Beat logo

Music I got into in 2020

I was all over the place this year but who wasn't. It made me look into different genres that I would never have thought I would.

By Brian AnonymousPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2

2020 came in with so much hope and anticipation. I was thinking it was my year to work on so many things and in a way it was. There were some hills and valleys along the way and this is why my journey into music was quite odd. When you have time to yourself you start to venture off into things that you never thought you would. I'm glad I did because I don't think I would have ever checked out some of these artists.

The year started nice enough. Late last year I was in a horrific car accident that led me to the hospital. The beginning of this year started with my recovery. I started taking new medication to help me sleep. Suffering from a concussion I wasn't supposed to listen to music as often because it could cause concussion symptoms. The problem is that music used to be my everyday thing to listen to.

I would still listen to some break beats and house because I wanted to get back to dancing. My body was still recovering so I was having trouble getting my body to do anything. Still DJ mixes from Lean Rock and Fleg were just reminders of what I was like in the past and what I hoped to get back into.

Early spring started to hit and my body was starting to get better. Unfortunately the pandemic hit and then my girlfriend broke up with me. I felt alone and wasn't sure what path I was going to go into. At this time I kind of listened to more top 40's hits because I liked the familiar simple beats of the songs. Songs from Justin Bieber were actually quite relatable at the time. Then I kind of moved over to Harry Styles and was mesmerized by his Fine Line album. It went through the timeline of a relationship.

I soon after discovered an artist named Dojo Cat and her album Hot Pink. It was a nice getaway album. Melodic tunes that allow you to escape from reality. There were a number of artists that allowed me to get into this state of trance like Dua Lipa and then I hit upon an artist named Thundercat.

I started out with Thundercat's Apocalypse album and then found my way to the It Is What It Is album. His music was hypnotic. There is a sense of video game nostalgia and the funk I'm used to from my dance days. I was totally onto Thundercat's music for quite some time because it was both a sense of comfort and relaxation.

From there I started to get back into old school west coast funk. At times I would get back into G-Funk with George Clinton and the Parliaments. It was also music from Cameo, The Gapp Band and Ohio Players. I felt it was more of a time of getting back into training. I wanted to push myself back into getting my body back to what it was before. I had all of this free time it was time to get back to pushing myself.

A few friends later on noticed that I was really into old school R&B type of music. They know I like things a little more chill but still danceable. That's when they introduced me to an artist called Anderson .Paak. This guy's music kind of blew my mind because I didn't think that artists in this generation made music like this anymore.

Listening to Anderson .Paak led me to Childish Gambino and Mac Miller. I'm still listening to these artists in my playlist today. It's just such a chill vibe to listen to.

This year has been a hell of a ride and I'm just hoping I find as many different artists next year. Maybe I won't since next year is supposed to be the year we're supposed to get back to normal. Either way I'm okay with learning about new artists or getting back to the old normal as best I can. Who knows what's in store for us next year.

song reviews
2

About the Creator

Brian Anonymous

I have tons of opinions that change constantly. I watch a lot of movies and play video games. There are some articles on my struggles with languages and dance as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.