Beat logo

Music Lover

Music talks directly to my Soul

By Colleen Millsteed Published 2 years ago 3 min read
10
Music Lover
Photo by Simon Noh on Unsplash

My absolute favourite past time has always been to dance and to dance, I need music. This is where my love of music began.

At first it was children's rhymes and knee jerking movements that can never be replicated, but when I danced I was on top of the world.

Next came ballet and the joy of a more classical music style, followed by tap dancing and my real discovery of a good musical beat.

As I grew older, I moved on to the waltz but only on rare occasions, such as a family members wedding or birthday celebrations.

The best years were to follow, as I became old enough to go clubbing. Dancing every night of the week. It was pure heaven getting to dance with the likes of Michael Jackson's Thriller, Meatloaf's Bat Out of Hell, Bruce Springsteen's Dancing in the Dark and Wham's Wake Me Up Before You Go-Go.

But my all time favourite band, for as long as I can remember, are The Angels. Not a bad song to be found. Doc Neeson and the Brewster Brothers never disappointed. It was a sad day the world lost Doc.

I have attended most of The Angels Australian Concerts, travelling from city to city to see them. I’ve also attended two Concerts they have performed since Doc left this plane. They can still put on a good show, although there’s no replacement lead singer that could ever successfully replace Doc.

From there I moved on to AC/DC, David Bowie, Toni Childs, Suzanne Vega Guns n Roses and Alice Cooper.

As more years flew past, I added in Keith Urban, Poison, Chris Isaac, Shania Twain, Johnny Reid, Party Boys and Black Eyed Peas.

When Australian Duo, Savage Garden released their album, I happily listened to it over and over again, dancing around the lounge room and bopping away in the car. 

My next addition, and a band I'm totally obsessed with, an a cappella band, Home Free. I was lucky enough to see these guys live in January 2020. Two months prior to the borders slamming shut. A concert I will forever remember.

Following my Home Free obsession, I moved to the other extreme and took up Swing dancing. Dancing to the fast beats of yesteryear.

I enjoy dancing as my daily exercise. It’s a great cardio workout. I play the Nintendo Wii as I have the Michael Jackson Dancing Wii game. I know most of MJ’s songs by heart and due to playing the Wii, I now know all of MJ’s moves to his most popular songs. A great way to enjoy your daily exercise routine.

Lastly, today I get to add a new fantastic discovery and it was referred to me by fellow author.

The new addition to my favourites list is, Fionnuala Gill. In fact this is the suggested song that now has me hooked. Thanks J. Love your taste in music.

Let me know your thoughts on this beautiful piece.

Now all I need is for Australia's international borders to re-open so I can attend the Bat Out of Hell's theatre production, Keith Urban in concert and the long awaited Guns n Roses concert. 

Tickets I've been holding on to for almost two years. 

Hopefully there won't be any more date re-schedules as I'm in need of a good music concert.

**********************************************************************

If you liked my writing, please click on the small heart underneath, near my name. Or send me a tip and let me know you enjoyed it.

****

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

playlist
10

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 years ago

    I enjoyed reading this

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.