Beat logo

K.Fox... The Newest Addition to Your Playlist

You won't regret it.

By Amanda GabriellePublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like

Kevin Fox, best known for the name, K.Fox, has been killing it in the local music scene. With inspirations like; James Blake, BROCKHAMPTON, Bon Iver, and Kanye West, the genre defying artist has been making unique tunes, that multiple audiences would love.

1. What albums or songs have shaped your music the most?

Songs in the Key of Life by Stevie Wonder, Overgrown by James Blake, Yeezus by Kanye West, MAGDALENE by fka twigs, In My Room by Jacob Collier

2. You used to study economics, then switched to music. What influenced that switch?

My turning point was a music Pre-Theory class my spring semester of my freshman year. Music theory really clicked with me, and my professor was incredibly enthusiastic about the most fundamental music theory concepts, which just seemed crazy to me—very few professors in college would care that much about their intro level classes. One day after class I ended up having an hour long conversation with him in his office about his background and passion for teaching music. What we discussed boiled down to the well-known phrase "if you love what you do, you never work a day in your life." I left his office and handed in my major declaration papers right after. Music was what I was passionate about, and I knew I had to spend the next 3 years devoting myself to studying it. Also economics dry as hell.

3. What comes first for you when you’re making a song: production or songwriting?

Production. My creative process is like constructing a house—there are certain parts that have to be there for me, but the final product always looks different. There is always a foundation, but the contents of the foundation always change. It could be a rhythmic element from a song I'm listening to, a melody I start singing to myself, or a chord progression I forcefully create for composition practice, but it almost always starts from a composition or production element. My song "Peace & Quiet" was a fully written poem that I revisited for an entire year before a melody stuck to some chords I had been improvising on guitar and I was finally able to make a true song out of it.

4. If you could collaborate with any artist, dead or alive, who would you choose?

Prince. The amount of clear influences he had from all ends of the musical spectrum was astounding, and the fact he could combine them in any capacity is incomprehensible to me as a songwriter. I would have been lucky to have just been in the same room as him as he wrote music.

5. What artists are you listening to right now?

I've been a huge electronic pop bender lately. I've been listening to Charli XCX, 100 Gecs, Cashmere Cat, Mura Masa, and Deaton Chris Anthony. Other than that, I've been listening to Omar Apollo, Rex Orange County, and Brevin Kim a lot.

6. If you could book next year’s headliners for the next Coachella, what 3 artists are you choosing?

Omar Apollo, Frank Ocean, and Kenny Beats. But Kenny Beats has to have all his collaborators up there like Vince Staples, Rico Nasty, and obviously Zack Fox. Go watch The Cave on YouTube if you haven't already.

7.What was the hardest song for you to write? Why?

"I Don't Like Talking" was painstaking. I have about 4 different versions of the Ableton project sitting on my computer before I finally settled on one. Everything from the lyrics to the song structure to the chorus melody did not happen naturally or easily. The chorus did not just appear out of thin air like it feels a couple of my songs have; it happened by sitting and recording demo take after demo take of vocals until a melody would stick. Even the song mixing phase was excruciating! But because of that effort, it's one of my favorite songs I've ever written, in addition to the lyric meaning. Which I'll leave to you to figure out ;)

8. What is your dream band to tour with?

Anderson Paak. That man has grinded so hard to get where he's at, I could learn so much from touring with him. Plus he's in his 30s and a family man, which means he probably fucks with going to bed at like 10 PM. We'd be the Well-Rested Boys Tour, and all our shows would start at like 7 PM. Everyone jams out, goes home, and wakes up for work the next day super well rested.

9. What is your favorite movie soundtrack?

The original Blade Runner soundtrack. That was an iconic movie with an iconic soundtrack, especially considering the whole thing was electronic.

10. What’s next for you?

I have a lot of new music in the works, but I'm trying not to rush it. I want to get more people listening to the music I have out now. I'm focused on building a bigger audience and getting the name "K.Fox" into more people's personal playlists.

Check out K.Fox on all his socials and stay tuned for more to come!

interview
Like

About the Creator

Amanda Gabrielle

Sometimes I feel too much...here's what's going through my mind.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.