Beat logo

Love is Love

Pride playlist from a half-century of loving music

By WriterKatPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
Love is Love
Photo by Yoav Hornung on Unsplash

What a fun challenge! I loved revisiting songs that I used to be obsessed with but haven't heard in a while. I hope you enjoy this musical trip to the pot of gold at the end of the rainbow.

Elton John

Rocket Man (I Think It's Going to Be a Long, Long Time)

Rocket Man is the first song I ever remember hearing by Elton John. I was nine years old when that song came out. I didn't know anything about LGBTQIA+ then, nor did I care when I was old enough to understand. Apparently, some people did care, for reasons I will never comprehend. Good music is good music, and love is love.

Queen

Bohemian Rhapsody

The older I get, the more I love Queen's music. I took their incredible vocals for granted when I first heard them as a teenager. Now, I appreciate their genre-crossing sound that transcends time. I'm glad to see the Bohemian Rhapsody movie and Adam Lambert introduce a new generation to the magic of Freddie Mercury and Queen.

George Michael

I Want Your Sex

I think I played I Want Your Sex a million times when it first came out in 1987. It made me feel sexy even though I was very pregnant with my second child. George Michael oozed charisma. I miss him and his music. Thank goodness he will live forever in his songs.

Culture Club

Karma Chameleon

Karma, karma, karma, karma, karma—I think that was my first affirmation and introduction into the spiritual world beyond Christianity. It was the colorful and optimistic 80's when I learned that we can choose to focus on the darkness or the light. This song makes me feel happy and like I can accomplish anything I focus on. I'm visualizing 'Vocal Challenge Winner' now!

During my research for this playlist, I learned that Boy George is working on a biopic movie. I can't wait to see it! Who do you think would be the best actor to portray him?

Melissa Etheridge

I'm The Only One

This song got me through some tough times in my marriage. When you know that no one can love your lover like you do, but somehow the message doesn’t carry through. I would blast this song whenever my husband was around, hoping the lyrics penetrated his soul like they did mine.

"I'm the only one who'll walk through the fire for you. I'm the only one who'll drown in my desire for you."

Unfortunately, it didn’t click. Our relationship was out of tune! I didn’t know what to do other than work on myself. I learned the hard way that we can't fix anyone else, and as much as we would like to, we can’t control love. As Emily Dickinson penned in 1862, “The heart wants what it wants.” Melissa’s music helped me feel strong even when my heart was breaking.

Ricky Martin

Livin' La Vida Loca

This song feels as relevant now as it did when it came out in 1999. Wow, what a crazy life we have lived since the pandemic started. I'm so glad live concerts are back. I'm grateful we can connect with our favorite musicians and music-loving friends online. Still, there is nothing like going to a live performance. I'm fortunate to live close to a place with concerts in the park every week from June through August. I go with my mother. It's a fun way for us to bond over music—the universal language of love.

Luke Evans

Always Remember Us This Way

I thought Luke Evans was only a fabulous actor. I loved him as Dracula. Then the YouTube algorithm gods blessed me with one of his music video—a cover of Always Remember Us This Way (Arizona Sky) by Lady Gaga. I was blown away by his smooth, sultry sound and listened to the song on repeat at least a dozen times. I immediately subscribed for updates and have been a raving fan ever since!

I have to add one more video of Luke singing so you can see him in action. He is mesmerizing. Someone said in the comments of this video to give him the James Bond role. I agree. He would be AMAZING playing that iconic character!

The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face

I could go on and on with these artists and the songs I love. I hope you give them a listen and add them to your playlist.

When you are feeling nostalgic, when you need help getting through the tough times, when you are grateful for a beautiful moment, or when you want to feel hopeful for the future—music is always there.

Stay strong. Love unconditionally.

playlist
2

About the Creator

WriterKat

Indie author, poet, creative, spiritual being who loves art, faith, and life in all its various forms. Founder of Indie Authors Association. For more info, visit writerkat.com.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.