Beat logo

IZ*ONE One Reeler Act IV Review

IZ*ONE Beautiful Goodbye

By ShinxPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

IZ*ONE recently made their comeback with ‘Panorama’ and the One Reeler EP, which possibly might be their last comeback. Very bittersweet, and this EP feels like a goodbye. Before I let out my thoughts on the EP, I want to go track by track and talk about each song. So let’s go.

1 - Mise-en-Scene

Mise-en-Scene is a grower for me. At first listen I felt a bit of a disconnect from the verses and chorus, but after a few more listens it flows well. Mise-en-Scene is a really beautiful and colorful song. It kind of gives me the little sister vibe of Panorama, but it’s really good. The verses are very impactful and pretty. The chorus took some time to get used to, but I now enjoy it.

9/10

2 - Panorama

Oh, Panorama. Firstly this is their best title track. It’s elegant, beautiful, and refined. It’s very vivid yet classy and has a grand feel to it. It’s like the final show, with the girls pouring out emotion throughout the song. Then the last 40 seconds explodes like a firework and hits you in the core. The last chorus and bridge are definitely my favorite part. Then I feel like every girl got their time to shine in this song, but Yuri, Yena, and Hitomi stood out to me the most. Yuri is my bias so of course, she would stand out a bit to me, but her vocals are again so beautiful. Then Yena and Hitomi parts are full of passion and hit hard. Overall this song is passionate and lively, and I love it.

10/10

3 - Island

Island is a summery song, which is surprising since it’s being released in December. I definitely feel like I’m on an island when I listen to this song. It’s bubbly and refreshing like a summer day; however, it’s kind of forgettable. It’s a basic summer song, and right after I listen to it, I can’t remember it. It didn’t stick with me. It’s a cute song, but just not memorable and a bit basic.

7/10

4 -Sequence

Sequence is a retro-inspired song. It has a funky feel to it and quite bouncy. It’s fun and a bit of a grower. The vocals are amazing. The verses are cool, but the chorus feels a bit off. Usually I love these type of choruses, but it feels kind of awkward in this song. I really like this song, but there is something missing.

8/10

5 - O Sole Mio

Another summer song. Again why a summer song in the winter? I’m not mad though. Actually this is one of my favorite songs on the EP. It’s bright and fun, yet has a grand and epic feel to it. It’s like a combination of Island and Panorama. It also reminds me of Rumor on Produce 48. It’s passionate yet fun. So vivid and emotional, and the chorus is amazing. Then the bridge is so pretty. I love how they slowed down, and then the highnote is so beautiful. O Sole Mio feels like a beautiful summer festival, and I love this song.

10/10

6 - Slow Journey

Onto the last song, which feels so bittersweet. Slow Journey feels like a goodbye and it makes me sad. It feels like a goodbye to WIZ*ONE. It’s full of emotion and is such a sweet song. The vocals are soft yet powerful, and Slow Journey feels like an OST ending. The only thing I don’t like is the small rap portion in the bridge. It felt a little out of place, but other than that Slow Journey is an amazing song.

9/10

One Reeler is full of emotion and passion, and truly feels like a bittersweet goodbye. I still have a sliver of hope IZ*ONE will get a contract extension, but if this is the end it was a beautiful end.

One Reeler - 8.5

Song Ranking:

1. Panorama

2. O Sole Mio

3. Slow Journey

4. Mise-en-Scene

5. Sequence

6. Island

album reviews
Like

About the Creator

Shinx

I write what I want to write

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.