Beat logo

Mehji Moments

A Godly Entrance - RNDD x Xi Milli

By Sweet NothingsPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
3

This might be incoherent but guess who is finally picking up their chin and just writing the stuff!

(It's me)

So Lil Durk and Lil Baby just dropped The Voice of the Heroes and... YO!

I'll go in about that later, but it inspired me to revisit this thing called rap music and its current state. (I'll also do a separate article on why I believe rap music today is the best music has ever been and why). That's not to say it is the best music ever will be and I am certainly not excusing the overall tone-deafness, misogyny, homophobia, ableism, and other problematic themes that plague this [and all] music.

No listening to Lil Durk on the titular song reminded me of the purpose music generally has.

Rap music has such a rich culture and history... but we not here to reminisce on the past. What a beauty of seeing each evolutionary phase in its artistry; the battle for its own space and identity as the eras progress. At The Renaissance Network Project, it is our mission to take full advantage of today's technology to leverage artistic expansion, but most importantly to pay homage to the great artistic (and human) movement unfolding before our very eyes. I'm going to say this for the next decade but we are here in our renaissance moment!

In better conscious of trying not to waste it, the moment I mean; I will be bringing you mehji moments. In an attempt to be more "authentically personal" I will be writing a few synopses of artists and songs that inspire me as a creator. Whether it be content for my blog that I'm ass about staying consistent on. Developing songs for personal or group projects. Even projects for school. There is honestly not a day that goes by where I don't lean on the creative juices of others to rehydrate my soul.

You should all know by now some of the shows that get me in the creative mood. [EGBO obsession anyone].

SONG: RNDD

ARTIST: Xi Milli

When we talk about the road to today's rap music, we do so with the creation and influence of so many great genres before it. In my opinion, this makes it the perfect choice to represent this era.

And that's exactly why RNDD is first on my list. Personal ties aside, this song starts every week for me. It's a reminder of where I'm coming from and a light to where I'm going.

New artist Xi Milli has a sound that perfectly blends a pop style of delivery with hard trap bars making it easy to connect.

"Sorry if I been distant but I been fighting my demons."

True, Milli. Too true. I HAVE been distant. Plus, it is from battling demons. So, sorry?

and lines like

"More funerals than births on this side"

"I told that [youngin] put away his pride. Tryna prove you not a bitch how so many died."

Something that's important to remember, especially when you grow up in certain neighnorhoods.

Speaking to the harsh reality too many young people in American cities have to face. I think no matter who your opposition is, it's safe to say that one person gone is one too many.

This is a reminder to any man who might feel like life wins some days. THE REAL DON'T DIE. That might come off hella braggadocious but let's be fair, don't we deserve that. Especially after the past year that we've had? It might not be the light airy summer track that has everyone ready to #bugout (word to the June Bug himself). It is, however, an anthem nonetheless.

Whatever your musical preference, if you have a hard day ahead of you (or behind you), I encourage you to turn your speakers all the way up and just drift away with this one.

album reviews
3

About the Creator

Sweet Nothings

Alias Duece Lee Vizzini III

Now, Sweet Nothings, my blog is a sanctuary for love notes and human emotion. Each post is a step toward telling my own intricate, beautifully imperfect story.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.