Beat logo

JAI EMM—Resources and Network Value: Artist Independence Through the Lens of Jai Emm

JAI EMM

By Jason James Published 3 years ago 4 min read
2

What is independence as an independent artist?

Jai Emm is a paradigm for creatives that consciously control their vision. Her latest release, Laissez Faire epitomizes its own concept, the idea that artists are able to freely create great bodies of work with their own ideas and resources. Artists are sold the dream that you have to be signed with major backing to create masterpieces. We spoke with Jai Emm to discuss what it took to take the other route and put together a captivating independent audiovisual project. 

How were you inspired to create Laissez Faire the audiovisual album?

I’ve wanted to do an audiovisual album since my EP Aurora Borealis in 2017. Of course, Beyonce made everybody want to do it but viewing other artists like Solange, Janelle Monae and Tierra Whack inspired me further to create something that was a reflection of my own expression.  I made a plan and was ready to execute but a lot of my important partnerships fell through and I genuinely wasn’t prepared for any missteps. I’m glad it failed because it taught me how unrealistic that is. I watched interviews of people involved in different successful projects and gathered that behind great success is a shitshow. Everything is supposed to go wrong and once I changed my perspective, I locked in and made plans and more plans about how I was going to bring what was in mind to life. 

How long did it take you to complete this entire production?

We were able to shoot  the entire production in 5 days but the actual planning and release was in the works for about a year. I researched how to create video treatments and did my best to create an accurate depiction of what I wanted in a language that a video professional could interpret. My manager and creative director Tianna Marie was a huge contributor in wardrobe, set design and project organization. We, along with April Martin, Jason McMichael and Ebony Moore had to build the set for What You Doing. That took about 4 days prior to the start of shooting and then it was about six weeks of time after we were figuring out post production and release. It was incredibly important to me that both the audio and audiovisual album were released at the same time so essentially we were on a time clock to the release date and we made it.

What were some challenges that you faced making this project?

Honestly, my challenges were pretty spread out from the pre to post production. I went through several videographers and video production teams before settling on a director. The immediate challenge was presented with finding someone capable and passionate about completing a project that was extremely important to me that I could trust to execute what I presented to them. After I settled on a director, my partnerships for some key elements in my video were not delivering what I needed but unlike last time, I was ready and had backup plans for my backup plans. My real challenge came the day I woke up for the first shoot day and had full body hives. I’ve never had a breakout in my life but for some reason I was covered in bumps everywhere. Luckily,  Ken the MUA is amazing and not only covered my blemishes, she treated my face over the next five days until my rash went away. After shooting, the post production completely flopped and at the last minute. I had to find a way to get my 15 minute video project completely edited in two days. I turned to my personal network and was able to find four video editors, Zig Adams, N. Productions, Stigity and TVbeats that locked in to complete my project in time.  The challenges didn’t matter at the point of completion. What I felt the most is that I built a team around me that was capable of moving past them.

How did you build a team as an independent artist?

Build it and they will come. I had to build a foundation that would benefit a team. Once I had a solid plan for not only this video project but the direction of my career moving forward, it was actually easier than I expected to garner the support I needed. My team consists of the people I would trust with any aspect of my life, my friends who’ve supported me for years but made conscious decisions to take an active role in my progression. I never had to ask. They saw me working and their genuine love for me made them want to help and I just have to be grateful for that.

Independent artists have the ultimate struggle of being a one man machine but amazing things can happen if you take the lead. Jai Emm counteracts the former results of Laissez Faire, originally introduced during the French Revolution where business owners overrule of their government incited paranoia and ironically tyranny. Jai Emm understands the importance of inclusion and success in execution behind the concept and she displays that along with her mesmerizing talent in Laissez Faire.

interview
2

About the Creator

Jason James

Jason James is an American journalist Andrew writer from Miami, Florida that specializes in covering the entertainment industry.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.