Beat logo

Musical Alphabet Letter I

Song with titles beginning with the letter I

By Rasma RaistersPublished 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 3 min read
1

“(I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction” by The Rolling Stones became the song that every garage band just had to play if they were going to be successful. In the 1970s it was a standard at every high school dance I went to. The song was written by band members Mick Jagger and Keith Richards and recorded by the English rock band The Rolling Stones. It is featured on their 1965 album Out of Our Heads and became their first number one hit in the US. Rolling Stone magazine has it on their list of The Greatest Songs of All Time and it was inducted into the Grammy Hall of Fame in 1998. The Library of Congress has added the song to the National Recording Registry.

“(I’m Not Your) Stepping Stone” by The Monkees is a lively song with a great beat. I remember dancing many of the popular dances in the 1970s to this song. It includes the great lead vocal voice of band member Mickey Dolenz. The song was written by Tommy Boyce and Bobby Hart and recorded by the English band The Liverpool Five in 1966. It became a hit and became well-known when it was recorded by the American pop-rock band The Monkees and is featured on their album More of The Monkees. It charted on the Billboard Hot 100 and is included in several episodes of The Monkees TV show.

“I Just Saw a Face” by The Beatles is among my favorite songs by this band. It is the one song that brings me memories of when I met my soul mate and husband. The song is credited to Lennon-McCartney and was recorded by the English rock band The Beatles in 1965. It is on their album Rubber Soul and a lively love ballad. This is among the first Beatles' songs that McCartney played live with his band The Wings.

“I Believe In Music” by Mac Davis to me was a song that sort of grew on me and I liked it even more every time I heard it on the radio. It was written and recorded by American singer, songwriter, and actor Mac Davis. The song is featured on his album of the same name. It charted on both the Billboard Hot 100 and Cash Box charts. The song became Davis' signature song and an iconic anthem of the early 1970s.

“I Can’t Stop Loving You” by Ray Charles is an incredibly lovely and passionate love song. I love the oriuginal version best but there are other versions that are worth listening to. The song was written by American country singer, songwriter, and musician Don Gibson in 1957. In 1962 American singer, songwriter, and pianist Ray Charles recorded it and it rose to number one on the Billboard Hot 100, the R&B, and Adult Contemporary charts. Charles' version also made it to number one on the UK Singles chart. The song is on Rolling Stone magazines list of The 500 Greatest Songs of All Time. At the 1963 Grammy Awards the singer won the Grammy for Best Rhythm and Blues Recording. This version is featured in the 2001 film “Metropolis”.

“I Get Around” by The Beach Boys is just one of those songs you cannot sit still too and I always had to get up and dance when I heard it. The song was written by band members Brian Wilson and Mike Love and recorded by the American rock band The Beach Boys. It became one of the biggest hits in the US since the British Invasion and a chart-topper for The Beach Boys. In July 1964 The Beach Boys released the album All Summer Long with this song as the opening track and it is included on the live album Beach Boys Concert. In 2017 it was inducted into the Grammy Hall of Fame.

“I Made It Through the Rain” by Barry Manilow is a beautiful song that reminds me of many poignant moments in my life. American singer and songwriter Barry Manilow recorded the song in 1979 and it is on his album Barry. The song was written by Gerard Kenny and Drey Sheppard. It charted on the Billboard Hot 100 and Adult Contemporary charts.

“I Am I Said” by Neil Diamond is among my favorite Diamond songs particularly that the song lyrics mention my hometown of NYC. The song was written and recorded by American singer and songwriter Neil Diamond in 1971. It charted on the US and UK Pop Singles charts. The song was inspired by Diamond's travels between New York City and Los Angeles, California.

https://vocal.media/beat/musical-alphabet-letter-a

https://vocal.media/beat/musical-alphabet-letter-b

https://vocal.media/beat/musical-alphabet-letter-c

https://vocal.media/beat/musical-alphabet-letter-d

https://vocal.media/beat/musical-alphabet-letter-e?utm

https://vocal.media/beat/musical-alphabet-letter-f?utm

https://vocal.media/beat/musical-alphabet-letter-g?utm

https://vocal.media/beat/musical-alphabet-letter-h?utm

60s music
1

About the Creator

Rasma Raisters

My passions are writing and creating poetry. I write for several sites online and have four themed blogs on Wordpress. Please follow me on Twitter.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Fiery Trippers | Travel Tips9 months ago

    nice

  • Natalia Grin9 months ago

    Love it! Beautifully done, Rasma.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.