Beat logo

Into the Darkness - Volume 2: Broken Soul Review

Klass Reviews

By W.S. KlassPublished about a year ago 3 min read
1
Author | Bobbie Murphy

Bobbie Murphy. How does one describe this author or her work? Can she be compared to anyone I have ever read before? Would comparing her to another author do her justice?

Bobbie Murphy is a literary genius! I have not rad a genre comparable to this book since I was in middle school. Churches should accept this book as Christian Literature, even with the language used. It captures real world conversation rather than hiding it from those who would pretend they don't speak like "Worldly" folks.

If I had to compare Bobbie Murphy to another author, I'd say she reminds me of Laura Ingalls Wilder, who wrote "Little House on the Prairie" series.

Does comparing her to the author of "Little House on the Prairie" do her justice? If it were me, I would take the compliment since there were strong messages imbedded in her series, much like there are in Bobbie's book.

Bible verses are referenced with the chapters to send a strong message with each point hidden in the text. As you read this novel, you feel the intensity of each conflict faced by the characters, Bonnie being the most prominent. The voice that Bobbie uses to tell this tory is in my opinion, one of the most difficult voices to write in, present: second-person.

Having ADHD, I struggle with reading long books. I began this book sometime ago and had forgotten about it in my Kindle Library. That's right! Before I forget, you can read this book for free with a subscription to Kindle Unlimited. Otherwise, you can purchase it in multiple formats from Amazon.

WARNING! This book contains graphic scenes of domestic violence and abuse. The tales feel so real as I read them. Possibly since I experienced similar events as a child between my biological mother and her choice boyfriends. If this kind of content triggers you, don't blame the books, blame your experiences. Without books like this one, we cannot bring light to the issues and provide the help that is needed to prevent these events.

Philip would never see the light of day again if I were one of the characters in this well-told story. Every amazing story has it's drama; its conflicts; and its plot. This one just happens to have hit home for me, and I love it! Having had issues with my own siblings, the character development is spot on with how these relationships within the family unfold.

This book contains strong language, graphic scenes, and is not recommended for children. Adults are most definitely the target audience for this series. Yes, this is a series being the second book. One might say this series falls in the "Coming of Age" genre. I'd argue for it!

Why do I like this book so much? Possibly because I relate to Bonnie. Here's my favorite line in the book that makes me feel like Bonnie and I would be besties:

Bonnie laughs. "Excuse me and pardon me are both the same thing so I don't see your point at all. I call a bathroom a washroom because bathroom or restroom don't make sense to me."

This book is so well-written and checked my drama boxes that I had to give it a Five-Star Rating. Normally, my highest rankings are for books in genres I commonly read. However, this author created a story that hit home for me and made me cry at times.

If you're looking for not only a great series or story, but one of the best written books I've ever read, go to the author page of Bobbie Murphy on Amazon.com and read what you're missing!

book reviews
1

About the Creator

W.S. Klass

I have a passion for writing. As a published author for nearly two decades, it pleases me to have a platform such as Vocal to share my works for free.

"I never apologize for who I am!"-W.S. Klass.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.