Beat logo

Musical Digest: Olivia Lunny "Think of Me"

A Song of Prophetic Significance + Wonder

By Paulina PachelPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
2

A lot of skeptics underestimate the power of thought; perhaps because if it's intrinsic and hidden from the rest of the world, it's save from being spoken into existence.

Here's where these skeptics would be wrong. Putting something out into the universe does not have to be outwardly, tangible or even spoken.

Because the planting of the seed begins with music which conjures up a thought that can evoke a deeper emotion, one that can either allow us to heal or swallow us whole.

It's a real red pill versus the blue pill situation...so choose wisely.

This digest is going to dive into the lyrics of "Think of Me" which is an indie pop ballad by Canadian native, Olivia Lunny. Lunny's process was cathartic.

"I wrote this song with Tyler Shaw and AJ Healey. It's a song about a recent break up which oftentimes makes you wonder if that certain someone is thinking of you, because they're on your mind all the time. It's relatable to almost anybody; the lyrics were very honest and captured what I was going through."

Like many ballads, this one tells a narrative. Some ballads take their listeners on a very vivid trip down memory lane and others are just short snippets, a reel of 5 to 10 second visual clips, in memoriam of some grand life event we recall. This narrative starts at the epicenter of "running into your ex" and being pulled into this nostalgic state of mind.

To me, this song bears prophetic significance. It begins with the quintessential question.

Do you think of me?

We're at the same place at the same time

Do you see me?

I hope you do

I wanna ask about your new place

But I won't cuz I got everything to lose

Every time I close my eyes

A picture runs on a Friday night

I remember our last summer...

Now I wonder, do you think of me?

The first verse paints a picture of a set up in which one former lover runs into the other in public by accident. While their presence may seem omnipresent, they secretly hope to be spotted...even for the single purpose of having an excuse to come over, say hi, mingle and make small talk.

But, as exhilarating of a proposal as the thought is, it's not going to end well. The split has already happened, both parties know deep down that they should move on.

It's a tough thing to admit when the physical attraction is strong coupled with all the good memories a person brought into our lives, but bears a putrid odor of heart break and regret.

The sparks are long gone and the chemistry has evaporated into thin air...we can't help but think if our former lover still has feelings, have they moved on, or are they still caught up on all those great memories.

This is where the hook kicks up the tempo with a swirling rush of emotion.

Do you think of me

When you're with somebody else?

When you're drinking by yourself? Tell me that you do

Do you think of me?

When you're driving home at night?

And something don't feel right?

Tell me that you do

'Cause I think of you 2x

Earlier as I mentioned that the song has prophetic experience, I truly believe it appeared as an omen...the brighter kind. It's relatable and tugs at very sensitive heart strings. It doesn't matter how many times a break up occurs, moving on takes a ton of time during which the mind is overwhelmed by a rollercoaster of emotions.

The person we're used to seeing and talking to daily is no longer physically present. Some people have even compared a break up to a fatal loss of a loved one.

Some have even wondered if it's possible to resent someone after putting in all this time and effort into a relationship. That feeling of "driving home at night where something don't feel right" resonates so well because it's equivalent to playing a reel of happy images, then noticing a scratch on it.

This can make us upset because suddenly moments of bliss are sprinkled with bits of melancholic truth.

Yes indeed, something does not feel right because I do think of you.

The last verse puts the nostalgic blues to rest.

I hope that I can be this honest

If you tell me you're at ease

I guess I'll learn to love the seasons

If I don't then I'll be broken

it's bittersweet

I remember our last summer...

now I wonder

Do you think of me?

{Hook}

Last summer we were lovers

Made one mistake, lost each other

{Hook}

This verse wraps up the entirety of the song gracefully on a c'est la vie note because people are like the seasons. Seasons change, they come and go and so do people. We all cross paths for a reason or a season.

All in all, the question of "do you think of me" will pick at our core until we come to terms that they don't. There are reminiscent traces trickled down the prelude, followed by a moment of regret...

Overall, the song is a tribute to a post-break up situation reminding us that moving on is healthy, we have to "learn to love the seasons" because otherwise we'll be in for a rude awakening.

A person will always leave a mark on us...like that annoying VHS tape that lingers around your house.

Quit checking for updates to see if he or she has texted you back yet and tune in to the track below for a bit of daydreaming.

song reviews
2

About the Creator

Paulina Pachel

I am an intricate mix of flavors and you'll get a taste of them through my writing pieces; versatility and vulnerability go together like a fresh-baked croissant+coffee.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Test4 months ago

    What a beautifully articulated analysis of Olivia Lunny's song "Think of Me." Your words truly unravel the intricate emotions woven within the lyrics, capturing the essence of heartbreak, nostalgia, and the bittersweet process of moving on. Brilliantly expressed!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.