Beat logo

My 25 Favourite Albums of All Time

A Special List

By Annie KapurPublished 3 years ago 11 min read
2
My 25 Favourite Albums of All Time
Photo by Mink Mingle on Unsplash

As my 25th birthday is coming up, I would like to share a very special list with you which includes my 25 favourite albums of all time. It's my 25th birthday on the 25th today and I want to share 25 things with you - that makes sense, right? Good.

So without further introduction, let us move on to my favourite albums of all time.

My 25 Favourite Albums of All Time

25. Innuendo by Queen

In my opinion, this is the best Queen album because of the fact it has some of the most powerful Queen songs. "The Show Must Go On", "Innuendo", "These Are the Days of Our Lives" and many more display the incredible talent of vocalist Freddie Mercury. But, it was always be the fact that my favourite Queen song of all time is on this album - "I'm Going Slightly Mad".

24. History by Michael Jackson

The History Album is considered to be Michael Jackson's fight back against the brutally false allegations that were put against him. Songs like "D.S", "Tabloid Junkie", "Money" and "Scream" have been considered to be amongst his most anger-driven songs. The vocals on this album are incredible, ranging from these songs all the way to softer, more soulful vocals on "You Are Not Alone", "Childhood" and the dark and troubling "Little Susie" - one of Michael Jackson's greatest albums ever.

23. The Very Best of Jazz

A compilation album of various songs by various artists including Louis Armstrong, Ella Fitzgerald, Fred Astaire, Billie Holiday, Frank Sinatra, Ray Charles, Nat King Cole, Louis Prima, Nina Simone and even Marilyn Monroe - yes, an album that good actually exists. This is a compilation of some of the greatest jazz hits and that's only the beginning.

22. Grace by Jeff Buckley

If it were not for Jeff Buckley, commercial folk in the late 20th century probably wouldn't have taken off the way it did. A visionary, a vocalist, a guitarist, a lyricist and a brilliantly talented human being - "Grace" is the defining album of successful folk rock with his cover of Leonard Cohen's "Hallelujah" being one of the most famous tracks from the album. But the song "I Want Someone Badly" has to be my personal favourite - displaying his awesome vocal power.

21. The Wall by Pink Floyd

My father introduced me to "The Wall" when I was very young and honestly, I totally adore every song on the album with 'mother' probably being my favourite because of its incredible style. The way that song is written alone puts this album on the list of the greatest albums for me. Honestly, this album played a great part in my attitude towards formal education growing up - teaching me that it was not in everyone's best interests at all.

20. Bill Haley's Greatest Hits

I don't think a day goes by without me listening to a Bill Haley song. One of my favourite singers of all time, I love the beats and the music, I love his voice and the lyrics are all a lot of fun. They are great songs to get you up when you're down. Songs like "R-O-C-K", "Dim, Dim the Lights", "Razzle Dazzle", "Where Did You Go Last Night?", "Birth of the Boogie" and "Crazy Man Crazy" are just some of the songs I adore by Bill Haley. Pure brilliance.

19. The Very Best of Creedence Clearwater Revival

When it comes to bands, there are not a lot of bands I love as much as I love CCR. CCR are the band of southern blues, rock and soul. Songs such as "It Came Out of the Sky", "Have You Ever Seen the Rain?", "Born on the Bayou", "Bad Moon Rising", "Proud Mary" and "Fortunate Son" are just some of the greats on this album that you must listen to.

18. Tanx by T.Rex

The legend that was Marc Bolan created an album that would possibly change the world of Glam Rock forever - that album was "Tanx". With songs such as "20th Century Boy", "Tenement Lady" and of course, the anthem that is "Children of the Revolution" - Bolan rocks the world of music with his incredible vocals, his edgy guitar talent and his brilliance in lyricism. Something unheard of in the world of Glam Rock.

17. The Very Best of Dion and the Belmonts

There's something about Dion and the Belmonts that never fails to amaze me and that is probably Dion's amazing singing. To this day, his voice has remained so strong and he is possibly in his 80s now. Songs such as "Runaround Sue", "A Teenager in Love", "The Wanderer", "Lonely Teenager", "I Wonder Why" and "Ruby Baby" are just some of the amazements on this album to explore - including their great cover of "Fly Me to the Moon".

16. The White Album by The Beatles

My favourite Beatles album, this is the one that has that weird side to it with "Revolution 9". But the songs "While My Guitar Gently Weeps", "Helter Skelter" and my favourite Beatles song "Happiness is a Warm Gun" are all on this album and are all absolute hits. The greatest selling band of all time create an amazing and totally different album from their catalogue just before they disband forever.

15. The Essential Billie Holiday: The Columbia Years

Billie Holiday is my favourite female singer of all time. Her voice was just incredible and this album compiles her greatest songs. Songs such as "Strange Fruit", "What a Little Moonlight Can Do", "Summertime", "Them There Eyes", "The Man I Love" and my personal favourite song - "I Cover the Waterfront" are all here. Just listen to her emotional, powerful and soulful voice pour out these incredible numbers and you'll see why I love her so.

14. Invincible by Michael Jackson

A highly underrated album, this one was kind of pushed aside when it was released for some reason. I remember buying this album on CD - I adored it from the beginning and thought that it would really change the way we see pop music. With incredible, emotional numbers that showed off Michael Jackson's voice for soul including "Whatever Happens", "Speechless", "Butterflies" and the amazing "Break of Dawn" alongside the anger songs which Michael Jackson wrote as an attack on the media such as "Privacy" and "Threatened". But, my favourite Michael Jackson song is on this album too - "You Rock My World".

