Beat logo

Michael White, Your Newest Playlist Addition.

You won't regret it.

By Amanda GabriellePublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

Michael White is a 27 Year Old Pop Artist from Portland, OR. He aims to bring positive vibes through his sound and lyrics. His vocals range from all over, but with inspiration from “Ariana Grande” “Demi Lovato” and “Christina Aguilera” his vocals can run on for days. From a young age, music was a huge passion of Michael’s and while working 2-3 jobs in order to provide for himself, he decided to make his dreams a reality. 2019 was a big step into the right direction for him. First song released, recorded in the comfort of his own bedroom “That’s Just Me” — a song that represents his love for the people in his life, and a song that represents who he is as a person. With releases of songs “Moonlight” “Can’t Seem to Say It” “Stop Playin’ ” & “7teen” all throughout the year, he fell in love with making music. Writing songs that have personal experiences and memories. On May 17, 2019, Michael released his debut EP called “Feelings”. A therapeutic journey through music. While dealing with a heartbreak, he took his pain and put that into his music. Album inspirations for new music in 2020 are Grande’s “Thank U, Next” &  SZA’s “Ctrl”. He hopes to cross off a lot of goals for 2020. Put your headphones on and turn the volume up. You’ll love Michael White.

How did you get started in music?

Been singing since I was in 1st grade. Fun fact, the first song I’ve ever sang was “My Heart Will Go On” by Celine Dion. Been in Choir most of my life and have always loved singing.

What artists have influenced you the most?

I focus more on my vocal ability. I have gained so much knowledge on how to use my voice. I didn’t know how to do runs perfectly until just a few years ago. I listen to a lot of Ariana Grande and I practice her runs a lot. I also love Corinne Bailey Rae, Amy Winehouse, James Vickery.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

Honestly. I want to be happy. The last 5 years weren’t the best and I wasn’t really doing the things that I love. I just now started making music in 2019 and it was the best therapeutic thing ever. So I hope in the next 5 years to release more music, perform more, travel…maybe tour if I’m well known enough. Fall in love, and just be happy.

Who has been your biggest inspiration throughout your musical career?

I see how far Ariana Grande has come in her career in just 5 years, she is the biggest pop star in the world right now. Breaking records and making wonderful music. A lot of my music is inspired from her through the sounds of the tracks and the vocals. I am also infatuated with Lizzo. She’s been around for years and is just now making it big and successful. She speaks true words and makes the world fall in love with her.

What drew you into the music industry?

I was doing a lot of karaoke in 2016-2017. Still do it now. But a lot of people kept asking if I made my own music. I got intrigued and started listening to beats and started writing.

What makes you different from other artists?

I don’t even know. I feel like I am a mixture of all of my favorite artists, because they made me the artist I am today.

If you could choose a food that best describes you, what would it be? And why?

Italian. It’s my favorite, it’s delicious. I think it best describes me because it’s warm and comforting.

What makes you want to write?

It’s always my feelings. My feelings make me want to write. I like to dig into my past heartbreak or past experiences. Or I will write about how something or someone makes me feel. I like to sing and write about love.

What are some of your other interests outside of music?

I’m interested in fashion, film, photography and the city life. Living in Portland we have a fun environment to go do stuff.

What current artist would you most want to collaborate on a song with?

Ariana Grande. Can you tell I’m a fan.

interview
Like

About the Creator

Amanda Gabrielle

Sometimes I feel too much...here's what's going through my mind.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.