Beat logo

Lucid Dreams cover Shannon King

Juice WRLD

By Shannon KingPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
1
Disclaimer: I do not own nor did I create any of the instrumental/musical background or compose the melody or lyrics of this song. Credit is attributed to the original publisher/author/artists and the only part of this creation I own is the voice singing the song to a karaoke version that was available via youtube.com and the video compilation. The correct references are also notated for the biographies on the songs and artists. Thank you!

LYRICS

Enviyon on the mix

No, no, no, no

No-no, no, no, no, no, no, no, no, no

No, no, no, no

I still see your shadows in my room

Can't take back the love that I gave you

It's to the point where I love and I hate you

And I cannot change you, so I must replace you, oh

Easier said than done

I thought you were the one

Listenin' to my heart instead of my head

You found another one

But I am the better one

I won't let you forget me

I still see your shadows in my room

Can't take back the love that I gave you

It's to the point where I love and I hate you

And I cannot change you, so I must replace you, oh

Easier said than done

I thought you were the one

Listenin' to my heart instead of my head

You found another one

But I am the better one

I won't let you forget me

You left me falling and landing inside my grave

I know that you want me dead

I take prescriptions to make me feel a-okay

I know it's all in my head

I have these lucid dreams where I can't move a thing

Thinking of you in my bed

You were my everything

Thoughts of a wedding ring

Now I'm just better off dead (uh, uh, uh)

I'll do it over again

I didn't want it to end

I watch it blow in the wind

I should've listened to my friends

Leave this shit in the past

But I want it to last

You were made outta plastic, fake

I was tangled up in your drastic ways

Who knew evil girls have the prettiest face?

You gave me a heart that was full of mistakes

I gave you my heart and you made heartbreak

You made my heart break

You made my heart ache (I still see the shadows in my room)

You made my heart break

You made my heart ache (can't take back the love that I gave you)

You made my heart break (were made outta plastic, fake)

You made my heart ache (I still see the shadows in my room)

You made my heart break again (I was tangled up in your drastic ways)

(Who knew evil girls have the prettiest face?)

I still see your shadows in my room

Can't take back the love that I gave you

It's to the point where I love and I hate you

And I cannot change you so I must replace you, oh

Easier said than done

I thought you were the one

Listening to my heart instead of my head

You found another one

But I am the better one

I won't let you forget me

I still see your shadows in my room

Can't take back the love that I gave you

It's to the point where I love and I hate you

And I cannot change you so I must replace you, oh

Easier said than done

I thought you were the one

Listening to my heart instead of my head

You found another one

But I am the better one

I won't let you forget me

Leave this shit in the past but I want it to last

You were made outta plastic, fake

I was tangled up in your drastic ways

Who knew evil girls have the prettiest face?

Easier said than done

I thought you were

Instead of my head, you found another, better one

I won't let you forget me

Source: Musixmatch

Songwriters: Dominic James Miller / Gordon Matthew Sumner / Nicholas Mira / Danny Lee Snodgrass / Jarad A. Higgins

Lucid Dreams lyrics © Artist 101 Publishing Group, Electric Feel Music, Taz Taylor Beats, Songs Of Universal Inc., Magnetic Publishing Ltd, Steerpike Ltd, Nick Mira Publishing

About Juice WRLD: "Jarad Anthony Higgins (December 2, 1998 – December 8, 2019), known professionally as Juice Wrld (pronounced "juice world"; stylized as Juice WRLD), was an American rapper, singer, and songwriter from Chicago, Illinois. His song "Lucid Dreams" has been played the music streaming platform Spotify over one billion times and peaked at number two on the Billboard Hot 100. "Lucid Dreams", along with his earlier hit single "All Girls Are the Same", helped him secure a recording contract with Lil Bibby's Grade A Productions and Interscope Records.

"All Girls Are the Same" and "Lucid Dreams" were two of five singles included on Higgins' debut studio album Goodbye & Good Riddance (2018), which went on to become certified Platinum by the Recording Industry Association of America (RIAA). The album enjoyed positive critical reception, and contained three other singles: "Lean wit Me", "Wasted", and "Armed and Dangerous", all of which charted on the Billboard Hot 100. After collaborating with Future on the mixtape Wrld on Drugs (2018), Higgins released his second studio album Death Race for Love (2019), which reached number one on the Billboard 200. It contains the singles "Robbery" and "Hear Me Calling".

