Beat logo

Mom, It's NOT a Phase!

7 years later, and I'm not over it

By Kyra LopezPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
4

A Day to Remember and Pierce the Veil had me in an absolute chokehold.

From 2013-2016, I lived for one singular concept: being a combination of a pop punk and scene kid.

What did this mean?

I was constantly visiting Hot Topic, listening to my "emo" music, and pretending that Alex Gaskarth from All Time Low was my husband. At the time, I couldn't decide between him or Andy Biersack from Black Veil Brides.

Nevertheless, I thought I was edgy, mysterious, and full of angst.

Most nights after school, you could find 16 year old me watching Warped Tour haul videos, buying band merch, drawing heavy winged eyeliner, and creating that perfect side-bang. I was the Mexican scene kid dream! Now, I won't be showing the public any pictures of my horrendous makeup or band sweatshirts for my reader's safety. (That's something that should stay in the catacombs of my long term memory).

However, I can share the wonderful reasons why Warped Tour was one of my happiest times during high school!

That Phase:

My mom didn't understand the whole fascination with pop punk or "screamo" bands that I was in to back then. Like most parents, she was confused, yet went along with my bizarre phase. Little did she know, as a 23 year old in college I would still be putting these bands on during my nightly showers.

Actual photo of me in the passenger seat

The 2014 Warped Tour in Tinley Park, IL was the first show I had ever attended. I remember wearing black shorts, with a breezy black tank top in 100 degree heat. This festival was always known for being hot, dusty, and grimey. The layout was predictable, with booths, merch tents, and stages in all directions. Many attendees would show up dressed in all black, sometimes wearing pants or even long sleeves! Depending on your type of rebellious style, Warped Tour had a vast range of subcultures. There were goths, scene kids, pop punk kids, those with rock and grunge looks, etc.

Despite the heat, no one cared about being uncomfortable as long as our favorite bands were coming on for the shows. Being at my first Warped Tour was incredible, to say the least! I was away from the demands of high school, parents, and stress. Warped Tour was a place where I dressed how I wanted, wore the makeup I liked, and listened to music that made me extremely happy.

I loved seeing a collective of teens who all shared this love of music, jumping around and headbanging to guitar riffs. Being immersed in the Warped Tour scene taught me a lot of valuable traits as I grew older. Having a niche and sticking to what I enjoyed, no matter what others influenced me with, was a gateway to confidence. Even though I was introverted and navigating the obstacles of teen life, having this "angsty" music gave me a reason to have a voice, and speak up for myself!

Nowadays, I defend my interests boldly. I am less concerned with what other people deem as credible hobbies or music tastes. Angst has transformed itself from Sleeping with Sirens sweatshirts, to standing up for myself in job settings. It has taught me that there is a lot of value in being against the norm if it doesn't add anything to your life. Always choose you, your mental health, and your happiness over everything!

Memory Lane:

Here is a picture I took of the Soul Stage, right in the middle of a set! Luckily, Google photos let me uncover this ancient relic to show you all.

Check Yes, Juliet! Can you guess who was on?

I stood in line for 1 hour, sweating profusely, to get a signed poster from Mayday Parade. Once I saw them coming towards the booth through the crowds of people, I thought I was going to pass out.

Luckily, I didn't pass out. Instead, I made a fool of myself by jumping up and down in line in front of all the band members.

My most prized possession of 2014: signed posters from Mayday Parade

The Angst of Teens Everywhere (aka my playlist):

bands
4

About the Creator

Kyra Lopez

Writer from the 773

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Kyra Lopez is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.