Beat logo

Music and Podcasting

Radio Host Comes Full Circle With The Invasion Podcast

By Vince SmithPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Vince Smith aka MotownVinnie, Host of The Invasion With MotownVinnie

I am a creative person. I have always been involved in projects and hobbies that have something to do with some kind of music or writing. I have been a musician and a singer/songwriter since I was seventeen years old. I played in rock and metal bands around the Detroit area for many years.

Up until around 2010, I had never really heard of podcasting. A friend of mine started a podcast that turned into a radio show on Bounce Radio. He then became partners in an internet radio station and took his show there, but he's always maintained his podcasting heritage and background. I caught the bug from him and started figuring out how to create my own.

I've been podcasting and doing live and pre-recorded radio shows for ten years now. My latest show, The Invasion With MotownVinnie is the most compact of them all. I have come full circle since I got into this field, as I started out with a 30 minute podcast called Rage Radio X in 2010, then moved to an hour long show. My show got picked up by his station, TapDetroit. At first it was live for two hours, then three hours... it kept expanding.

Ultimately, i was doing three hours of live radio twice a week in the morning. The show was called After The Rush. It was the only morning show on the station and had a pretty big listenership. After about a year, I had to give the morning show up when my hours changed at my real job in 2013. There was no openings for a show at night, so I left and partnered up with another station that did. Alien X Radio.

Since then, I did a two hour live show weekly called The Invasion With MotownVinnie (same name as my current podcast) for over a year. I then got together with my radio partner, Keith Samland to create Vinnie and the Alien, a wildly popular syndicated radio show. We did two hours of live radio weekly, featuring funny stories from the internet, comedy bits and more. Keith, aka Alienstone and I have a great chemistry together on the air. That show ran for almost three years before I stepped away from the show and the station in 2018.

I was going to retire from radio and get back into writing and recording music, but I got the itch to create my own station a couple of weeks later. KNOT FM, America's Rock Station was born. KNOT FM had a solid listener base and it was turning a very small profit. I was also making money doing voiceovers as well. I sold ads and voiceover work on Fiverr through the station and doing alright. It was on the air until recently, when I decided I just wanted to go back to podcasting.

My podcast, The Invasion With MotownVinnie is all about rock music and features a different theme every episode. So far, I have had almost six thousand listens and downloads over the sixty episodes that have been released. The show has been in the top 200 under music commentary on iTunes almost every week.

I like the convenience of being in control of my time as well as my advertising. Podcasting allows me to create when I feel like creating and the freedom to say and play whatever I want with no censorship. I use Anchor to host my podcast and they are great. They have the backing of being owned by Spotify which makes me feel better about them being around for the long term. Anchor is free to use as well, so it's a win-win.

I drop new episodes of The Invasion With MotownVinnie every Monday and Friday. You can listen at:

https://anchor.fm/vinvasion

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.