Beat logo

Kat Spina Can’t Stop in her New Single and You Won’t be Able to Either

Can’t Stop will Keep you Going

By Rich MonettiPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photo by Peter Freed

“This song is about uninhibited fantasies about romance and attraction. We (producer Brian Forbes) and I first began with the soundscape,” Kat Spina told Spinexmusic.com. “The lyrics are visually powerful and evoke feelings of independence, freedom and empowered sexuality. Can’t Stop captures the feelings of being mesmerized and captivated so intensely that it’s hard to get it off of your mind.”

Just take a listen and you’ll quickly realize that Spina ain’t kidding.

The methodical instrumental opening draws in the listener as though their obsession resounds in an echo chamber, and when Spina’s vocals enter the enclosure, her yearning signals that's there's no chance or impetus to break free.

Tell me what we can do/Wanna be close to you/Takin be home/Takin it slow/I can put on a show/Take me to Paris, I could be Paris /You could be Rome/I could be all alone/Just need your voice on the phone

Closer to spoken word, Spina’s monotone delivery asserts a singleminded expectation that this girl means business. Then Spina’s emotions spill out into song, and the piano and guitar based melody opens the door. Now in full view, the ensuing lyrics are set up to express the passionate desire that Spina has clearly succumbed to.

Pulsating deep inside/Wanna do it one more time/I can do the thing you like/You can have me anytime/Pulsating deep inside/Wanna do it one more time/I can do the thing you like/You can have me anytime

Oh my and there’s a visual component that dizzies the head too. Spina filling the single’s cover and her arms willingly up over he head, the accompanying image has us hoping that we were the object of her affection, while the determined eyes imply that despite her paralysis, she's ready to take the reins. No problem on our side, we freely submit and together you're both going up a notch and to an unimagined level.

So in the clouds, you struggle to steer your eyes away but a return to the music has her doubling down.

And I Can’t Stop thinkin/And I Can’t Stop thinking bout you/And I Can’t Stop, Can’t Stop.

However, it was the thinking of others and their reaction that began Spina’s interest in performing and music. She won a spot in the third grade talent show, and the reaction to her rendition of a A Whole New World brought the young singer’s house down. ““I remember how joyful the reaction was,” she said. “It was a very formative experience of connectivity and community.”

A commitment to music through study and private lessons commenced, but the Valhalla based singer/songwriter doesn’t advocate being a starving artist. “You should have a baseline, not a backup job or a plan B,” she said. "You need to have a fundamental stream of income that gives you the power to be creative.”

So Spina has long put her degree in music therapy to good use, teaches as an Adjunct Professor of Communication & Media Arts at Westchester Community College and provides private lessons to students.

Good business and personal sense in tow, Can’t Stop continues, and like before, the singer isn't done playing. The cold calculated directive returns and implores that we give in.

Then we can head downtown/Hittin the underground/We’re in a cave, you’ll be my slave/Better not make a sound/Time to get outta here/Back of your Vespa/Wind like a whisper/Catching my breath/What could be next/The littlest death

But the mix of emotion is all too much and Spina and the melody is forced to let go again.

And it feels good/When you take me/Uh, I wanna hear you/And it feels right/Go deeper/Uh, I wanna hear you

The “Ah Ah” that follows nearly pushes you over the edge, but lucky for us, the journey is almost over. It’s just a matter of riding out the chorus. No such luck, Spina’s alluring whine sends you searching for the rewind button, and in the end, you’re just as trapped as she is.

Please Like my entertainment page on Facebook

alternative
Like

About the Creator

Rich Monetti

I am, I write.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.