Beat logo

It's My Dead Man's Party and I'll Die If I Want To!

Dark and Ghoulish...

By Rick Henry Christopher Published 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 3 min read
13

This Masquerade

It's this lonely game I play every year on the night of October 31st. I sit here all alone in my darkened studio in front of the mirror getting ready for fright night. Carefully I paint my face and wear a wig to transform myself into someone unrecognizable. I'm ready for the masquerade a celebration where nobody recognizes each other. Halloween is the one time of year that I'm able to shake off my lonely existence and be the hero in every story.

Skeletons in My Closet

I open the closet door to add the final touch... The black cape... Zorro's ascent. The cape and the mask hide those skeletons, the demons, the scary ghouls... But on All Hallow's Eve the manhunter and demons come alive to shake my fragile soul.

Through a Glass Darkly

As I walk upon this dark night to my final destination I come upon a black cat that crosses my path and begins to follow me. He mysteriously stays behind me, no matter which way I turn. I try and trick him and get away from him but he right there right behind me. I try and out-maneuver him and run. But he jumps up toward the sky sailing past me hissing all he way. He lands down right in front of me with arched back blocking my path. With the scream he passes through a glass and disappears from sight.

Mis Muertos

Through the wind I hear the moans of my dearly departed. The voices of my dead accompany me on this spooky night. I feel them on this graveyard shift. They're here with me tonight.

Madman

Over there in the garden the madman is chasing the children. He's swinging a sawed off arm with blood splattering on the face of little Chucky. He's a madman chasing after the children capturing them and locking them in the house of the haunted. The little children cry as they look in the eyes of the madman.

Tubular Bells

The bells are tolling for the undead on this frightening night of witches. In the sky a vision of the exorcist appears as he stares into the eyes of the children possessed by evil. A bell strikes for each child that falls from the night sky into the witches cauldron - a stew for the undead searching for their prey. The young fresh brains of these demonized ones are served upon a platter.

Dead Man's Party

I've arrived to the masquerade ball, the largest in the hamlet. I'm looking for a quiet place for where I may unmask and let the hungry ghosts feed upon my face. Lightning strikes outside squeezing the life out of everyone. It's a party where no one's still alive. Dancing with the dead girl. Drinking with the dead man. Sipping bloody Mary's.

People Who Died

It's good to see my friends again... The ones who died and moved on. There's Teddy he was sniffing glue, he couldn't stop, he kept on going and fell spiraling down from the roof. Bobby was a friend of mine, he lived in the house next door. He came down with leukemia at the age of fourteen, he looked sixty-five when he died. Good to see you Bobby. Eddie, my brother, was murdered - slit in the jugular. I miss him the most. Eddie my brother it's good to see you. I went to give my bro a hug but he wasn't there. He was one of the people who died - all my friends who died are here tonight. Tonight they are the undead. Dancing and singing one last time.

Scary Monsters

It's been a night of scary monsters coming at me from all angles. Super creeps trying to bite my hand and chew it off for dinner. They grabbed and locked me in their room of horrors with strange doors on each side. I felt a stranger in the house an omen bringing on a panic. A cold, cold sweat has got me, it's got me running scared.

playlist
13

About the Creator

Rick Henry Christopher

Writing is a distraction to fulfill my need for intellectual stimulus, emotional release, and soothing the bruises of the day.

The shattered pieces of life will not discourage me.

https://www.facebook.com/groups/vocalplusassist

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.