Beat logo

Music and Scenery

The drive from Seattle

By Don Anderson IIPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photo by Johan Bos from Pexels

Has there ever been a place you've been to and when you listen to a certain song, it just fits with the atmosphere of where you are?

If you have, you must have some awesome story behind while me on the other hand, I think I have at least two sad stories behind it and maybe one story where it wasn't sad but it wasn't happy either, I still had a good time that day though.

I think the best thing about listening to music when you go to a certain place is that there are moments that make it more memorable whether if it's something sad, happy, or even nostalgic.

I like it when music and wherever you match whatever song it is that you're listening to because it just makes the moments or whatever it is that you're witnessing worth much more to you, almost like the moment that's magical just becomes even more magical, you know? To the point, where you get goosebumps.

I haven't had any of that happen to me in a while because I'm in school right now and given the fact that I don't travel along with the fact that COVID-19 is around, I don't want to take any chances but it happened to me a lot when I was a little younger. I think the last time it happened was when I first moved after I graduated community college but I don't remember what songs I was listening to exactly, I just knew I was listening to music.

One memory that sticks out to me is back in 2013, I believe, I was 18 or 19 and I was trying to get into an acting agency so I can take my talents in front of the camera more but it was in Seattle and I had to go there to meet with them which was about an hour and maybe 10 minutes or longer if you don't beat the traffic but we were leaving Seattle around 6 or 7 PM and it was getting dark but it was a little lighter outside than how you see the sky in the picture by the title. My mom, stepdad, and I were on the way home and before we hit the freeway, we had to make our way through the city to find the nearest exit. I was listening to my iPod touch at the time and I was kind of finishing my recovery from getting duped by a gal that I liked. Chris Brown's "Don't Wake Me Up" was the song to listen to at the time but there was a part in the song that stuck out to me and it was the beginning when the guitar is playing on loop. Listening to that and knowing how I felt about the gal I liked at the time along with how things turned out and that I was leaving a nice city that I was in, it just felt like I was looking back on stuff and saying goodbye to my childhood while saying hello to adulthood.

I had many moments growing up where I realized that I was addicted to music but I guess that moment for me was almost crucial for me to realize that even though I'll get to see beautiful things, things for me were never going to be the same as I keep going on this road. Music always plays a part in what I do or what I witness especially with what I experience because I think that's when the moments are a lot stronger with music.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Don Anderson II

Movies, memoirs, music lover, graduate of community college, and university

Quiet writer but I'm sure my stories from years ago are still of interest

Tips are welcomed

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.