Beat logo

Medusa

My mental health song

By Kayli CarterPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

The lyrics for Medusa are as followed: Pop a pill, they say it helps, but they’ll never understand how it felt, knives up and down my spine, now I’m getting pretty pale, zombies hypnotized conversation getting pretty stale, can’t be the same no, I’ve seen past the veil, I’m covered in tracks this train has derailed, I am medusa and this must be hell, demons pursue me, I’ve fought tooth and nail.

Broken and bloody I lie at the alter, I’d apologize but I’d only faulter, I’m just not a talker, my ego I’ve fought her, lost sons and daughters, dead eyes I’m a walker, End me, tired of pretending, angry I’m fucking venting, about story lines I’m inventing, life fucks don’t remember consenting, these voices are winning, down I am spinning, relenting, restless, unforgiving, space in my head renting, to demons and im not listening, to the blood glistening, hook in my skin I’m fishing, at the bottom of a well wishing, not a pot in sight but I’m passing, dark cauldron I am whisking, what the fuck am I missing, black cats cross me hissing, more hate received than dishing, hate and whiskey I am swishing, all these friends and lovers keep switching, head shot and I'm twitching, time of loss it’s the hour of the witching.

Pop a pill, they say it helps, but they’ll never understand how it felt, knives up and down my spine now I’m getting pretty pale, zombies hypnotized conversation getting pretty stale, can’t be the same no, I’ve seen past the veil, I’m covered in tracks this train has derailed, I am medusa and this must be hell, demons pursue me, I’ve fought tooth and nail.

• I wrote this song when I was going through a very tough time mentally. I struggle with mental health disorders and substance abuse issues. I mostly make music to help cope with my many ailments. When I wrote this song I was going through a really dark period in time. I was completely unstable. Not on my medications or going to my mental health doctor appointments. I was neglecting my mental health needless to say. And I was diving deep into an addictive tailspin downwards. I had recently relapsed prior to the release of this song and this song, as you can tell, is shrouded in dark and substance using verbiage. I make many references to dark magic and addict terms. My way of writing about the darkness I was facing at the time. But getting the pain out is the only way I can really deal with it. I’ve written upwards of 60 songs or so and Medusa is one of my favorite songs. I just dig the beat so much and my lyrics hit dead on how I felt at the time. I hope you get something out of it and I hope you enjoyed it as much as I enjoyed writing and recording it. It really helps me blow off some steam to write and record music. Matter of fact, I don’t know where I would be if it weren’t for music and poetry. Yes, I also love poetry and I do write it on occasion. But mostly these days I just write and record music. Really I consider all my music to be a form of poetry. And finding the right words to go to a beat feels like solving a puzzle to me. I hope this song resignates with someone out there. So thank you for reading and listening. Thank you for your time. It means the world to me to be heard and appreciated. With that I hope all is well on your end sincerely. And I hope any struggles you may be facing dissipate very soon. Have a nice one.

rap
Like

About the Creator

Kayli Carter

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.