Beat logo

My 2020 Replay

My top songs for 2020

By Alex BonillaPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like

While 2020 has been a trying time for the majority of the world. The pandemic turned 2020 into a dumpster fire, but honestly, for me, it's been one of the luckiest years of my life.

I got my first job in my career field.

I'm wrapping up my MBA in the upcoming month.

I know all the extroverts out there will shudder, but I've truly enjoyed the little face to face contact with people. I highly appreciate all those that have delivered my orders to my front door, send a text that it's outside and then drive off.

Fortunately, I have the luxury of staying home, but I could never thank hospital workers, restaurants, delivery drivers enough for the hard work they have put in this year.

With that in mind, while the world is hard at work and making it through difficult times, I think everyone can agree music is one of the best forms of therapy. Through my best and worst days this year, music has always had my back.

Here are my top 10 songs that have gotten me through 2020.

From The Seeds By Mone Kamishiraishi

This song came in as my most listened to on Spotify. The only surprise I had was I listened to it more than 100 times since March. I've also mentioned this song in a previous article for music that keeps me focus. I'll throw the link for that below for my top 10 songs to Study to.

In the summer of 2019, I picked up an electric guitar and began practicing every day to play music like this. While I still have a long way to go before I can consider myself a "good" guitar player, all year, this song has kept me motivated to what I would like to play in the future.

Put It Straight – Nightmare Version By (G)Idle

As my first introduction to K-pop girl groups. (G)Idle is one of the most unique groups currently in the genre. This version of Put it Straight popped up on their artist radio one day when cleaning. I immediately stopped what I was doing to sit down and listen.

Due to my sometimes obsessive personality, my next stop was to compare the original, translate the lyrics, check for live performance videos than last the history for the version. As I fell into the rabbit hole consisting of hours of (G)Idle content and coming to the conclusion that the group's leader, Soyeon, is nothing short of genius. I had no choice but to stan. I welcome you to come to join Nevie's after listening to this song.

Besalo By El Alfa Ft. Rauw Alejandro

Leading up to the end of last year, Rauw Alejandro's voice has grown on me. The songs "Que Le De" and "El Efecto" were on my Spotify list for most listened songs last year, and with his first full-length album Afrodisiaco released last month, it's safe to say he'll be on my top list next year as well.

Coming back to the song, I recommend listening with headphones with a bass boost. The light, breathy notes of flute with deep bass adds a contradiction of sounds that speak volumes on the song's production. Usually, I'm not a fan of El Alfa's music, but there's always an exception somewhere.

Haruhayuku (the late spring version) by Aimer

Very easily, I could've made every song on this list an Aimer song. Since August, I've been streaming her discography just about every day on Tidal. In mid-January, I will be posting an artist profile on Aimer; stay tuned for that to learn why I am so obsessed.

Haruhayuku, roughly translating to Spring passes on, was used as the third movie's closing song in the Fate/Stay night Heaven's Feel series. The last spring version is a stripped-down version with the piano and cello as the only backing. Without the drums, guitar, and other backing vocals, the song takes on a more in-depth and saddened tone. After the first time listening, I was in tears by the end.

The best artists can invoke any emotion through their music. My Japanese knowledge is minimal, but through Aimer's music, I feel like I could understand every word.

Starry Night By Mamamoo

Like (G)Idle, I admit I've spent an unhealthy amount of time-consuming Mamamoo content. The number of compilation videos of these four girls acting a mess gives me almost as much as this song. Of their Yellow Flower mini album in 2018, this meshes Kpop and Latin music.

The pairing of the voices with the calming melody presents a perfect combination, effectively communicating the feelings of looking out into the abyss after a heartbreak.

Roller Coaster By ChungHa

Can I see a show of hands of anyone that knows of a singer that consistently outdances their back up, dancers? Add Chungha to that list and check out her videos. I was 2 years late to the party for Roller Coaster, but that didn't stop me from blasting this song and trying to sing in Korean like it came out yesterday.

I try to sing and continuously fail, and by the time the song is over, I feel like I just drank a cup of coffee, and I am fired up.

Coffee By Tori Kelly

Any song sung by Tori Kelly is incredible. I've always been a fan, but I was reintroduced to listening to Tori daily this year. Her Quarentea segments on IG live gave me life. All she needed was her acoustic guitar, and magic happens.

This year, I decided to sign up to Tidal for research for a graduate class. I meant to only keep it for a month, and it's been 11. Tori Kelly's album "inspired by True Events" has Coffee in it's Mastered version. With my headphones on, the opening line of the album "I envy the cup of coffee that kisses you every morning.,' I'm transported and wholly immersed within the song.

25/8 By Bad Bunny

Blessing us with three full-length albums this year, it would be impossible not to include Bad Bunny on this list. While his music takes up the majority of my top songs for the year. 25/8, in my opinion, resembles one of his old songs Chambea. Heavy bass, no-nonsense lyrics, and Bad Bunny's voice are all you need for a perfect Trap Reggaeton song.

While Bad Bunny was amassing billions of streams this year, I can proudly admit at least 1k came directly from me.

Rojo By J Balvin

The simplicity and catchiness of this song speak volumes. While it's simple, the song is clear about two people and their need to be with one another. This, combined with the music video, brings me close to tears every time.

Sour Candy By Lady Gaga Ft BLACKPINK

I've never been a huge Lady Gaga fan. In fact, the only song of hers I listen to is this one. This year, as a newly born Kpop fan, I stumbled upon this song going through BLACKPINK's discography. Listening, I'm transported into a club, and I'm looking at my ideal type. It pains me to admit, the Sour Candy type is the one that always trips me up. Every time I listen, I feel like the lyrics are speaking to my soul. I'm perfectly okay with that.

With 2020, ending I have no doubt I'll continue listening to all of these songs through 2021 as well. Another year is done; while the year wasn't amazing, I'm thankful to all the artists that put out some of their best works this year. Through the ups and the downs, I know that I can always turn on music and escape the world for just a moment.

As promised earlier Check out my playlist for Music to focus to below. You might find your new favorite song for 2021!

song reviews
Like

About the Creator

Alex Bonilla

Work in tech but spend all my time thinking about anime and music.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.