Beat logo

Movie Melodic Milestones

Take a nostalgic journey through my finest melodic memories of movie moments whilst growing up..

By Grz ColmPublished 11 months ago 5 min read
Top Story - June 2023
38

I have always seemed to live my life inextricably through the movies rather than any other tangible force, so a movie melodic milestone playlist of songs or musical moments from film seemed most appropriate to me for the recent challenge. I guess the music takes me back to those innocent times of yesteryear, but are also highly comforting to listen to (or watch the movies they’re from) NOW in the present. If I could, this list would be of about 30 songs from the movies. As it is - this small list are just some of those that were most memorable to me growing up and probably for some of you too!

1. “Magic Dance” by David Bowie From the movie “Labyrinth” (1986)

I fondly remember gathering around me ALL my teddies and stuffed toys on the couch (practically drowning in these) as “Labyrinth” was soon to start on T.V. I must have been about 7 or 8. Of course I’d seen the film prior a few years before on VHS when hiring from video stores, but I was a little odd and a sometimes isolated kid, so this was an EVENT. 🤣 I must have sat at that couch for about an hour before (I was so excited) waiting through boring news programs before it finally begun. “Magic Dance” by Bowie, not only captures the fun & kooky energy of the film but it’s as catchy as hell. I still sing it aloud (mostly in private) to this day! Enjoy! Although, if you watch to the end PLEASE don’t throw your babies in the air! Just saying. 😅

2. “Somewhere Out There” from “An American Tail” (1986) by Linda Ronstadt and James Ingram

This was one of (if not the very first film) I had seen at the drive end with family! “An American Tail” was surprisingly poignant and tense for a kids’ film, but a wonderful experience. I still remember it fondly (even if I haven’t watched it for 25 plus years). I viewed it enough as a youngster for it to make an impact. The main tune from the film is of course “Somewhere Out There” originally sung by the voice actors playing the the two sibling mice who became separated. If you never sang along or never shed a tear at the tune in THAT scene then you probably don’t have a soul, sorry! I’ve included the pop rendition from the soundtrack by Linda Ronstadt and James Ingram.

Sometimes, I like to put it on and think of those I’ve loved and lost to the other side - and that I’m still thinking of them..loving them… “no matter how far apart we are”. 🤗

3. “The NeverEnding Story” (1984) the title song from the original movie by Limahl.

Boy, these were simpler times, in some respects, weren’t they? And who didn’t love this film as a kid and get scarred by the horse Artax dying in the Swamp of Sadness? This electronic power ballad from the film is sublime. Everything about it is perfection - an 80s classic! The song is uplifting and inspiring - trust me it still plays very well today. I often crank it in the car (amongst some other classic film songs of the 80’s). Forget about your cares, jump aboard Falkor, and soar high above!

4. “Glory of Love” by Pete Cetera from “The Karate Kid part 2” (1986)

It’s the iconic song from Pete Cetera that plays at the end of “The Karate Kid Part 2”. Another power ballad - it was the 80s afterall. As a kid, I immediately loved this song (and the film). It’s the type of song that makes you feel like you can do anything and it beautifully captures the themes of the film. I forgot about this song for a little while, but after searching out the singer and some of his other memorable songs, I now frequently play it. ☺️

5. “Love is All Around” by “Wet Wet Wet” from “Four Weddings and a Funeral” (1994)

Moving on to the mid 90s with “Love is all around”. Sure, this song was overplayed on the radio, but I still love it. Like everything on this playlist it takes me back and captures the warm feelings of that time, renting the movie and watching it on your box T.V - certainly a time of far better movies than today! 😁

6. “To You I Bestow” by Mundy from Baz Luhrmann’s “Romeo + Juliet” (1996)

We were gifted with so many great films of the 80s and 90s and this was no exception. It’s as if I could pick anything from the film soundtrack to Baz Luhrmann’s “Romeo + Juliet” including (the second) instrumental soundtrack, yet “To You I bestow” was always one of my favourites and seems to capture the messy ugliness and beauty of first love from this brilliant movie adaption. I fondly remember seeing the film at the cinemas in Year 8 and listening to it on my sister’s CD -the music has never left me: “I’m Kissing you”, “Angel” and the iconic “Crush” by Garbage - the list goes on! 😍

7. “At the Beginning” by Richard Marx and Donna Lewis from “Anastasia” (1997)

While not my favourite animation, I specifically remember that this song was included in the trailer, partly making me want to see it. Yes, the song is is a bit of a cheese-fest but it’s supremely romantic, catchy and memorable. The “journey” theme is particularly impactful demonstrating where you are, where you been and where you’re going. Hold your loved ones and crank it! 🤣

Thanks again for checking out my playlist of my finest melodic memories of movie moments growing up. Let me know if any of these struck a chord with you OR what some of your favourite memories were of music from the movies when you were growing up as well. ☺️

If you would like to read one of my film reviews you can do so here:

pop cultureplaylist90s music80s music
38

About the Creator

Grz Colm

Film and TV reviews, 🎞 as well as short stories and free verse poems.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (28)

Sign in to comment
  • HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)10 months ago

    Great Article- Didn't know most of the songs but I enjoyed 😉reading❗

  • Delightful playlist. Thanks for taking us back.