Higgins died eight months later following a drug-related seizure at Chicago's Midway International Airport. His death prompted an outpouring of grief across social media and from the music industry. His first posthumous album, Legends Never Die (2020), debuted at number one on the Billboard 200. The album was the most successful posthumous chart debut in over 20 years and matched a record for the most top-ten song entries on the Hot 100 at one timeJarad Anthony Higgins was born on December 2, 1998, in Chicago, Illinois.[1] He grew up in the South Suburbs spending his childhood in Calumet Park and later moved to Homewood,[2] where he attended Homewood-Flossmoor High School and graduated in 2017.[3] His parents divorced when he was three years old,[4] and his father left, leaving his mother to raise him as a single mother along with one older brother.[5] Higgins' mother was very religious and conservative, and did not let him listen to hip hop. He was allowed to listen to rock and pop music, however, and he found this on video games such as Tony Hawk's Pro Skater and Guitar Hero, which introduced him to artists like Billy Idol, Blink-182, Black Sabbath, Fall Out Boy, Megadeth and Panic! at the Disco.[6][7]

Higgins was a heavy drug user during his childhood and teens. He began drinking lean in sixth grade and using percocets and xanax in 2013. Higgins also smoked cigarettes briefly before quitting in his last year of high school because of health issues.[8]

He learned to play the piano at four years old, having been inspired by his mother, Carmella Wallace, who later began paying for lessons. He then took up the guitar and drums. Higgins also played trumpet for band class.[8] In his sophomore year of high school, he began posting songs to his SoundCloud which he recorded on his smartphone.[9] Around this time, Higgins began to take rapping more seriously.[10][11]. The album's fourth of six singles, "Come & Go" with Marshmello, became Higgins' second song to reach number two on the Billboard Hot 100 after "Lucid Dreams".

Higgins began to develop as an artist in his first year of high school. His first track, "Forever", was released on SoundCloud in 2015 under the name JuicetheKidd. Higgins recorded most of his first tracks on a cellphone, uploading them to SoundCloud in his sophomore year.[9] He changed his name from JuicetheKidd, a name inspired by his affection for rapper Tupac Shakur and his part in the film Juice, to Juice Wrld because it "represents taking over the world".[7]

His first track produced by his main producer Nick Mira, "Too Much Cash", was released in 2017.[12] While releasing projects and songs on SoundCloud, Higgins worked in a factory but was dissatisfied with the job; he was fired within two weeks.[13] After joining the internet collective Internet Money, Higgins released his debut full-length EP, 9 9 9, on June 15, 2017, with the song "Lucid Dreams" breaking out and growing his following.[14][11]

In mid-2017, he began to receive attention from artists such as Waka Flocka Flame and Southside, and fellow Chicago artists G Herbo and Lil Bibby. He signed subsequently with Lil Bibby's co-owned record label, Grade A Productions.[15][16]

In December 2017, Higgins released the three-song EP Nothings Different. Many hip-hop blogs such as Lyrical Lemonade featured it,[17] which helped Higgins's track "All Girls Are the Same" gain popularity. In February 2018, a music video directed by Cole Bennett was released.[14] Following the video's release, Interscope Records signed Higgins for $3 million[18] and a remix featuring Lil Yachty was previewed.[19] "All Girls Are the Same" was critically praised, receiving a Best New Music designation from Pitchfork.[20] It was released as a single in April.[21] "All Girls Are the Same" and "Lucid Dreams" were Higgins's first entries on a Billboard chart, debuting at number 92 and 74 respectively on the Hot 100 chart.[22][23]

On May 4, 2018, "Lucid Dreams" was released officially as a single and given a video.[24] It peaked at number two on the US Billboard Hot 100[25] and quickly became one of the most streamed songs of 2018;[9] it remains his most-streamed song, reaching over one billion streams on Spotify by January 2020.[26] "Lucid Dreams" was followed by "Lean Wit Me" on May 22, which peaked at number 68 on the Hot 100;[27] Higgins' debut full-length Goodbye & Good Riddance, which included his three previous singles, was released the following day.[28] On June 19, 2018, he released a two-song EP, Too Soon.. in remembrance of, and dedicated to, deceased rappers Lil Peep and XXXTentacion. Lil Peep died of an overdose in 2017 and XXXTentacion was shot and killed during a robbery attempt a day earlier.[29] The song "Legends" from the EP debuted at number 65.

"Wasted" featuring Lil Uzi Vert was released on July 10, 2018; it was Higgins' first single featuring a collaboration and the only song on Goodbye & Good Riddance with a featured guest. It debuted at number 68 and peaked 67 next week on the Billboard Hot 100.[30] The following day, Higgins announced he was working on his next album.[31] Following a series of leaks, Higgins' producer Danny Wolf released the official version of "Motions" on SoundCloud on July 25.[32] On July 20, 2018, Higgins announced his first tour, WRLD Domination, with additional acts YBN Cordae and Lil Mosey.[33]

pop culture
1

About the Creator

Shannon King

Born in St. Augustine, Fl, Shannon has a Master of Arts Degree in Applied Behavior Analysis from USF. She is currently pursuing a career in music, singing and writing with a focus in poetry, biographies, and inspirational messages.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.