Beat logo

My Christmas Playlist For 2020

Where the joy begins, where the joy never ends.

By Agnes LaurensPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
2
My Christmas Playlist For 2020
Photo by BRUNO EMMANUELLE on Unsplash

I have known the classical music industry much better than the pop music scene. I barely listen to pop music, but for Christmas songs, I make a huge exception.

Christmas is my favorite season and time of the year. Christmastime gives me so much joy and sparkle into my life. That joy and sparkle gives me the strength to continue life, to be better in what I am doing and keeping doing what I am dong and what I love to do.

I am already in the mood for Christmas lately, while in The Netherlands we have Sinterklaas who is not "gone" from our country, which means, he arrives mid November and leave the country on the 6th of December. He gives presents to the children. After that, Christmastime it is.

As my youngest - of three daughters - still believes in Sinterklaas, we are participating in this event. Now my youngest will believe for the last time, I am more into Christmas.

I love this time with all the decorations, with all the sparkle lights, the spirits from people. I hope that we can find hope in those days for the future and for the virus going away, and that people will help one another in those times whenever that is possible.

With all this in mind, I provided a Christmas list for you to listen to and add it to your Spotify list.

Underneath the Tree - Kelly Clarkson

The first song I want to start is an upbeat tempo song from Kelly Clarkson. Underneath the Tree is about a present underneath the Christmas tree. That present is somebody special.

This song reminds me of the being positive towards one another in the worlds. Especially in this difficult COVID-19 time. It is difficult enough, so this song is worth it to listen to.

All I Want For Christmas - Mariah Carey

This is another upbeat song. Now and then it is great to listen to an upbeat song where you really can sing along with and dance on.

Her beautiful voice makes this song very complete. A little bit dark, but fresh too. She really makes this song the song it is and festive.

Folks, keep up the spirit of Christmas. With friends and family through phone calls this year. It will be difficult, but it is oh so necessary. That is all I want for Christmas this year.

It's The Most Wonderful Time of Year - Andy Williams

Even this year has been crazy and for some of you this year has been difficult. Families couldn't be there for one another, friends on distance, and for some of you this is not a wonderful time of the year.

Christmas has always been a wonderful tile of the year with all that sparkle, love and joy. Only this year will be a little bit different as we have to celebrate Christmas on a distance. Alone.

We need to keep in mind that - even on a distance - we can be together again when we keep up all the rules by the government.

This song reminds me of the wonderful time we can get back, and we can keep up when you celebrate Christmas on distance.

Cozy Little Christmas - Katy Perry

Katy Perry is a kind of woman you think to be weird, but I believe that when you get to know her that you'll envy her for just being herself. I don't know her personally, of course, but I can imagine that very well.

That kind of spirit I love to hold on for this Christmas period coming up. Being weird for the last period of 2020 is good to get the positive spirit up and get into 2021 with a positive mindset.

This song means that cozy Christmas is possible and that you have to make something out of this situation yourself to make a lovely Christmas.

Ice Skatin' - Yumeliko

I have not heard from Yumeliko at all. I don't know their other music, if they made other music, but this song made me feel a little bit lonely, but this song also made me want to dance slow with my pals.

This rhythm let me think of a jazzy motive in a classical music sphere. I like that very much. Can you imagine yourself dancing on the dance floor with your hubby? Slow and fast? This is the ultimate song for that.

Joy To The World - Bing Crosby, Nat King Cole, Dean Martin

The original words are by Isaac Watts. This song is mostly sang in the United States of America. It's a very popular song. This song was originally written in 1719. It was based on Psalm 98, 96:11–12 and Genesis 3:17–18.

I love this song very much as it brings so much joy with it. The bright melody will express my gratitude for what I got this year, and not what got wrong last year.

The change of keynote makes this song more festive and this song made it also very joyful as well.

Jingle Bells - Frank Sinatra

Who doesn't know Frank Sinatra? This is a very old record. I kind of like an old record. That brings nostalgic into my imagination. How did they celebrate Christmas back then? Ho did all the festivities looked like?

This record of Jingle Bells is very slow and very restful for my state of mind. This song is from the United States of America, and it was written by composer James Lord Pierpont. This song is published under the title "One Horse Open Sleigh" in 1857.

There are so many versions of the song. And it is an internationally well-known song, and there are so many transcriptions going on.

It's Not Christmas Without You - Katharine McPhee

I never heard Katharine McPhee before putting together my Christmas playlist. Searching for great Christmas songs, I heard her singing, and I was flabbergasted about her beautiful soft and yet powerful voice. I love that.

This is a pop related Christmas song that tells the story about that it is not a Christmas without one another and a dream coming true.

playlist
2

About the Creator

Agnes Laurens

Agnes Laurens is a writer. She writes for the local newspaper. Agnes lives with her daughters. Writing is, like playing the violin, her passion. She writes about anything that crosses her mind. Follow her on Medium.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.