Beat logo

My Big Dream

Please and Thank you

By Tim Ellerbe IIPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

If you have been following me here for any amount of time, you already know I am a creative person. Whether that be through music, fiction writing or true life stories, this is me. I thank you for all of your support from the heart. Since Covid started, I have been struggling a bit with my life’s path.

Most of what I do and where I feel I make the most difference is through my music. In better times, I have been a touring musician as well as a composer on the Insight Timer meditation app.

During 2020, most of that came to a halt. I had two tours set up for the year. They were both high profile and would have caused a huge surge in my professional career. The lockdown pretty much sent me into the musical stone age. As a performer I was on house arrest, and that was not where I needed to be if I were going to continue on an upward trajectory. Needless to say, my income disappeared with no foreseeable resolution. Like many other musicians I know, things looked bleak.

I did receive some unemployment payments that were set up for gig workers and two stimulus checks. Most of that went to bills and to make ends continue to meet. Unfortunately I had to part with nearly all of my music gear. Even if things were to go back to normal, I would be unable to return to playing for a time while I gained access to a reliable performance instrument.

Some pieces I will never see again, or will likely not be able to afford again because private sellers upped the prices for vintage gear beyond reach since the pandemic started. Before it started I owned keyboards from Roland, Korg and Casio and even a vintage Yamaha DX7 with all of the memory cartridges. The last two years have been difficult in more ways than one. Some days, the things I lost don’t matter and some days, it really bothers me. As a composer, I relied on several things to gain inspiration and unique sounds were one of them, especially when composing Meditation music. My listeners can be sticklers for authenticity. I respect that and as such I want to give my best in crafting every composition. That requires the right tools, or in this instance, the right tool.

I was in my local Guitar Center not too long ago (sigh) and they had a compact Korg WaveState synthesizer on display that I immediately fell in love with. There wasn’t anything aesthetically or inherently awesome about it. It has maybe 37 keys and can fit in a nice sized backpack. But the sound of it and certain of its other features are exactly what I could use to continue to make the music I have fallen in love with, and that my listeners have come to enjoy. And it would also be easy to transport whenever I get hired for future gigs.

I have added a link to one of my past composition videos so everyone can get an idea of the style of music I write. I will also add one for the unit itself so you may hear what drew me to it.

I know this might be a lot to ask, but I thought I would take a chance. I still believe in miracles and with it being the holiday season, perhaps one of those miracles will come my way.

If you or anyone you know would be willing to either donate a used version of the Wavestate or contribute to my personal CashApp so I could afford one, I would be most grateful. A new one is not necessary. A used one operates the same way. I would put it to great use, and for anyone who does help, I would like to say thank you in advance.

If you or anyone you know can help, my email is [email protected] and my cashapp is $TELLERB. Thank you all again in advance. Happy Holidays to everyone and may your life be filled with Blessings!

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Tim Ellerbe II

I am a Musician, Author and Artist. Find out more on my website timellerbe.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.