Beat logo

Me, Myself and music

Words dancing to the beat of the heart

By Anastasia SPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
3
Me, Myself and music
Photo by Ahmad Odeh on Unsplash

Here we go again

The most happiest or dreadful time of the year: Valentine's Day! I still cannot believe how marketed this holiday has become in recent years and don't tell me that I am wrong. For a few weeks now, my social media platforms and even the grocery shops have been invaded with the hearts, the wines, the chocolates, the date ideas, the deals. And while in the past, old in love me would have gone through the roof with it, my bank account is happy it doesn't get drained with a new outfit or lots of gifts hehe.

It is such a famous day now, that if you are a couple usually you kinda have to plan something and, if you are not, the internet loves to remind you that you don't have that special person next to you. As much as i know i will benefit from some of the offers and discounts online (you just wait for the discounted chocolate the day after hehe), I am happier now being single than when I used to be while in a relationship. So, this year being the first time in about six years that i am not spending it with someone, I will be celebrating it for myself.

Let's all be our own valentine. It is not easy for most of us to feel happy, but join me this Valentine Day and have a day just for yourself. My plan, lots of tasty wine, caramel chocolate bars (don't judge, my sweet tooth is something okay), and lots of dancing and good tunes.

Benefits of dancing and music

There are lots of research articles and studies out there that show that when listening to music, the body releases dopamine, the "happy chemical" we all crave, lifting our spirit. But the positive effects don't stop there as there are lots of physical benefits too. From moving your body - especially legs, arms or hips - but also helps our nervous system, our blood pressure and heartbeat. It is a good practice for our own wellbeing.

Okay, enough words, let's get on with the music.

1. "Dance Monkey" - Tones and I

I just feel a connection to this song. I think all of us at times in our relationship can feel like a dance monkey where we change, put up a show, dismiss or change our own beliefs to make the person next to us stay a little longer. I also am quite a silly person so i know at times i like to dance like no ones watching.

2. “You’re Such A” – Hailee Steinfeld

Do you ever want a song about sassiness, confidence and being a badass? You need to listen to this really cool song. She always makes me feel so good in my own skin, feel like i am on top of the world.

3. "Buttons" - Pussycat Dolls

90s baby here and i just had to have this one on. This is a song about a guy that says all the right things we wanna hear, but never makes the move. Sounds familiar? The reason I added it here though is that the video reminds me about how confident I used to be within my body (with all my curves and extra pounds) and that, at times, it is just a state of mind.

4. Confident - Demi Lovato

'You've had me underrated.' - the lyric that makes me want to shout it out from the top of my lungs every time. I am still on my journey to be happy again in my skin, and this song empowers me every time to feel confident, to not have doubts.

5. Kid Laroi - Without you

If i play you this song, the first word coming up to mind is: TikTok. The song has everything and it talks about the how hard it is for us to find a truly loyal and good match for us.

6. Roar - Katy Perry

For me it was the tigers in the video. I mean how amazing are they, but leaving jokes aside, i really love the empowerment feeling, the confidence that hides within all of us. My favorite lyric: "I went from 0 to my own hero" and sometimes that is who we need to become for ourselves.

7. Wide Awake - Katy Perry

I haven't found another song that hit home so hard. I’ve made some bad decisions but I’m so happy to be where I am now. It's about waking up from the transe, from always finding excuses for our previous partners, finding excuses for not puting ourselves first.

8. Loose you to love me - Selena Gomez

This is a song about feeling hope and knowing you will come out the other side stronger and a better version of yourself. It's about finding yourself again and learn how to love yourself again and that sometimes we are better off alone.

9. Closer - The Chainsmokers

A breakup song that makes me feel good. Every time i listen to it, the beat that just makes me want to dance.

10. Leave - Jojo

Such a classic 90s song that just soothes the soul. Oh the memories hehe.

playlist
3

About the Creator

Anastasia S

I always loved writing, but I never got the courage to start

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.