  • Racharoonie10 months ago

    I love reading your lists. More, please!

  • Naomi Lula10 months ago

    "Movie Melodic Milestones" takes you on a captivating journey through the rich and diverse history of film music. From iconic theme songs to breathtaking soundtracks, this documentary explores the artistry and impact of music in cinema, highlighting unforgettable compositions that have become timeless classics.

  • Leslie Writes11 months ago

    Oh, the nostalgia! We must be the same age. Great collection of movie songs and thoughts to weave them together!

  • I love it! You have mapped out an awesome melodic journey. Thank you, Grz. Some of those really took me back down memory lane, but others are still in my playlists today.

  • Novel Allen11 months ago

    Already read this. Now congrats. It did feel TS-ish, so happy for u.

  • Judey Kalchik 11 months ago

    This was a walk down VHS lane for me. The inclusion of 'Somewhere Out There' reminded me of the sobfest my daughters had when watching "Follow that Bird". I think it's equally as plaintive, so it's my gift to you in this comment. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fcaK3LIH0ds

  • Jazmin Fernandez11 months ago

    Great list of movies, I love the film ‘Never Ending Story’ it’s my favorite 😊Congrats on your Top Story Grz!✨🎉

  • Gina C.11 months ago

    Yes! Congrats on Top Story, Grz! 🤗❤️

  • Donna Fox (HKB)11 months ago

    Grz, I loved this review. I found it very relatable how you spoke of your movie watching and life experience through out! American Tale is one of my all time favourites that isn’t a Disney creation! I love that “The Never Ending Story” made this list, I was actually just talking about it with a colleague today. Although, I don’t recall speaking as fondly about it as you do here! I believe my words were “crack a bottle of wine and then enjoy this film”. They had never seen it before and I felt that if you watch it as an adult it might not hold up as well, sober. 🤷‍♀️ I also appreciate that Karate Kid is on this list, that is such an iconic song/ movie! Great choice! Anasstasia is my favourite non-disney princess!! This was a cinematic master piece in animation and I loved all the songs, but you definitely listed the best one! Overall a great list of songs/ movies that you have compiled!! Congratulations on Top Story, it was well earned! 🎉

  • Ashley Lima11 months ago

    Great list of movies and music! The Labyrinth is one of my all-time faves. This piece was packed with nostalgia and I loved it. Congrats on TS!

  • Shane Dobbie11 months ago

    Some gems here. Wouldn’t know where to start with a list of favourite songs from movies.

  • Paul Stewart11 months ago

    So, thought I had commented on this awesome piece. So glad it got Top Story, loved your selection and it appears we grew up with the same movies. How dare you mention that scene in Neverending Story though (crying emoji) lol!

  • Heidi McCloskey11 months ago

    Great movie choices. When I think back to The Karate Kid (part one), I immediately think of Cruel Summer by Bananarama - such a great song! Thanks for the memories!

  • Naomi Gold11 months ago

    Wow, we posted the same idea around the same time. Congrats on your Top Story. 🥂

  • Congratulations on your Top Story, well done

  • Donna Renee11 months ago

    Ahhhh the memories are coming back hahah. Some of these I don’t remember seeing though! Time for a nostalgia fill-in marathon I guess haha. Congrats on the TS!!

  • Melissa Ingoldsby11 months ago

    I loved this🎆this was a sweet nostalgia kick and I loved your recounting of memories with your stuffed animals! So cute 💕💕

  • Some excellent choices there, a lot that me and my daughters love and Never Ending Story and Labyrinth and films that have never aged for me

  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    Very nicely done. Thanks for bringing me back.

  • Omgggg! I love Anastasia! I had such a huge crush on Dimitri! Well, actually I still do, lol! However, my favourite songs from this Journey to the Past and Once Upon a December! I don't know any of the other movies you've included here. But I really loved the baby throwing scene. I swore when the baby was caught safely, lol. My brain craves violence 🤣

  • Real Poetic11 months ago

    I only recognized number 3 and 7. I haven’t seen those movies in years! Thanks for giving me something to go and rewatch tonight. I’m a 90s baby so I apologize for not knowing the other movies lol. I’ll check them out though.

  • Gina C.11 months ago

    This was so nostalgic for me! 🥹❤️ Honestly I'd forgotten about some of these - like the The NeverEnding Story 🥲 Thank you for this charming list and the memories! ❤️❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.