Beat logo

Melodic Milestones: Comfort Food

by Robyn Little

By Robyn LittlePublished 10 months ago 11 min read
1

Music. One of life’s great joys. To the point, you could be completely deaf and still feel the pulse against your neck. I have music with me all of the time when I am writing or chilling, or traveling.

As tempting as it is to include my favorites only I decided to instead choose ones that have had a certain influence on both major events and my daily life. But these are the 20 that I truly consider Melodic Milestones of the sort. A mixture of genres that place your mind in fantasy and reality.

1. Moondance by Nightwish

Oceanborn, the seminal second album of my favorite musicians Nightwish harbors the instrumental track Moondance which remains my personal favorite on the record. Nightwish has a hitlist about a mile long but this tune encapsulates exactly what this metal band can do, almost always moving beyond genres. I always turn this on before I start work because it helps me get into the mood, immediately a scene comes to my head once the sparkling tune kicks in, and then the more bombastic hits. As if the band wasn’t already fantasy enough this transports you right there, possibly the quickest way to expand my mind is by listening to this song.

2. Ironic by Alanis Morissette

Alanis Morissette’s trademark hit dares you to sing along and turn up the dial on car trips. A splash of nostalgia from mum’s constant music channel cleaning sprees that holds to my more free-spirited side to this day and as a deadpan snarker, the lyrics offer a dry conversational take suitable to almost every situation. I do not think Alanis has made a bad record but there is a reason this is seen as her masterpiece, it is the one you can take with you anywhere and just listen, and that alone makes it one of my favorites.

3. After hours by the velvet underground

Everyone discovers the velvet underground at some point. From the iconic collab with Nico to the last performance at their rock n roll hall of fame induction they worm their way into your ears and this intentionally tone-deaf introvert anthem perfects looking on the outside from the inside. My school years were some of the loneliest times in my life and even now anxiety ebbs its way in so this is one on my mind now and then. I don’t care if it lowers the mood with its falsehood of ever so slightly peppy music and blunt tragic lyrics, to me it is a very special one,

4. For What It’s Worth by Buffalo Springfield

For what it’s worth is the most chill song that gets you humming or moving along as it plays, It’s one that plays through my head as I sit and observe on my lunch break or wander through the street when it’s just starting to fill up. It is the ultimate bystander song, the theme for the passerby and it’s more relaxing than any other song I can think of.

5. King of Anything by Sara Bareilles

You’ve got opinions man. We’re all entitled to em but I never asked. Quite possibly the most relevant lyrics currently. This gem by the amazing sara bareilles is quite often my mental anthem throughout the day, especially when it comes to the internet but also perfect for my personal life. The frustration builds with a simple affirmation of sadness at the bridge that really gets to you. I remember hearing this during college during yet another transfer and thinking all of the thoughts expressed in this song.

6. Good Riddance [Time of your Life] by Green Day

This is one I’ve heard at so many finales- schools and colleges send you off to it. Some even play it at their weddings or funerals [Keep in mind the title starts with good riddance] Both dry and warm in pure green day fashion. This song is for the careless goodbyes to those you’ll never see again or at least for a while, it’s the loving middle finger. I am no exception to using it when it comes to exits and I freely admit that. Blame it on the staying power.

7. Pork and Beans by Weezer

To me this is the first on any early 2000s music playlist, it’s the theme tune to the era of alternative emo and pop rock, The sheer number of f-you anthems of that time period tend to sound the same after a while but this starts off cool before completely losing it and sounding completely cuckoo when you hear the lyrics - now that’s MY kind of music. I wish this song was the trailer theme to my life, it’s the opener before we get to all the crying and screaming and miserable side of things.

8. Cowboys From Hell by Pantera

Here we go! Reach for your gun! To me, this is the best metal, a good dose of Pantera to get the blood pumpin' In a spitting battle of words accompanied by the mind-numbingly brilliant riffs of one Darrell Dimebag Abbott, Pantera are among the chief reasons I got into metal. and from the first chords of this banger, the entrance exam was passed. I play it every time I’m getting ready to go somewhere to help alleviate any anxieties, a pure confidence booster that you can stride down the street confidently to.

9. Cherry bomb by the runaways

Iconic. That is the word that comes to mind especially considering that the Runaways' influence can still be felt decades later even Joan Jett and her blackhearts can’t overcome it. The thud that starts when this tune plays is the fastest way to get your attention before the chorus gets you singing at the top of your lungs, this was what really convinced me that old music was in fact cool and led to my discovering lady led treasures like Fanny and Vixen. Also high up on the dance playlist.

10. Black hole sun by Soundgarden

The anthem of world depression, also I live in a very rainy country so wishing for the sun is quite common for me. I always turn this on in my most cynical days where I throw all my psychology notes and deem everyone a lost cause, a Stepford suburbia with religious thumpers and careless sociopaths. It’s for the days when everything is black and white. plus if you’ve seen the music video then you know how filthy and droll it truly is, if you haven’t then you are missing out on one of the most unsettling, ingenious creations in music.

