Beat logo

Music Heals The Soul

Let Music Be Your Healer

By Charmaine van der MerwePublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like
Image by Alice Moore

Music heals the soul

From the age of seven, I started dancing.

I danced at every opportunity I got. I did Tap, Modern, Ballroom and even Line Dancing.

Image by Tim Gouw

But what is dancing without music?

I have always turned to music and dancing in times where I felt down and in need of a pick me up.

There is one song that has kept me going this year through the heartache of moving away from my family and friends, the drought that killed many crops setting back so many farmers, heavy fires that left people and animals homeless and many a life lost, floods that washed away lives and took what many built up over years.

And then, just when we thought things could not get any harder, a virus shook the world and made us all afraid to leave home.

My anthem/song for 2020 has got to be Dance Monkey by Tones and I.

This song may not be the most appropriate in Lyrics but everyone deals differently and this song has played a big role in my life this year.

I’m sure you all have a song, that song that when it plays you cannot help yourself but sing to it, move a little or even dance.

A song that reaches deep into your soul as you listen to it pulling out all those negative feelings, easing your emotions and relaxing your mind.

A song that you are not able to control yourself to, you want to sing no matter where you find yourself and tap your foot to the beat.

Music has been proven to have a healing effect on our bodies and minds, and I truly believe that without music we would be lost.

Dance Monkey makes me feel good, makes me forget my troubles and for that short little time that I am listening I’m transported away from life’s negativity.

I feel all my tension leaving my body, and my mood begins to change.

A few years from now I picture myself driving in my car or siting in a restaurant and Dance Monkey will play, on this day I will be reminded of how hard the world was hit by natural disasters and disease.

I am really hoping and praying that that day will be a better one than what we faced in 2020.

The song will always be a reminder of what life was like in 2020 and how it helped me survive a very dark and narrow path.

It will be a reminder of all the firefighters that worked around the clock to save every living creature in the line of fire, and from drowning in the floods.

A reminder of all the medical workers that helped even though their lives were at risk to better each and every life that came through their doors.

The song has some words in it that stand out to me and i would like you to hear my thoughts on these words.

“oh my god, I see the way you shine” I feel the warmth of the sun shining over my body, making me feel safe and secure.

“Take your hand, my dear, and place them both in mine” I know that I have a husband that will hold me close in my darkest of times reassuring me that we will be ok, comforting me every step of the way.

Image by Josh Willink

“I see you” No matter how far apart I am from my family I still see them when I close my eyes and remember the great moments we had and will have in the future.

“I like your style” As long as we keep praying and believing we can do anything we put our minds to.

“You, you make me, make me, make me wanna cry” Thinking about my loved ones and all the precious moments spent together over Christmas, birthdays, and other social gatherings makes me want to cry as those moments I hold so dear.

“And now I beg to see you dance just one more time” You sometimes don’t know what you have until you no longer do, I really appreciate that we can now see one another via social platforms no matter where in the world we are, 16000km's or just around the corner.

There is nothing better than being able to see someone and not only hear them.

I want to remind you all that no matter where you find yourself there is always someone out there that will listen and be there for you, all you have to do is ask.

In times of crisis it is amazing to see how many people come together to assist those that really need it.

If you have had a hard time this year, I pray that you will feel some relief in the future and remember – You Not Alone

Recourses:

Images from Stocksnap.io

Photo by <a href="https://stocksnap.io/author/41721">Alice Moore</a> from <a href="https://stocksnap.io">StockSnap</a>

Photo by <a href="https://stocksnap.io/author/punttim">Tim Gouw</a> from <a href="https://stocksnap.io">StockSnap</a>

Photo by <a href="https://stocksnap.io/author/28599">Josh Willink</a> from <a href="https://stocksnap.io">StockSnap</a>

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Charmaine van der Merwe

I am a mother of 4, and soon to be a grandmother. Family is very important to me. I love sharing my life experiences with everyone, its a way for me to express myself.

I don't have a specific niche' and write about whatever is on my mind.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.