13. Purple Rain by Prince and the Revolution

Did you think that this wasn't going to be on the list? "Purple Rain" is arguably one of the most important albums in rock history. With songs such as the title track, "Darling Nikki", "When Doves Cry" and "Computer Blue" - you really cannot find a bad track on the whole thing - but then again it's very difficult to find a bad song by Prince in general.

12. BD Music Presents The Andrews Sisters

If you wanted an amazing compilation of some of the best tracks by the Andrews Sisters, then here it is. Songs include: "Pistol Packin' Mama [Ft. Bing Crosby]", "Well Alright", "Oh Johnny", "Boogie Woogie Bugle Boy", "Hold Tight", "The Jumping Jive" and my personal favourite, their rendition of "Alexander's Ragtime Band". The Andrews Sisters are my favourite all-female group ever and they have had such an incredible influence over my music tastes over the years.

11. Street-Legal by Bob Dylan

My third favourite album by Bob Dylan, it is a classic of blending folk rock with this strange, dark exotic sound. Different to Dylan's usual requests, it also displays some of his best vocals of the decade including the songs "The Changing of the Guards", "Señor", "No Time to Think" and "Is Your Love in Vain?". I basically take this album as a slap in the face to anyone who said that Bob Dylan can't sing. His voice is packed full of soul.

10. Electric Warrior by T.Rex

The songs "Get it On" and "Hot Love" basically put this album here because both of them showcase how Marc Bolan was influenced by the decades before him to invent and innovate when it comes to music. Songs like "Lean Woman Blues" and "Cosmic Dancer" have had a profound impact on the way Glam Rock developed through the years. I guess we must thank Marc Bolan for that.

9. Love And Theft by Bob Dylan

Not only does this album include my favourite song of all time, "Mississippi", but it includes some of Bob Dylan's best work of the 21st century. Songs such as "High Water", "Cry a While", "Lonesome Day Blues", "Sugar Baby" and many more display Bob Dylan's return to form after a break. Blended between the blues, folk rock and the requirement to innovate, it pushes Bob Dylan forwards into the new century leading up to "Rough and Rowdy Ways" which will be released almost twenty years later.

8. Sam Cooke: Portrait of a Legend

Not a lot of people can convince me there is a better vocalist than Sam Cooke in all of human history. The soul of this man's voice should be illegal that's how good it is. One of the greatest singers ever, this album includes: "Just For You", "Bring it on Home to Me" and obviously, the brilliant "A Change is Gonna Come". I'm not going to lie - I have listened to every Sam Cooke song released and there is not a single one I would say is 'bad'. They are all amazing and it's all because of that voice of his.

7. BD Music Presents Frank Sinatra

Remember when I said the soulfulness that some of these people have in their voices should be illegal? Well that includes Frank Sinatra. The kind of power Frank Sinatra can produce from his singing voice was astounding. He could move the whole room. My favourite Sinatra song - "Birth of the Blues" is on here as are many, many others that I recommend you listen to. There is nothing like listening to Sinatra on an evening whilst enjoying a warm drink.

6. To Love Somebody by Nina Simone

Nina Simone is one of the greatest vocalists of all time. Her covers of Bob Dylan songs being amongst some of her best. Including her brilliant anthem "Revolution" and her cover of "Suzanne" by Leonard Cohen as well - this is an album has to be at a high position on the list. I don't know what I would do without it. That voice and that piano is all she needs to create an amazing atmosphere, to move the entire world and create some drastic changes.

5. The Very Best of Bobby Vee

If you know me, then you know how much I adore Bobby Vee. This album is a compilation of his greatest songs, covers and solidifies that he had one of the best voices in rock/pop ever. Including the great song "The Night Has a Thousand Eyes" and his covers of Buddy Holly songs, this album really does pull together his brilliant career quite nicely. To this day, I have to say that I still miss him. I remember his death was a big blow to me.

4. Buddy Holly Lives

20 great songs normally referred to as "Buddy Holly Lives", this album is a brilliant compilation of Buddy Holly's greatest songs even though more frequently, I do listen to the more variant BD Music Presents Buddy Holly. I would say that this album basically ties together why Buddy Holly was so great. Songs such as "Peggy Sue", "Not Fade Away", "It Doesn't Matter", "Rave On" and his amazing cover of "Brown Eyed Handsome Man" means that you will get so much out of this album.

3. BD Music Presents Elvis Presley

My father raised me on Elvis so, as I grew up, he became one of my favourite singers that I would always listen to. The album BD Music Presents Elvis Presley has made such an impact on me. My favourite Elvis song "King Creole" is on here along with "GI Blues", "Too Much", "Hound Dog", "I Got Stung" and "I Gotta Know" and they are all amazing. It's just an incredible album filled with all of Elvis's talent and greatness. I guess I was raised on rock.

2. Infidels by Bob Dylan

Don't look so shocked. "Infidels" is an album I have listened to so many times that I think I remember every word on every track on the album in order. However, it also displays some great vocal talent from Bob Dylan. With the song "Man of Peace" being a fast-paced almost rock song and "Don't Fall Apart on Me Tonight" being a more classic romantic soul song, this is Bob Dylan at his vocally strong.

1. Dangerous by Michael Jackson

My favourite album of all time is "Dangerous" by Michael Jackson because there are so many different types of songs on it. "Heal the World" and its soulful mercy, "Dangerous" and its tension, "Jam" and its power, "Why You Wanna Trip on Me" and its anger, "She Drives Me Wild" though has to be my favourite song on the whole album. There's even gospel on this thing with "Keep the Faith" and "Will You Be There?" - so you know it's a great album.

list
2

About the Creator

Annie Kapur

190K+ Reads on Vocal.

English Lecturer

🎓Literature & Writing (B.A)

🎓Film & Writing (M.A)

🎓Secondary English Education (PgDipEd)

📍Birmingham, UK

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.