Beat logo

Let’s Talk About Løren And “Empty Trash”

Løren’s “Empty Trash” Review

By ShinxPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1

Løren is here!

I was so excited to hear that Løren was debuting because I’ve been intrigued by him since I saw him in Rosé IG live where she did song covers. Maybe it’s because I saw this grungy and emo boy with longish hair, and I like grungy and emo boys with longish hair, but he caught my attention haha!

Then Løren worked on Blackpinks’ album “The Album” which is great, but he even featured in the Lovesick Girls music video. Now with Løren being in the music video, I started wondering if he’s also a singer.

You see a lot of Kpop companies tease their new artists they are planning to debut by having the trainees feature in music videos and commercials. An example I can think of is when Jennie was featured in G Dragon “That X X” and it created buzz of who Jennie was. So since it’s a common strategy to promote future artists, immediately when I saw Loren in the music video I was like “So when is he gonna debut?” haha.

And my theory was right! He’s also a singer, and he debuted with “Empty Trash” Now let’s talk about this debut.

“Empty Trash” is an amazing punk song that takes me back to the 2000s’. It’s so emotional, yet grungy and a bit grimy. It’s also such a refreshing song in the Korean music scene. I mean all I hear is Kpop, KR&B, and Khip hop. It’s a bit hard to find indie rock or punk songs like “Empty Trash”. Another thing that’s amazing about Lørens debut is that the company let him debut with this song. Now he is under the Black Label, and the Black Label give their artists a lot more freedom in their music, but still it’s amazing that the company supported Løren and his musical direction. I mean a lot of companies don’t have artists that are more indie or rock. The only rock oriented or indie artists I can think of is DAY 6, N. Flying, Marmello, and Hyukoh. And only DAY 6 is from one of the big threes, and honestly I can’t think of any other artist that is indie rock or pop rock that’s in the big three. Maybe I haven’t looked hard enough, but seriously it’s hard to come across indie rock or punk artists in the Korean music scene.

So when Løren released “Empty Trash” it was such a breath of fresh air. Plus I love songs that lean towards Punk and Pop Rock, so “Empty Trash” made me very happy. Plus there is so much emotion in Løren’s voice and such a nostalgic feel in this song. Then with Løren’s voice I like that it’s a bit deep, and I can’t think of the right words to describe it but his voice isn’t clean and is a bit raspy? I don’t know, but I love how raw his vocals are. Then I love the lyrics, especially the last lines where he says “Fuck what I said and fuck you”. They are such hard hitting lyrics and overall this song hits me in the guts. I love this song. Definitely a 10/10.

I know it’s only his first song, but I hope Løren continues down this punk sound and I’m excited for his future projects.

Thank you for reading. I appreciate every read and tip, especially since my back account is crying so thank you! If you enjoyed this check out my other stuff like my Kpop reviews like Blackpink or me talking about my thoughts on alternative artists like Billie Eilish.

I hope you’re having a good day, and if not I hope it becomes a better one.

Bye-Bye!

album reviews
1

About the Creator

Shinx

I write what I want to write

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.