Beat logo

My Bridal March

All My Life

By allthingsahabiPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like

I can remember the sound waves floating from our hi-fi stystem. This was in the 90's and I simply froze, transfixed at the difference in this ballad emitting from from the speakers. My mother must have felt the same reaction when she jumped stating "increase the volume... who is this?' She was captivated by the words; I was moved by the beat.

The composition and arrangement of the lyrics touched our souls and we all agreed by the end of it that it was a pretty awesome song. All my life by Kci and JoJo. The song was played so much on air with people requesting it multiple times that after probably two weeks of popularity, the lyrics were printed in the entertainment section of the Sunday newspaper. In our neighbourhood, people of all ages were singing it. It was a conversation starter on the playground, it was played on public transport, in pubs and cafe's; this song for a few weeks was everywhere.  

For someone who had never believed in true love or fairy tales this song gripped me and soon became my favourite song. The way the beats change from the beginning to the end makes it memorable and near perfect. All the instruments featured make it a love song that will truly transcend time. The video is just as moving as the song itself.

Fast forward 12 years later, a month from getting married I wanted to have something personal in the wedding programme as a personal message to my hubby. I asked for the lyrics to be printed since he is hard of hearing as he can only hear the beats to most songs and not the words. The words were very personal and after convincing the Priest who was going to marry us of the importance of the message, we both agreed that it was the perfect expression of our love. 

I was a happy bride, smiling and pinching myself wondering if this was really happening. The heat of the African sun felt like a supernatural warmth to my entire being as I walked down the isle. The song started playing and I matched along hand in hand with my darling mother singing it with all my friends and family joining in to the arms of the man who opened my heart to love.

February 2020 we celebrated our 11th wedding anniversary and the last 11 years this song has been my husband's ring tone. He mostly works from home and as a businessman one can only imagine the number of times his phone rings and that tune plays daily. Ours is a love that has evolved and grows so strong and we have this 'daily reminder' of the moment before we became one. 

Allthingsahabi Love

By Irene

humanity
Like

About the Creator

allthingsahabi

I never thought that my experiences woud encourage or inspire anyone until i started looking back at everything i have endured and realised that love has carried me through the most horrific and amazing experinces any human can endure.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.