Beat logo

Keep Calm and Rock On

Part 2 of the Keep Calm and Jam On trilogy

By Talia DevoraPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
5
Keep Calm and Rock On
Photo by Luuk Wouters on Unsplash

Rock music is a type of popular music genre that started out as "rock and roll" in the United States during the late 1940's and early 1950's. Rock music formed into a wide variety of styles in the mid-1960's and later, specifically in English-speaking places like the United Kingdom and the United States. Rock music has influences from multiple genres like jazz and classical music. Rock primarily utilizes instruments like the electric guitar as part of a rock group with the bass guitar and drums. Rock music is always song-based. It has a 4/4 beat and it has verse-chorus form.

As rock music gained momentum over the years, more sub-genres of rock music became more prevalent- alternative rock, grunge, punk rock, heavy metal, hard rock, glam rock, psychedelic rock, indie rock, garage rock, garage punk and death metal, just to name a few. Personally, my favourites are hard rock, classic rock, psychedelic rock, grunge, punk, some heavy mental, indie rock and of course alternative rock!

Even though I don't consider this song "one of my favourites" just yet, I'll still show you an 80's alternative/funk rock song that I once listened to in February, to kind of give you an example of what I'm mentioning! The song is called Which Way to America by Living Color, which consisted of members who were all identified as African-American.

Since I was a child, I've been an avid rock music listener! My dad grew up listening to rock and would put on a few of his favourite rock hits such as No Reply At All by Genesis and Dream On by Aerosmith for my brother and I to listen to at home and in the car. When I was in my first year of high school, I got back into rock music, after becoming sick and tired of all the 50's and 60's hits that I enjoyed listening to in middle school. Many of my peers were interested in rock music, so I became keen on becoming a "teen rock music fan".

As my interest in rock music developed, I started to freely explore and enjoy listening to rock sub-genres like heavy metal, death metal, alternative, indie, grunge and punk rock music on both YouTube and Apple Music. I have a colossal list of favourite bands I've had over the years, but a few of my favourites are Motley Crue, Aerosmith, Metric, Black Sabbath and Finger Eleven.

I could speak for hours about my playlist of rock songs that I enjoy listening to the most. I have a gigantic playlist of songs that I listen to during my nature walks, when I'm exercising, relaxing, cooking, cleaning or doing creative hobbies, so I'm keen to showing you a small playlist of some of the rock songs I like listening to on a regular or occasional basis, depending on my mood for each sub-genre or song!

1. Finger Eleven- Good Times

2. Metric- Monster Hospital

3. Black Sabbath- War Pigs

4. Metric- Combat Baby

5. Motley Crue- Rattlesnake Shake

6. Rockin' For Decades- Even Harder Now

7. Simple Plan- Welcome To My Life

8. Paramore- Misery Business

9. Fall Out Boy- Thanks For The Memories

10. Fall Out Boy- Sugar We're Goin' Down

Sit back, grab some snacks and drinks, relax and enjoy listening to my top 10 favourite rock songs! Share this Vocal story with your friends, family, colleagues and don't forget to send me a tip! Have a great rest of the week, stay safe and take care of yourselves! Bye for now!

playlist
5

About the Creator

Talia Devora

Poetess, visual artist and lifestyle/quiz writer! My pastimes include reading, sleeping, gaming, music, fitness, etc! Be yourselves, be kind and value life! Let's connect and be friends!

My IG accounts: @tdwrites24 & @tdcreates97

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.