11. To be Human by Marina

Love and Fear is Marina’s best album yet and while It is far from the first Depths of Humanity tune, I feel this is the strongest because it feels like a passage from a journal, an observation being shared with you, hell it feels like something shared by you. it is the strongest in terms of time and view surrounding the world with few specifics within the lyrics not to mention that you can feel and relate to the passion within her voice.

12. Name by the Goo Goo Dolls

This one is in my top 5 favorite songs of all time. Beautifully written and soft and it feels like it is speaking to you, like a secret between two. The intimacy in the voice of John Rzeznik is almost telling you exactly what went right and what went wrong, while intended to be romantic I think it could work for almost any story, and even internally, it’s both comforting and alienating with such insight. For me personally, I dedicate this to my best friend, if it’s lonely where you are come back down, and I won’t tell em your name.

13. Dreamwalker by J.T. Peterson

Composers are underrated in this century, you never know who could be this century’s Vivaldi, This song is top of my writing playlist, you can picture the influence on the worlds created every time you pick up a novel. It feels like falling and flying at the same time, it’s just a beautifully crafted piece that leaves you filled with inspiration on any medium. It is the song that made me realize just how much I love fantasy so you could say it is what influenced most of my work.

14. Skywriter by dirt poor Robins

If you have never heard of dirt poor robins you should know that this is such a versatile group no song sounds the same as the other. It was after this song I immediately got to work on writing after almost giving up, after a full year of negative treatment from a source that was supposed to educate. The confidence started to come back It’s encouraging, it feels like flight, it feels like breaking free, it was the one I knew immediately had to be on this list.

15. Blue Light of the Flame by Dar Williams

The first time I heard this song I literally paused what I was doing and stared into space, it was an out-of-body experience, Dar William's music is lighter and chirpier but when she gets serious, you are aware of all your surroundings, like your mind is telling you something. Very few songs have such an effect especially for one so simple on the surface and with no specific story to it leaving you to conjure the bare details yourself. The entire catalog of Dar Williams could make up this list.

16. Dancing with Myself by The Donnas [originally by Billy Idol]

The original is good but to me, this is a cover that takes the original to the max. You can thank these girls for the reason there’s a playlist of lady-led punk bands that often play throughout my house, This is for when I’m in a good mood as someone who has literally danced with herself and will continue to do so without shame. Those solos at school discos don’t hurt as much as they used to when this song is playing. It’s conquering fear and then proceeding to just accept those uncomfortable stomach flips before you continue.

17. I Would Do Anything for Love by Meat Loaf

Holy S–t what a masterpiece was my thought process hearing this 12-minute epic. If you like creating movies in your head this one is the epitome of that. Everything involved is practically perfect. From the treasure that is the composition of the late great Jim Steinman to the almost metal edge from the undersung lorraine crosby frankly, I am amazed it took so long to be made into a rock opera as it did, it’s practically a bedtime story you make up the words to in your head and picture something truly epic to…or is it just me who did that?

18. Complicated by avril lavigne

perhaps my go-to for singing along to I’ve been an Avril fan for so many years [Under My Skin was the first album with an explicit sticker that I bought] and this remains my personal favorite of hers. When your mind expands as you grow this makes more and more sense almost lazily it’s all the retorts you wish you had come up with but now it’s just forgotten frustration while you lie in a hammock, fitting for a milestone into my music tastes.

19. It’s The End of the World As We Know It [And I Feel Fine] by R.E.M.

This song was at the forefront of my mind during the lockdown, ironically I was starting to feel better than most as I was already recovering from illness so was quite used to being inside and was starting to get some of my mojo back when BOOM! The Pandemic keeps us inside. By that time I was already over the decay and ready to watch the world burn and this timeless classic encapsulated my thoughts perfectly as I surrendered to serene anguish

20. Welcome to the Black Parade by My Chemical Romance

Emo day and nite for life. MCR has some of my fondest memories Welcome to the Black Parade is an all-time classic. Connected to some of my best memories of sitting in front of the tv with my sister in the grandparent’s den watching the music video for this masterpiece. From the first piano note echoing to the drums fading into the background, it has your attention. It’s almost a tribute to every single person you’ve respected, every single person you’ve admired, just five minutes of time you’ll happily never get back.

Some pure noise. Some are almost without a sound and some take you on a really long trip. All repeats in my personal life. Some do not give a damn like you, some to work or dance to. The 20 miles can be heard right here, Crank these up and enjoy!

playlist
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Ashley McGee10 months ago

    Teehee my first explicit-labeled album was Chocolate Starfish by Limp Bizkit. Great taste! I love that the first song on your list was Nightwish. They are one of my favorite bands and one of the first metal bands I ever listened to.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.