Beat logo

Kpop Review: Lee Hi's "Holo"

"It's gonna stop..."

By Veronica TraggiaiPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

Former YG soloist, Lee Hi, is back with an emotional single to pull at your heartstrings.

The Song:

This song is very heartfelt and melancholy and it fit well with Lee Hi's naturally soulful voice. You could really feel the emotion coming through. The lyrics focus heavily on loneliness as well as the idea that while the healing process after a loved one leaves your life is a long one, it is one that will happen eventually. It is quite a sad song, but hopeful at the same time. This contrast fit the theme well I think because it reinforced the idea that while there will be times that you feel defeated, hope is always out there.

I did not really expect to like this song as much as some of her others because I knew it was going to be slower and more ballad-like. Slower songs are not my favorites and since I love Lee Hi's more upbeat songs so much, I expected to leave this song off my playlist. However, I actually really enjoyed it and listen to it frequently! I still prefer her more retro pop sound as well as her more current rnb vibe, but this is still a great song. Honestly, it is hard not to love everything sung by such as amazing voice as Lee Hi's. She could sing literally anything and I would be in love with it!

The Music Video:

If I understand the video correctly (which I rarely do), it portrays Lee Hi and her younger self. The way I interpret it is that she is looking back at herself as a child, when she was happier and more carefree, and reassuring herself that it can be like that once again. I think that is an idea that we all can relate to. We all want to go back and tell our younger selves that while we may face challenges and hardships as we grow older, that will get through them and come out stronger. We also need our younger selves to remind us to keep that childlike wonder and hope all throughout our lives.

The filming of this video was beautiful, I felt like I was watching a movie. It was simple with no big effects or crazy costumes, but it was most effective in its simplicity. I think if more had been added to the setting or styling, it would have subtracted from the emotional theme of the song. I also think the actress who played young Lee Hi was a good fit and the chemistry between the two worked well.

Overall, I really liked seeing this other side to Lee Hi. She allowed herself to be vulnerable and welcomed us all in to see it. I think that takes a lot of courage to do. I am very glad she left YG, as I do not think she was treated well there (as is the case with most YG artists) and that company was stunting her growth as an artist. Prior to this comeback, she joined AOMG - the hip hop label created by kpop/k hip hop veteran, Jay Park. The company has some really great artists and records coming out of it, so I can't wait to see what producers like Gray and ChaCha Malone are able to create with Lee Hi - I imagine that it will be nothing short of magic! I hope AOMG proves to be a better fit for her and that it allows her the freedom as a soloist that she deserves after so many years in the industry. I look forward to many more amazing releases from her in the future!

song reviews
Like

About the Creator

Veronica Traggiai

Hello! I'm Veronica, a 23 year old college student and freelance writer.

My current writing interest is in music reviews (mainly kpop). While I partly joined Vocal because I'm a poor college student, writing truly is my passion!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.