. Ronnie Spector is a great singer, and she still sounds just as great in her 70s as she did when she was younger. Be My Baby will always remind me of the film Dirty Dancing.

1965 - Help! - The Beatles

Favourite song: Yesterday

I love the album cover on this record with the blue coats and how they spell the letters to help with their bodies. The album is very consistant and has brilliant songs like Help! and Yesterday. Yesterday was a song that used to make me feel sad until I watched the Mr Bean movie where he belts it out and now it makes me laugh.

1966 - Aftermath by Rolling Stones

Favourite song: Paint It, Black

The main reason I like this album is because of the song, Paint It Plack. Stupid Girl is really catchy. Lady Jane is gorgous and reminds me of all the Tudor period dramas I used to binge-watch. I love how this album takes you to different places.

1967 - The Velvet Underground & Nico

Favourite song: Venus In Furs

A lot of great albums were released in 1967. Jefferson's Airplane released Surrealistic Pillow and there’s of course The Beatles’s Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band. The Velvet Underground’s debut is my favourite. Every time I see this picture of the banana I think of this album. There’s a reason why Pitchfork ranked this as the best album from the 1960s.

1968 - The White Album by The Beatles

Favourite song: Dear Prudence

I love this album. It's full of exciting tracks and creativity. Siouxsie & The Banshees did a great cover of Dear Prudence, but I think the original is far superior, and that's coming from somebody who is a great fan of Siouxsie & The Banshees.

1969 - David Bowie’s Space Oddity

Favourite song: Space Oddity

David Bowie's second self-titled album was re-released as Space Oddity because of the iconic song. I think it's one of the best records on this list. It's really ahead of it's time, but it also captures the sounds of the 60s perfectly with acoustic rock showered in the drug metaphors. All the songs flow really nicely into each other.

60s music
1

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.