Beat logo

Let’s Talk About Rosé Solo Debut

Rosé "On The Ground" and "Gone" review

By ShinxPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
1

Rosé finally made her long-awaited solo debut, and I’m so happy for her because I know she was waiting for a long time too. Now her time to shine is here and I want to talk about her new songs, “On The Ground” and “Gone”. But first, let’s chat a bit about this long wait and why some blinks are mad or confused with her solo debut and YG.

The Wait

It was announced that Rosé was preparing for her solo debut during Kill This Love era, which took place in April of 2019. It was also stated that she would make her solo debut at the end of 2019, but YG of course lied and we had to wait two years for Rosé’s solo.

Now in 2021, with her solo, she only released a single album with only two songs. Many blinks were mad at YG because YG has said that there would be multiple songs on her project, and blinks thought she would have a mini-album, but nope.

We only got two songs, but I am glad we finally have Rosé solo. It was a long wait, but it is finally here, and I don’t really want to waste my energy complaining about how many songs she got to release and just want to enjoy her golden voice.

Now let’s actually talk about her solo debut and her songs, starting with the title track, “On The Ground”

On The Ground

So I thought “On The Ground” would be a Korean song because the genre it’s under is Kpop on Apple Music, which is what I use, so I was caught off guard that it was a full English track. Actually I am a bit surprised that Rosé doesn’t have a solo Korean song, but then again she grew up with American and western pop so I guess it’s not that surprising she released a very American pop song.

The instrumental, especially the chorus reminds me of 2017 american pop. It’s a calming song with a very weird chorus which I hated at first. The chorus felt very out of place and a bit disjointed. It is definitely a grower, but the rest of the song I fell in love with instantly. The veres are beautiful, and I love the lyrics, The meaning of this song is beautiful, and I interpreted it as her looking back on her past self and telling her journey through music. I love how personal Rosé got on this track and explain her adventure in her career. Rosé vocals are also so angelic, and I am in love with the pre-chorus.

This solo also reminds me of Jennie’s “Solo” because the format is a bit similar, and both have a bit of a strang chorus drop, and both of them I hated the chorus but then it grew on to me.

“On The Ground” is a bit of a grower, but after a few listens I really enjoy the song.

On The Ground - 8/10

Gone

When Rosé first performed this song on Blackpink online concert, “The Show” I instantly fell in love with the song. Rosé and guitars are a beautiful pair, and again her vocals are very ethereal on this track. It is also quite an emotional song about heartbreak, and there are a lot of clever lyrics in the song. My favorite lines are probably in the pre-chorus where she sings, “Now it’s eight in the morning, Hate in the morning, All because of you.” The rhyme between ‘eight’ and ‘hate is so clever and perfectly reflects how hard this breakup was, making even the start of the day terrible and gloomy.

I am in love with this song, and again I love how stripped back and simple the instrumental is. It’s just carried by a guitar, and Rosé vocals just float so gracefully on the guitar.

“Gone” is a beautiful and personal song, and I can’t wait for the music video for it to be released.

Gone - 10/10

Thoughts On Debut

Overall, it was a long wait, but I think it was well worth it to get two very pretty songs that sound very personal to Rosé. I am so proud of her, and I am so happy she now can share her own artistry to the world.

album reviews
1

About the Creator

Shinx

I write what I want to write

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.